1998 Chevrolet Malibu Reviews

1998 Chevrolet Malibu from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2013
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired5000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles

Summary:

A fun drive that's lasted me a long time

Faults:

I've had to replace power window motors on at least two windows.

The gearshift, at about year 12, wouldn't move in cold weather and had to be replaced so I wouldn't be stranded in the cold.

There are a couple of rust spots.

Sometimes the car stalls for no good reason at low speeds - no reason found (could it be because of gas with ethanol?).

The parking brake doesn't always engage the way it should, and the dealer, when I asked, couldn't find anything wrong.

There is a problem with motor mounts; when the A/C is on and I stop at a light, the car shakes; if I turn off the A/C, the vibrations are greatly reduced.

General Comments:

The seats are comfortable on long road trips, even after all these years - and I like the fabric.

The back seat has plenty of leg room and head clearance.

The trunk is roomy - lots of room even when I take a friend on a Costco run!

I get about 17 MPG city and 30 highway.

The inside surfaces do not look like cheap plastic; the quality is good.

It has great pickup! I have no problems going up hills or mountains, or setting off from traffic lights. I enjoy driving my car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th February, 2013

1998 Chevrolet Malibu Base model 2.4 twin cam from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.4 twin cam Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
0.3 / 10

Summary:

Chevrolet (cracked heads, every valve rattles, oil leaks, engine ticks)

Faults:

Timing chain went. No mechanic could ever get it done right.

$500 to replace the oil pan gasket.

$800 for tune up.

$600 for transmission service.

Would stall all the time.

General Comments:

Shifting was poor, very horrible gas mileage; 11 city, 14 highway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th May, 2011

17th May 2011, 21:59

I LOVE the acronym... Very clever. I also like the rating you gave it: 0.3/10.

Thank you for an awesome review!

18th May 2011, 18:56

Yeah, what an awesome review for a 13 year old used car! It is also packed with info, such as the vehicle's mileage. 800 bucks for a tune up on a 4cyl. Yeah right.

1998 Chevrolet Malibu LS 3.1 V6 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 3.1 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10

Summary:

Piece of crap

Faults:

First week I had it, it started to overheat, it was the intake manifold gasket. The mechanic "fixed" it.

A few days after it was "fixed", my car would not turn over, it just made that annoying yeyeye sound.

Then while driving on the highway, the car shuts off and thank God I was able to coast to the side of the road. Again the mechanic was stumped (different mechanic that time).

When the car is working, it runs like a brand new car. But this is my first car, and it really is not worth your time. I say run the other way, even if someone was giving it away for free.

Oh, after I bought the car, the A/C went out the next day.

Granted the car is used, and I know it will have problems, but this thing is falling apart piece by piece.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th April, 2011

1998 Chevrolet Malibu V6 from Trinidad and Tobago

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired98000 miles
Most recent distance133000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

I am looking to buy one I saw in Trinidad soon

Faults:

I have only good things to say about this car.

I love this car, and I'm looking to purchase one again.

General Comments:

A wonderful car.

I love how it feels on the road.

Took me to New York and back to Michigan with no problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th December, 2010

1998 Chevrolet Malibu 2.8L from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 2.8L Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired84000 miles
Most recent distance243000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Gets you there

Faults:

Replaced starter.

Replaced alternator.

Replaced front wheel bearing.

Replaced front shocks and coils (cheaper to do both, the coil was broken due to rust).

Replaced flasher unit (due to clicking sound).

General Comments:

Apart from the regular wear and tear repairs, the car has been wonderful. Handles well on both slow and highway speeds, simple and functional instruments and gadgets, decent gas mileage... and with good maintenance, don't be afraid of the 100,000 or more miles on it. This I say after putting over 150,000 miles on mine... and I am a pretty abusive driver... i.e speeding and stuff like that.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th December, 2010

1998 Chevrolet Malibu from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance138565 miles

Summary:

I keep the car, because it's my baby

Faults:

Engine blew at 30,000 miles; that's when everything went bad.

O-rings had to be replaced constantly after that, then it was the water pump, a coil, then 3 starters.

2 fuel pumps, check engine light does not turn off, the car eats tires, brakes haha, gas.

The anti freeze tank blew up from too much pressure. Had an anti freeze leak into the heater; made me and my family sick. Cost 800 to repair that, and the heater core.

One day I turned the defroster button on for the back window to see out of, then the window blew up, then all the wiring in the 2 fuse boxes on the left side fried haha.

Now it's been 6 months without any problems. What a nice lovely car we all have.

General Comments:

The car drives real nice now. It's a smooth ride and it's pretty powerful. I'm surprised I can keep up with some of these little rice burners.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th September, 2010

Average review marks: 5.7 / 10, based on 171 reviews