1980 Chevrolet Malibu Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1980 Chevrolet Malibu Classic 267 from North America

Year of manufacture1980
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 267 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.7 / 10
Distance when acquired94000 miles
Most recent distance95000 miles
Previous carToyota 4x4

Summary:

The last of the Classic American Muscle

Faults:

The car had sat since 1997. When my husband and I purchased the car in 2003 we had to replaced the valve cover gaskets. We proceeded to give it a tune up. We had to replace the brake lines running to the back brakes, they were coroded and leaking break fluid. The only problem with the interior is the headliner and that is our next project.

General Comments:

The purchase of the 80' Malibu was a great investment for my husband and I.

The car is very dependable and starts with every turn of the key.

We take it for a joy ride at night after a hard day of work.

It seems to be our little piece of American history.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd July, 2004

23rd Jul 2004, 10:16

"Classic American Muscle"...267 cid engine?

5th Aug 2004, 13:19

Will it be an American Classic when we finish our restoration and put our 350cid in it? For right now our 267cid serves us just fine!

18th Nov 2005, 17:09

Who cares if it's a 267 V8. It's still a V8 and it can be made to perform pretty good itself. As long as the owner is happy, and the review is well written (it is) who cares? Hold on lady, and keep up the good work with your little piece of americana, no matter what engine is in it.

1980 Chevrolet Malibu Classic sport coupe 4.4 cc 267 c.i. V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1980
First year of ownership1980
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.4 cc 267 c.i. V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance269000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Caprice

Summary:

Still love it after all these years!

Faults:

Not much. Had valve seals replaced, other than that, normal maintenance. Interior plastic has faded, & dash has cracked. Nothing major though.

General Comments:

Still has the original drivetrain from 23 years ago. Runs like a top. Pick up & fuel mileage are great. Looks great too. Will be a long time before I get rid of this one. Love the styling, also. Other than getting rid of that awful stand up header ornament, & filling the hole with fiberglass, & re-shooting the spot with the factory blue body color, nothing else really had to be done to the body of the car. This car is a true GM gem, & a testament to the engineering that went into it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th April, 2003

29th Apr 2003, 06:04

Old Malibu's are safe, little old reliable machines. The newer ones are not as reliable as the old ones so I would recommend that you stay away from the newer ones. Instead why don't you spend you hard earned money on an Impala, Cavalier or a Honda.

1st May 2003, 21:26

Thank you for your good advice. However, I have no plans on parting with my 80 Malibu for anything new anytime soon.

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 4 reviews