1998 Chevrolet Malibu Reviews - Page 4 of 48

1998 Chevrolet Malibu 2.4L from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1997
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.4L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired200000 miles
Most recent distance230000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Silverado

Summary:

Cheap, reliable transportation

Faults:

A/C only works on level 3/4/5, but that isn't really a problem as long as it works.

The car dies at random times, like when I'm slowing down to turn into a place, and I can't figure out why. It always starts right back up, so it's not bad enough for me to take it to a mechanic yet.

Both of these things were already wrong with it when I got it, and nothing else has gone wrong since I've had it.

General Comments:

This car has been in my family since the day it was purchased new in 1998. My brother in law bought it for my sister, and he is very good about maintenance. Then they gave it to my brother, who drove it for several thousand miles and always maintained it, and then recently I sold my truck and needed a car to get around, so he gave it to me. I've put about 30,000 on it so far, and it always starts and gets me where I need to be. In fact I like it so much I haven't even bothered to try finding another vehicle to replace my truck.

I think I'll just keep driving it as long as the A/C, radio, windows, locks, etc keep working. I'll probably just keep driving it all the way to the junk yard.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th August, 2009

3rd Jan 2012, 18:43

The car has 260k on it now, and I still love it. The dying at random times ended up being a simple vacuum leak, so that's fixed now. I did have to replace the alternator the other day, but that's not a big deal on a car with this many miles.

17th Jun 2012, 22:10

Follow up. It's June 2012, I have 265K on the car now, and we still LOVE this car. In fact we're going on a 1000 mile trip next month, and we're taking the Malibu instead of my wife's Fusion that is 8 years newer. Still no problems, other than regular maintenance.

18th Jan 2013, 21:48

My 1998 Malibu is still going at 295,000. Alternator went once, and water pump recently. Engine light comes on every once in a while, also ABS once in a while, but this has been a very good, reliable car. Other than usual maintenance, tires, etc., it's given very little trouble. Will run the wheels off her.

30th Jun 2014, 06:29

This is what a car will do for you if you take care of it. Way to go.

1998 Chevrolet Malibu from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Automatic
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.3 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance87000 miles
Previous carSaturn SL1

Summary:

Money lost

Faults:

One of the many on Chevy Malibus.

The Anti-theft device is a terrible design. It goes off randomly. At that point you can't start your car for 15 minutes, nothing you can do, makes me late.

Also had to repair the lower manifold intake gasket - 900 bucks ): Dexcool eats away at these parts and there is a lawsuit; you still may be able to join to get half your money back on repairs. Save receipts! And google this.

ALSO just had to replace my battery due to failing/eventually died, alternator. (Temps have been around 0 degrees here BTW) Maybe that's why it's called Malibu, ha. no, it's not funny. That was 500 bucks to rebuild the alternator. The car still idles bad, it STILL surges, doesn't even idle at 1. It STILL sputters almost every time I start it, and sometimes takes a couple times to start, and most times I have to rev on the gas to keep it going a couple seconds. Then, it kills me, it drives fine.

Powerful engine, good in the snow, who cares though, buy something else. And don't buy from Dodge, Chrysler, GM, Ford, Chevy, etc.!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th January, 2009

17th Jun 2012, 22:12

$800 for to replace gasket? $500 for alternator? There is a mechanic somewhere laughing all the way to the bank. Sorry bro, you're getting ripped off.

20th Jun 2012, 01:10

Yeah, you've been ripped off big time on those repairs. $500 for a REBUILT alternator? Give me a break. I almost thought your review was genuine, until the end when you listed the domestic manufacturers, and said to never buy a car from them. Nice try.

Average review marks: 5.7 / 10, based on 171 reviews