1998 Chevrolet Malibu Reviews - Page 9 of 48

1998 Chevrolet Malibu 4 cylinder from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired56000 miles
Most recent distance57000 miles

Summary:

Piece of crap

Faults:

ABS sensor.

Gasket - Coolant problem.

General Comments:

I bought this car as my first car for like $3,000 with 56,000 miles. The thing's a tank.

I put flames on it along with blue neon lights inside it.

The ABS light comes on when I turn the steering wheel to an extreme. Also the coolant light comes on when I accelerate hard, or do a peelout.

I'm not going to put any money into the car, I'm just going to let it explode when it decides to, or I hope someone will run into me and total it.

It's a decent car, but it has many little problems that make it almost impossible for me to resell.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th November, 2007

15th Nov 2007, 11:20

...Are you serious? You're trying to make the car do something that it wasn't built to do. The Malibu is in no way a racing car. If you wanted something with power you should have spent a little more money and upgraded to the Impala, or better yet a Mustang, or a Corvette. Don't be upset because you're trying to trick out a car that wasn't meant to be tricked out. My 2001 Malibu does have some annoyances, but other that it has been a very dependable and reliable car.

15th Nov 2007, 12:37

I think the flames and the blue lights will make it hard to sell. Nothing says "I've driven this car hard like" like blue lights and flames.

15th Nov 2007, 12:49

You paid 'like 3000' for it, did you expect a car with no problems?

1998 Chevrolet Malibu LS 3.1 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance68000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Suburban

Summary:

Junk

Faults:

The head gasket had to be replaced at 55,000 miles.

The transmission had to be replaced at 60,000.

The brakes are always in need of repair.

The alternator had to be replaced.

The A/C switch had to be replaced... I could go on and on.

The Chevy Malibu is one piece of crap car. I will NEVER buy American again. I've heard too many stories about Hondas and Toyotas that seem to go forever with no problems. I will soon be the owner of a 2008 Honda Accord. I have always bought American, but I have learned my lesson. No more Detroit JUNK.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th October, 2007

1998 Chevrolet Malibu LS 3.1 V6 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.1 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 kilometres
Most recent distance134000 kilometres

Summary:

Fuel efficient for a 3.1 V6 plus its fast and has a good acceleration

Faults:

The only problems I had with this car was rotors and brakes, and I had a leak in my anti-freeze coolant.

I'm surprised how a lot of people hate this car and gave it a bad review, people have to remember that there is no such thing as a "perfect car" with no problems what so ever.

I think a lot of the performance of the car is to maintain it properly, I sold my Malibu about a year ago and I miss it so much.

I currently own a Nissan Sentra which is the biggest mistake I have made, maybe its just that praticular one that I have problems with, I'm thinking of going back to a Malibu since I had a good time with it.

Like I said earlier all cars will run into problems, and I had problems with my Mailbu, but nothing serious and not so often anyways.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd September, 2007

27th Sep 2007, 00:52

I own a 1997 Chevy Malibu LS. So far this car has been a good car; only problems are air does not work on 1-2 and sometimes 3, the driver side window gets stuck on the rubber seal, and rust finds its way into the dashboard, but other than that, the car is a great car; it runs well and it's fun to drive.

1998 Chevrolet Malibu from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired70 miles
Most recent distance64000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Great value

Faults:

Over the past nearly 10 years (as of 1/08), I've spent a total of about $2500 on repairs.

Had normal maintenance on brakes.

ABS system repaired a year ago.

Water pump replaced at about 62000 miles.

Windshield washer mechanism was replaced about five years ago.

Battery gave out after 8 years.

I take the car to the dealer to have the oil changed every 3 months, regardless of mileage.

Mileage is anywhere from 20 to 32 mpg, depending on AC use and whether driving short term trips about town.

Brakes are excellent, and the car has excellent acceleration.

The AC doesn't run on the lowest two settings; this reflects a problem in the control unit, which I noticed when the car was new but didn't realize it was a defect, and so didn't get it fixed. Apart from this, the AC on other settings is powerful.

I don't have any real complaints. My 1986 Corolla had 141,000 miles when I got rid of it after a fender bender in 1997, and I wonder if the Malibu would run well at that mileage, but... I might get a 2008 Malibu.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th August, 2007

Average review marks: 5.7 / 10, based on 171 reviews