2000 Chevrolet Malibu Reviews - Page 10 of 26

2000 Chevrolet Malibu LS V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carDodge Caravan

Summary:

It's time to unload this car

Faults:

Brakes, AC fan was replaced, AC button sticks, slight antifreeze leak 1 year ago, then gradually increased. Just had that repaired and head gasket; car surged and slowed at about 40 mph; internal parts in transmission broke apart and damaged shell of transmission. Car is now at the Chevy dealer for expensive repairs. The head gasket was just replaced 1 week ago. We will never buy another GM product. My next vehicle will be a Toyota.

General Comments:

Purchased this car from a showroom. The car was always a rough ride. I hate the ABS brakes. At times, I feel that the car won't come to a stop.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th January, 2006

25th Jan 2006, 10:06

If you are looking for a Camry, wait a few months for the next generation, it's worth waiting! I saw some reviews and pictures, and loved it!

25th Jan 2006, 13:11

Plus the fact this is Toyota's big seller so they aren't going to really raise prices versus the old model. Or, if they do, they will add more content.

17th Mar 2006, 17:37

If you like the Chevrolet name, but want a toyota you can always get a Prizm.

30th Jun 2006, 12:36

Keep in mind that Toyota's (and other foreign cars) cost more to buy and a lot more to fix since the parts are not usually readily available. Plus you should support the U.S. and buy an American made car.

6th Jan 2007, 18:04

Buy the Toyota, they employ more US workers than GM, plus most GM's and Fords are now made in Mexico and Canada.

2000 Chevrolet Malibu from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance37500 miles

Summary:

Comfy, a little unreliable. GM.

Faults:

OEM tires abominable, separated at treads at about 30k miles.

Brake pads, shoes, calipers replaced three times. I'm not a crazy driver, so this is unacceptable.

Settings 1 and 2 on the heat/AC fan crapped out after about 25k miles. Other owners report the same thing.

General Comments:

Handling is reasonable for its mid-sized competitors (such as Honda Accords).

Comfy, good car for normal to large people. Won't win any styling awards though.

Mileage is OK, about 30 on the highway if the tires are filled properly.

Very safe. I was t-boned by a pickup going 50 mph. The car was totalled. I escaped without a scratch.

Would be a great car if it were more reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th December, 2005

2000 Chevrolet Malibu Base 3.1L V6 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.1L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance111210 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Decent basic transportation, but reliability and durability issues reign starting at 50-60k miles

Faults:

For those experiencing rattling, clunking noises from the front end go to have your front driver and passenger side tie rod ends looked at. There may be excessive play around these joint areas that tend to wiggle and giggle around when drving over bumps, pot holes, and even some uneven yet smooth pavement. Also, have your mechanic check your left and right strut mounts as they can also wear pretty quickly. I have experienced all of these and have had no problems after the maintenance. Hope this helps.

General Comments:

I will be purchasing a new car in two weeks. I've had quite enough fun with this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th November, 2005

2000 Chevrolet Malibu LS 6 cylinder from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder Automatic
Distance when acquired75000 miles
Previous carToyota Tercel

Summary:

So far minimum problems, but very weary about what the future holds

Faults:

Engine surges and transmission problems.

General Comments:

The Malibu that we purchased was used but in excellent condition. Noticed some engine surges when driving on the Highway for a long period of time. The water pump was replaced and brakes too about a month after purchase. Has anyone had any problems with the transmission? The mechanic we took it to said that the model we have has an enclosed transmission system and the whole transmission has to be replaced and they would do it for $1300 dollars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th October, 2005

2000 Chevrolet Malibu LS from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.8 / 10
Distance when acquired15000 miles
Most recent distance83000 miles
Previous carFord Contour

Summary:

Malibu is a money eater -- not worth it!

Faults:

What hasn't gone wrong with this car?

Intake gasket has been replaced -- I researched this problem on the Internet and found what a common problem this was, so common that the gasket has been redesigned. The dealership told me since I was out of warranty I would have to pay for the repair myself as there is not a recall on the gasket. I contacted Chevrolet customer service and made enough of a fuss that they repaired it at no charge to me. The water pump was also replaced at this time and I did pay for that. The repair was around $300.

Fuel pump has been replaced twice. Cost was $550.

Brakes were horrible -- had new pads and rotors put on. Brakes seem better now.

A/C does not work properly. The A/C would intermittently turn off. Now it is just blowing warm air.

Blinkers and hazard lights don't work half of the time. Recently received notice of recall on this.

General Comments:

Although I do like the general look and feel of the car, the reliability issue has totally turned me against GM. I will never buy a GM car again. My husband has a Nissan and my mother has a Honda. Both of these vehicles are much older than mine and have not had near the amount of repairs my car has. Next car I buy will be a Honda, Nissan or Toyota.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th May, 2005

29th Jan 2006, 22:03

That's great if you do, but just remember, they are all built in North America now, Toyota just up the street from me. And because of that, you will get North American quality. Plus on top of that, the cost of repairs is HUGE! I have a 2002 Toyota Tacoma Pick-up. Just out of warranty by 230kms. Had to have the timing belt changed and figured out may as well have them change the brakes, now this is not from the dealer so I figured it would be at least some what cheaper. Ah NO.

The timing belt was $1200.00 and that's twice then what some domestics are. The brakes were horrendous. $260 per wheel! That's $200 more than my wife's camero. And the camero is a sports car! Japanese cars were great when they were built over sea's, but now that they are built here, they are absolutely horrible!!!

Average review marks: 5.9 / 10, based on 99 reviews