2000 Chevrolet Metro LSI 1.3 from North America


Affordable and dependable not classy


The headlines wants to come down (62000 miles) but have fixed this so far with, hair gel, and still holding at 70000! Needs frequent oil changes at interstate driving.

General Comments:

I drive 200+ miles a day, and thus far no mechanical issues. Winds high at interstate speeds, also needs a overdrive option. Seats are basic, no arm rest. The cup holders, will only hold 12oz cans, no bottles. Does have a big cloud of smoke in early morning, cold starts, but not after a cold start! Transmission is stable. No leaks that I have discovered. I used to drive a Tahoe, and the gas was killing me. This car is not to impress anyone, but if you desire a affordable and reliable option to get from point A to point B, the Metro is your car. Has plenty of leg room in the back, for the kids. Does not have tilt, which I would love to have, nor a cruise option. No power seats, or power locks, very basic. If you are tall, and looking for leg room, steer clear.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th February, 2008

29th Sep 2009, 10:15

Our Metro had the same big cloud of blue smoke at start-up in the morning, but I put a quart of Lucas oil treatment in it and the smoking has stopped.

2000 Chevrolet Metro LSI 1.3 liter from North America


Can't be beat for a GREAT inexpensive car


The blower speed control only works on highest setting, but it was like that when I bought the car.

General Comments:

This is the best car I have owned in my life. It is small and easy to park and drive. It is really fast for a 4 cylinder automatic if I am the only person in it up to about 65 mph. Above that it accelerates very slowly and if there is a second person in the car it really has to work hard to drive it at 65 mph. It gets 40 mpg with a 16 ft canoe on the roof on the highway and averages 25 around town. It is better suited for around town because the legroom is limited for my height, I am 6 ft. It has a surprising amount of cargo space for such a small little car. I use synthetic oil and change it and the filter once a year or every 10,000 miles. It uses very little oil between changes maybe a quart or so. It always starts and is just a blast to drive, reminds me of a small british sports car I had in college only faster and better (never breaks down) Lots of room in the engine compartment, would be easy to work on. It's the best most economical car for the money that I know of. I paid $2450 for it 2 yrs. ago and it was and still is just like brand new. I am moving and can't take it with me so I have to sell it, but I already miss my baby.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th January, 2006

2000 Chevrolet Metro LSi 1.3 from North America


If Chevy/Suzuki still made them, they could name their price today, with gas at $3 per gallon!


I had one minor problem with the shifter at about 20k miles.

General Comments:

If every car was like the Metro, OPEC would be out of business! I get over 35 MPG in the city and I do NOT drive sedately. The little monster can get up and move when called upon, with the 1.3L and five speed.

The Metro, also marketed as the Suzuki Swift, was made by the CAMI plant in Canada. I was working for GM when I bought my Metros. I researched the car a LOT before I bought mine. If you get one and it doesn't run at least 300k miles, you're doing something wrong!

This is my second one. My first one, a '99, gave its life for me in a front end collision at 45 mph when an elderly woman pulled out in front of me. My passenger and I climbed out without a scratch. The built-in crumple zones and airbags gave us 100% safety, but resulted in the car being totaled.

When buying my replacement, my salesman remarked he had just sold matching Metros to a husband and wife who were police officers here in Tampa, FL. They had both seen collisions with Metros involved and were so impressed with the car they bought a pair of them!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th September, 2005

22nd Jun 2006, 21:09

The 4 cyl engine went bad in my 99 Metro. Will a 97 Geo Metro motor fit this car? I was told it would not. If not why not?


25th Jun 2006, 00:31

It should fit just fine, both the 1997 Metro and the 1999 Metro are the same, so there's no reason why an engine from a 1997 Metro shouldn't fit a 1999 Metro.

25th Jun 2006, 20:53

Thanks for the info on the engines. Do you know of anyone who has put a 97 or older engine into a 98 or newer Metro? The salvage yard told me that because the Metro changed from Geo to Chevy in 98, the motors are different with a different block number and ignition system, and the coil pack is not in the same place. I have a friend with a 97 engine that I can get for a good price. That is why I am asking. Thanks again, Diane.

5th Nov 2006, 02:33

I own a 98 Chevrolet metro and it runs as good as the day it came out of the factory! The only problem is, is that I live in Upstate NY and the car beneath me including the frame and suspension are rotting right before my very eyes! It is for that only reason I need to get rid of it! Mine has only 59 thousand miles! I am the 2nd owner, car is cheaply made, engine is excellent.

20th Nov 2006, 17:42

Hi, I have a green 1999 Chevy Metro LSI.

My question is about the belts. I just replaced them in May and one of them is getting bad. Already I burnt up my alternator. I think there might be a different kind of belt I need to use. Does anyone here anything about this?

8th Feb 2007, 12:19

My 1999 Chevy Metro LSI was recently involved in a front-end collision. I -loved- this car. It got 40mpg and never once broke down on me in the two years I owned it. It has over 100k miles on it. Would it be worth $2000 to fix it up?