1st Nov 2002, 23:53

Ditto for the intake manifold gasket, blower fan, and brakes. Additionally, I had the tensioner pulley and rollers for the serpentine belt fail. The leather seats have worn poorly. I've noticed that little noise lately coming from the steering wheel, but haven't been able to isolate the source. 66,500 miles mostly in the NY-CT area. Really surprised to hear the ads stating the JD Powers Survey giving the Malibu high marks for initial quality. Maybe they should check the later years.

28th Nov 2002, 20:55

Our 1998 Malibu has just turned 50,000 miles on it. I have read the other comments and agree with the problems on tire wear and brakes. I have noticed one other major problem that I cannot figure out the cause. That problem is major water on the back floor and we do not know where it is coming from. I had it to the Chevy garage twice in the last month for them to do a check. After the first visit to the Chevy body shop they could not find where the water leak was coming from, but they did dry out the carpet for me. Two weeks later, my wife notices more water on the floor and cannot figure out where the leak is. I return to the Chevy dealer and they do another test. Still unable to determine where the leak is coming from. Since it is out of warranty, I would have to pay for whatever work I have done on it. The suggestion I got from the body shop would be to possibly replace the door seals, but there would not be a guarantee that would stop the leak. The cost to me would be about $400. What do you suggest?

18th Dec 2002, 15:05

My Malibu has just past 66,000 miles and I have experienced everything in this review... the brakes, the tires, the head gasket and blower switch. One problem missed was the failure of an ABS sensor at 40,000 miles. This is apparently built into a piece of the suspension and will cost you $400 to replace. A failed sensor disables the ABS braking system so you have to go back to the old pump the brakes operation.

10th Jan 2003, 15:18

This review sounds EXACTLY like my 1999 Malibu! I guess the problems with the 98's were never addressed. I came here looking for information on the coolant light problem. I have already experienced the problems with the tires and breaks. I am also having the A/C issue (where it turns on and off randomly) but I didn't realize it was a common problem until I came here. I have printed out your review so I can know what to expect next.


21st Jan 2003, 12:18

I just turned 128,000 miles on my 98 Malibu. I am having problems with the head gasket, blower fan, brakes, tires and the side-view mirror. I go through brakes every quarter. I've had to change the serpentine belt, alternator and battery in the past year in addition to the brakes, the coolant, and back bushing. My shop bills are very high. I love the Malibu, but can't depend on it. It is nice to see that I'm not the only person with these problems.

23rd Jan 2003, 08:58

This is exactly what has happened to my 1999 Malibu. I came here looking for any information on a strange coolant problem. I have already experienced the problems with the tires and breaks, and replacement of the intake manifold gaskets. Also the heater/AC blower motor, this was some time ago and the dealer replaced only a resistor, not the whole motor. I am also having the A/C issue (where it turns on and off randomly). It's was -2 below zero last night, temp gauge showed engine overheating, no heat coming from heater, engine not very warm at all. In the shop for same problem, did not find anything. This was a week ago. Anti-freeze good to -20, coolant level OK. Reliability is so poor I will never buy a GM made car again. I have been a loyal GM buyer for 40 years. Hello Honda / Toyota.

3rd Feb 2003, 10:21

Ditto to the above comments. I had my 1999 Malibu LS (3.1L) checked out this past weekend. It has 40,700 miles on it. There was coolant leakage from the intake manifold (est. $550), brake repair advised (est. $155), oil ring leakage (est.$125), and the serpentine belt cracked (est. $50). In addition, we have experienced the intermittent on/off problem with the A/C and the tendency to burn taillights. I strongly recommend the extended warranty and wish I had spent the money for the warranty instead of the repair bills.

19th Feb 2003, 11:50

I echo the concern about the leaking intake manifold. I had to have it replaced after my warranty expired, at a very high cost ($1000 Canadian, after taxes). As well, I have had numerous problems with the low coolant light coming on when the engine is cold (even after the repair work was done). As much as we enjoy the Malibu, it has been a high maintenance vehicle.

19th Feb 2003, 18:56

6 months ago my Geo was totalled in an accident and I rented a Malibu for 3 weeks in the interim. What a nightmare. First time I took it for a two hour trip, the coolant hose above the transmission exploded leaving me stranded in nowheresville. I had the hose replaced at a small shop that looked like a relic from the '20s. The rental agency reimbursed the cost of repair, but that wasn't all... The second time I took it for a trip, the bearings seized up on two of the tensioning pulleys on the fan belt. The whole belt system was shredded and several electrical wires were torn loose in the mayhem. Once again, stranded in nowheresville. Once again fixed up. Once again reimbursed (thank god). I know this was a rental car, but should a 3year old vehicle be getting burst hoses and seized bearings? I'll never buy a Chevy. Never have I experienced such poor quality. Geo's don't count, they're made by Suzuki.

24th Feb 2003, 09:56

My 1998 Chevy Malibu is in the shop as I type this with a manifold leak. I just got a call from the dealer telling me the extended warranty will cover the work. I have less than 60,000 miles on my car and the brakes have been replaced 3 times. The first 2 times the car was under warranty. CD player stopped working to. I am so happy I got the extended warranty. It has already saved me about $2500.00.

L.T., Washington, D.C.

13th Mar 2003, 18:31

Help. I am going crazy. There is a whining noise coming from the front dash area of my 2002 Malibu. (The sound has almost a vibration, like a high pitched kazoo.) It happens when I hit about 70 miles per hour on the freeway. I have taken the car in and, thinking that there was a problem with the seal around the window, the dealer removed the windshield and had it resealed. This did not work. I had the same problem with a 95 Prizm and no one has ever heard of this problem. Can anyone help me?

25th Mar 2003, 16:09

My Malibu is a 1998 LS. It ran good until last Fall.

Now, there are two warning lights on when I drive it.

1st is the theft light. I sent the car to dealer.

The answer is my key is not talking properly with the system.

So, it is OK to stay on for me (6 month already).

Now, I got oil light on and off 2 days ago and it stays on after I put a quart of oil in yesterday.

Is it another electrical problem?