2006 Chevrolet Malibu LT 4 cylinder from North America




Twice trunk molding came off.

Car was in 3 times for noisy dashboard.

Once for oil leak.

Brakes now squealing.

Plastic panel by drivers side keeps coming loose.

Clock looses time intermittently.

General Comments:

Car drives great. Gets good gas mileage. Seats are comfortable.

It is a pain to keep taking car back for little things.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th October, 2007

27th Jan 2009, 20:50

In November 2008 I bought an used Malibu 2006 LT V6, with 28000 miles. I was concerned, thinking about miles per gallon.

At this time, I am making 28.5 miles/g, driving as best as possible (brakes, acceleration, cruise control, etc.) I like this car, one of the best American cars, for an affordable price, $9700.

4th Mar 2009, 13:48

This car sucks! It constantly keeps turning off on me! I take it to the shop and they don't know what's wrong with it.

2006 Chevrolet Malibu 4 cylinder from North America


I would not purchase this vehicle again


I have had the car for 59 days and it has spent 8 days (and counting) in the shop for major repairs.

First problem after just 3 weeks - issues with security system which needed to be replaced.

Next issue at week 7 - transmission which is in the process of being rebuilt (6 days and counting). GM knew of transmission issues and had issued a notice to the dealers, but has not done a recall as of yet.

Dealer had initially offered to replace the vehicle with comparable vehicle then changed their offer to replace it at the new "depreciated" value.

General Comments:

Lots of interior room, great gas mileage 32+ MPG.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd August, 2007

26th Mar 2008, 09:32

Sorry you have had so many problems, I have owned a 2005 malibu for three years now and have not had any problems with mine and would buy another in a heartbeat.

28th May 2008, 13:58

I have had mine for 3.5 years, 100,000 miles and problem free, now that's a first for GM! Sounds like you might have gotten an Ex-rental car... people drive the crap out of them every day and then the rental cars sell them back out... avoid those ones!

13th Jul 2008, 22:59

I have a 2000 Malibu LS which has over 100,000 miles and is still running strong. We also have a 2006 Malibu LT V6 which hasn't had any problems and was an 'ex-rental'. We are also buying another Malibu. GM makes good cars. People just don't understand that they are good cars as long as you maintain them.

2006 Chevrolet Malibu Sedan LTZ 3.5 V6 4-speed from North America


Well-made and fun to drive!


-One of the rear seat reading lights was broken when we bought the car.

-The passenger side sun visor had to be replaced as a spring in the vanity mirror cover had popped out.

-There was a noticeable dashboard rattle that was resolved quickly by the dealer.

All of these items were covered by the remaining 39-month/39,000-mile warranty (GM Certified pre-owned).

General Comments:

This is a very impressive car for the money. We looked at a 2004 Honda Accord at the same dealer with twice as many miles on it that was $3,000 more! While I will admit that the Honda is the superior car, there is not such a huge difference in quality anymore, and the Malibu does offer more flavor for the buck. This Malibu had a clean Carfax report and was GM certified.

The performance is good, even though this is not the most polished powertrain in the world. It does get very good fuel economy, though (28 MPG average). The engine has good power, but can be a little thrashy when revved. The transmission shifts well and has that "feel" that it will probably last the life of the car with proper servicing. The LTZ suspension makes the car handle better than the base Malibu and it soaks up road imperfections without noise or "floatiness."

The fit and finish are much better than any other GM car I can remember. It's still not up to the levels of Honda, but it also costs considerably less. My only real complaint with the car is that the doors swing shut way too easily and will crush your leg. I am used to my BMW, where the doors would NEVER crush your legs.

This car has a more distinctive look than most other cars in this class. The spoiler is done just right, the lines on the car flow beautifully from front to rear; and I usually do not like chrome wheels, but they look quite good on this car. I highly recommend getting an LT or LTZ as they are very nicely trimmed with heated leather/suede seats, chrome gauge rings, and fog lights. The back seat is incredible! Very roomy and fits two perfectly! The trunk is the biggest I have ever seen on a mid-size car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st February, 2007

23rd Dec 2007, 00:17

Update: 38,000 miles. The steering has been a little clunky when moving slowly around parking lots and it makes an audible clunk when you hit the accelerator. We have also had an issue with the paint on the rear bumper becoming wrinkled just below the taillights.

The dealer agreed to repaint the rear bumper under warranty and the entire rack and pinion steering setup has to be replaced. There is a service bulletin on the steering and should anyone have problems, GM will replace it for free even if no warranty exists anymore. GM has updated the steering system, so it should never be a problem again once replaced.

We are still very happy with the car despite these faults. The electric steering is rather experimental in nature as the Malibu was, I believe, the first production car to offer it. This is the second GM car we have owned where GM has not hesitated to fix anything under warranty or goodwill. So far, Toyota has also been good to us with our new Camry and its warranty.