1988 Chevrolet Monte Carlo Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1988 Chevrolet Monte Carlo LS 5.0L H.O. from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.0L H.O. Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired145000 miles
Most recent distance151000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Silverado

Summary:

A death-wish to imports!!

Faults:

When purchased the 4.3L V6 was shelled (got replaced with a real engine 5.0L).

Blew a transmission oil cooler line on the interstate.

Needed new weatherstripping around the doors.

New tires all around after buying it.

Speedometer ticks at speeds lower than 35mph (driving me insane too).

General Comments:

This car is a major blast to drive around. The 430hp 335 stroker provides tons of entertainment and power. It has outrun everything, but a state trooper (bet between me and a trooper off duty).

It 0-60's in a little over 4 seconds depending on conditions. Runs the 1/4 mile in upper 10's on street tires. (do the math and figure out how fast I run ;) )

The car has had an aftermarket stereo system put in it so it sounds better. The stock rims were taken off, thrown away and replaced with a set of Torq-Thrust mags off a Chevelle SS.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th August, 2004

20th Aug 2004, 10:42

0-60 in 4 seconds?

Dream on!

21st Aug 2004, 16:05

A death wish to imports? Yeah, maybe a stock Kia Rio. That's about it.

4th Sep 2004, 20:33

This thing wouldn't have a prayer if you raced my new 2004 civic. It's hot, it's red, & it'll dust you!!

3rd May 2005, 15:50

Are you sure you don't mean the SS model?

17th Jul 2005, 05:31

Since no one else noticed, he's talking about the hot motor he currently has in the car. No, he's not talking about an SS, that wussy 305 won't give anybody bragging rights.

Although I find it hard to believe he runs in the 10's.

A mechanic I sort of know has an 80's Monte LS, not an SS, and installed a 350 and built it mildly - I think it runs on pump gas. The guy he works for, who has run his own repair business for at least ten years, recently built a new shop, and has a race car, predicted it would break into the 12's on race tires. That motor probably has around 350 horsepower, give or take 20, since I don't know the motor specifics, and there's a very large gap between high 12's and 10's. Like, more than an 80 horsepower gap.

Also, unless the state troopers in his area have confiscated motorcycles, and that's the vehicle he's talking about..he's lying. Crown Vics and Impalas can run with pickups, and most SUV's, but probably nothing with at least 300 horsepower. The Vic has between 200 and 250 horsepower, and same for torque - with 3.22 gears, they've had a top speed of 130 out of all the years of production, and the Impala has even less power, the front wheel drive POS that it is.

19th Sep 2005, 10:28

He's right... i love montes... but 10's is a bit exaggerated...

1988 Chevrolet Monte Carlo SS 5.0L H.O V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.0L H.O V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance134000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Celebrity

Summary:

Another great example of beautiful AMERICAN MADE muscle

Faults:

My speedometer cable broke after 1 yr.

General Comments:

This is 1 mean machine.

Great performance overall, OK mileage.

Great handling, good suspension.

Lots of room under hood for modifications & bigger engines.

Small power ups go a long way on this car.

Rear end and undercarriage prone to rust if not kept up with.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th June, 2003

1988 Chevrolet Monte Carlo SS 305 HO from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 305 HO Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired54000 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carDodge Rampage

Summary:

A great car for a level headed kid

Faults:

I have only had to put tires on it.

General Comments:

This car is fast and very sleek. If you want a car that will turn heads and gives you a hell of a ride this would be the car for you. The only bad thing I would have to say is that when you get it up to a good speed the windows pop open. If you own one or have ever been in one at a good speed you know what I mean.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th March, 2003

1988 Chevrolet Monte Carlo SS 305 H.O. V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 305 H.O. V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired54000 miles
Most recent distance71000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Caprice

Summary:

One of the best looking cars GM made

Faults:

Nothing went wrong, sold it for faster Chevy.

General Comments:

Rear wheel drive is the best, and the V8 to go with it rocks. Handels like a corvette, rides like a caprice, the perfect balanced sport/luxury car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th April, 2002

1988 Chevrolet Monte Carlo SS L69 305 High Output from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission L69 305 High Output Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired68000 miles
Most recent distance89000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Monte Carlo

Summary:

Power, good looks, dependable

Faults:

Replaced both exhaust manifold gaskets.

Replaced center console lid.

New rear tranny seal.

New intake manifold gasket.

Installed new water pump.

General Comments:

This is the best car ever made!! While not the fastest car of the 80's (I've been smoked by many a GN), it is definitely the best looking. The first year I had it, it had a few minor problems. But it's been problem free since the end of summer '99!

If you want a real head turning car, this is it. I have people come up to me at gas stations, etc, asking to buy the car at least once a week!

The power is decent when stock. But to really get them moving, take off all pollution controls, and add a shift kit to the tranny. This so called "tank" has beaten lots of 5.0s (5.slows) that have the same engine, but half the weight of an MCSS!

I highly recommend these cars to anyone!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th July, 2001

20th Jan 2005, 19:46

It is not exactly true that the Monte Carlo SS is faster than the Mustang 5.0, and the Mustang weighs the same as the Monte, not half as much. And it doesn't have the same engine; the Mustang has a 5.0 liter (302 cu. in.) roller cam fuel injected Ford engine, while the Monte of the same year has a 5.0 liter (305 cu. in) small block Chevy engine.

The actual stock 1/4 mile elapsed times for the 88 Mustang GT and the Monte Carlo SS are 15.2 for the Mustang and 15.5 for the Monte Carlo, so they are pretty evenly matched, so calling a Mustang slow is rather self deprecatory to you and your car. With that said, I like both cars for their power and styling.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 8 reviews