1979 Chevrolet LUV Mikado 1.8 liter 4 cylinder from North America

Summary:

Truck of the year (back in the day)

Faults:

My transmission is slipping and the exhaust manifold gets real hot. The carburetor isn't the greatest of them all.

General Comments:

It's really comfortable, and the four wheel drive works like a dream. You can put it anywhere and get back out.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th January, 2009

2007 Chevrolet LUV Dmax 4 door 3.5 lts. DOHC 24 valve from Venezuela

Summary:

Fun to drive

Faults:

Nothing really... only a faulty accessory belt because of a bad engine washing procedure, a man forgot a tool right there.

General Comments:

Nice product, excellent truck... better than a Toyota Hilux, more engine power, less expensive. Enough power for the job for a busy medium family, load or unloaded ride hard, great 4 door configuration, great for the city and for long trips even with the pet or cargo...

Isuzu engine, japanese quality, feels as if it will last forever with good maintenance and oil changes.

Even with the diesel engine, the 3.0 turbo easily smokes the other ones in the road, good 4wd system (shift on the fly) and electric transfer does the job and eliminates the front wheel hubs, good weight and clearance for rock, mud and sand expeditions...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th May, 2007

1979 Chevrolet LUV from North America

Summary:

Great truck!

Faults:

It's a 1979 truck. We have had to replace 20 some odd year parts. We did have problems with the fuel pump, but that was because the old owner had put a Toyota fuel pump on it.

General Comments:

This truck has taken a lot of abuse or the years. It's a 4 by 4 and can go just about anywhere. The truck isn't running now, but was running when we parked it over a year ago. This truck is great. I'm sure we can get it running again. they just don't don't make trucks like this anymore.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th February, 2006

24th Apr 2008, 23:42

I also have a 1979 LUV.

Have had to replace head gasket 2x's.

Right now I'm looking for a clutch/brake mounting bracket, welds are breaking after 12 odd years.

My first new vehicle 135,000 miles and still running good, even though my son crashed the front end. Still my favorite, even though I have 2 other Chevy's.

17th Jun 2009, 12:13

I am the original owner and wanted to give an update. This truck had been sitting for over a year and still fired right up when we tried to start it. This truck just keeps going.

2000 Chevrolet LUV 4x4 Double Cab 2.5TD 2.5 Isuzu turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Summary:

The ultimate family machine

Faults:

Nothing yet, all I've done so far is service it.

General Comments:

Reliable Isuzu engine has provided me with a stress-free ownership experience. Servicing is relatively inexpensive, my local Vauxhall dealership services my truck.

This is a great truck to use as a family vehicle. My kids love riding in it. There is plenty of interior space, and the materials and fabrics used are very durable.

The bed of this truck is enormous, and is perfect for trips to the garden centre and DIY stores. If I need to keep my cargo protected and secure I have a removable glass-fibre hard-top to fit over the bed.

The engine is rather noisy and unrefined, and the suspension is a little crude. However, it does everything I ask of it and it is very economical to run for such a large vehicle. The 4-wheel drive gives you confidence in poor weather conditions. In fact it feels a very safe vehicle all-round.

My only gripe is the turning circle and the fact that this truck's length can make it tricky to park.

Other than that I thoroughly recommend the Chevrolet LUV as a family vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th December, 2003

2003 Chevrolet LUV Regular Cab 2.2 4 cylinder gas from Mexico

Summary:

A nice working truck

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

It is a nice truck and very reliable so far. I have not had it long.

Plenty of space in the back for loads.

I like the gasoline engine, it does not use much fuel.

Plenty fast enough too.

The LUV is a great work truck and is not expensive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st October, 2003

2002 Chevrolet LUV 4x4 Crew Cab 2.5 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Summary:

The ideal all-purpose go-anywhere family/work vehicle

Faults:

Nothing at all.

General Comments:

The Chevrolet LUV is identical to the Isuzu pick-up and is available in right hand drive.

I am very happy with the the engine. It is an Isuzu turbo diesel unit and is very reliable with lots of torque. Acceleration isn't great though.

Room for five people and plenty of cargo space.

It is a very rugged and solid truck, and looks it too.

The handling can be rather choppy, but this is what you would expect from a 4-wheel drive pick-up. It is great off-road though.

Mine is well equipped with electric windows and mirrors, plus air conditioning.

The LUV is fairly crude for a newish vehicle, but it was designed as a workhorse. An added bonus is that it makes a great family vehicle too.

The perfect vehicle for rural England.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th September, 2003

6th Oct 2006, 13:01

They still make these things!?

I thought they were discontinued like in the late 70s.

9th Oct 2006, 10:17

The LUV was replaced by the Chevy S-10 in N American market in early 80's, but it continued to be sold in European market, including the UK, where the reviewer lives.