Chevrolet Matiz Reviews - Page 2 of 3

2007 Chevrolet Matiz SX 1.0 from Germany

Model year2008
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired7 kilometres
Most recent distance12000 kilometres
Previous carOpel Combo CDTI

Summary:

Perfect little car

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car.

General Comments:

Looking for a cheap small car, I bought it in January 2008.

I am amazed about the quality of the car. My father was quality-controller at Mercedes Benz, and was amazed too about the quality.

There is enough space in the car for us two persons; it is comfortable even at long distances. The "SX" option includes everything you need: A/C (very strong), Blaupunkt sound system, 4 electric windows, etc., etc..

The performance is enough, in the owner's manual 156 km/h; in reality 170 km/h. Consumption with 6 l/100 km still o.k.

In our days of economic problems, a perfect car. Would buy it again!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th January, 2009

2008 Chevrolet Matiz SX 1.0 from UK and Ireland

Model year2008
Year of manufacture2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Most recent distance5000 miles
Previous carVolvo S80

Summary:

Cheap and what you'd expect

Faults:

It was a rental.

General Comments:

Rented this horrible little car for two weeks in July 2008. You get what you pay for, in that the price is listed below 6,000 UK pounds.

Served the purpose in getting us around, but pity those who are stuck with this car for their everyday needs.

Adequate power, better than walking.

Uncomfortable and crowded seating.

The worst gear positioning ever seen (kept missing first and grinding reverse on the way to fourth).

Speedometer not where you would expect.

Cheaply built, would not expect it to be on the roads for more than five years.

Limited storage space, way too narrow.

Looks like a Reliant Robin of the 70s with an extra wheel on the front.

Car was fine as a cheap rental, but I would recommend buying a more substantial car used. I'm used to full size cars, so some of these comments may apply to all micro cars such as this.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st August, 2008

2006 Chevrolet Matiz SE 1.0 from UK and Ireland

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired3000 miles
Most recent distance13500 miles
Previous carDaewoo Matiz

Summary:

A great first time car. Will buy the next model up, the Kalos, in 2 years time

Faults:

Since I have owned the Chevrolet Matiz, nothing has gone wrong with the car.

General Comments:

A great car for a first time driver like me.

Outstanding MPG; it says around 58MPG, but I'm able to get 69 MPG.

Very good looking.

Easy to drive and park.

Outstanding reliability.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd March, 2008

2007 Chevrolet Matiz SE 1.0 from UK and Ireland

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Previous carSkoda Felicia

Summary:

I think this car is total rubbish

Faults:

Nothing went wrong on the car, as I only hired it for a week when my Felicia was having a new clutch.

I didn't like the speedo placement.

No engine temperature gauge.

The soft suspension, plus the tallish body meant taking corners on the motorway was a white knuckle ride.

You only get 1 electric mirror.

Sure it's more modern than my Felicia, and has air-con plus other goodies.

But I really really did not like this car.

I cannot justify buying this to anyone even my worst enemy, as even my sister's M reg Micra outclasses this on the road.

General Comments:

I liked thew Blaupunkt stereo and under-seat storage drawers...

And that was it.

In town it handles OK, but there's nothing else to like.

Save your money and buy a a 14 year old Micra or 10 year old Skoda Felicia.

You'd not only save a fair packet on outright purchase costs but you'd feel a lot happier and even safer as:-

1 - They handle a lot better than a Matiz

2 - Better designed inside and out

3 - Cheaper and more robust than a Matiz

I was really glad when my Skoda returned home.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd March, 2008

17th Aug 2013, 07:27

Always baffled why people who have only test driven a car, or had it forced upon them for a week's hire due to circumstances, feel that they are subsequently qualified to slag a car off!!?? Surely their judgement is clouded, and experience of the vehicle too short to make a truly valid judgement?

I value the reviews posted by people who have had a car for a sufficient length of time or driven sufficient miles in a car to sum up objectively the merits of both the vehicle and dealer back up - those are the ones which assist me in making informed buying choices.

18th Aug 2013, 07:04

To be fair, you can make your mind up about a car in a short space of time. I had the misfortune of driving a Matiz once for about an hour, and I concluded it was a poorly built, poor handling, slow piece of rubbish!

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 8 reviews