1997 Chevrolet Monte Carlo Reviews - Page 2 of 9

1997 Chevrolet Monte Carlo LS 3.1 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired22000 miles
Most recent distance227759 miles
Previous carChevrolet Monte Carlo

Summary:

Wish I had its twin

Faults:

Replaced head gaskets at 180000 miles.

Replaced alternator 4 years ago.

General Comments:

Well I guess you can get a good one or a lemon in every car. I'm glad I have had no problem with mine till now.

The transmission burned out today, but after 220 thousand miles something had to go wrong. Just hope the next one is as cheap to keep going as this one was.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th February, 2009

1997 Chevrolet Monte Carlo LS 3.1 V6 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.1 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired65330 miles
Most recent distance96600 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Delta 88

Summary:

A sporty and comfortable pile of junk

Faults:

My intake gasket is shot.

My catalytic converter is shot.

Driver's side window has a mind of its own, and only works when it wants to.

The rear defroster doesn't work.

The cruise control only works sometimes.

The power locks tend to get stuck in the winter.

The car leaks oil/coolant.

General Comments:

This car is a very comfortable, sporty car.

However, although 12 years old, I wouldn't expect all of the problems I've had with it considering the car hasn't even hit 100k yet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th January, 2009

1997 Chevrolet Monte Carlo Z34 3.4 DOHC from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.4 DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.5 / 10
Distance when acquired70500 miles
Most recent distance70900 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Passat

Summary:

Awful

Faults:

I bought the car 2 weeks ago with 70,500 miles on it. The car had a little trouble steering to the right. I put aside some money to fix it. Let me take a deep breath and begin. This car SUCKS. Chevrolet SUCKS. Detroit SUCKS.

First off it leaks oil from every crevice of its worthless body. Rack and pinion steering cost me 300 bucks plus another hundred to fix the pressure hose it busted.

Driving home, this car gets awful mileage and DOES NOT have 215 HP. It has more like 115 HP because it is slower than my friends Hyundai.

Brakes are HORRIBLE.

I parked at 7 11 to get a Coca Cola, when I got out the car wouldn't drive, number 6 cylinder was misfiring, had to get it towed. 120 bucks.

Radiator was gunked up with old dex cool. Had it flushed, on the way home I parked and got out for a second and my car was blowing coolant all over the place. Busted water pump. 250 bucks.

I have owned this car for 2 weeks! 400 miles! And I have put 1000 dollars worth of repairs into it. And now, I'm going to get rid of it because this might be one of the worst cars ever made. Never ever buy a Chevy Monte Carlo ever if you're a smart person.

General Comments:

AWFUL AWFUL vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th September, 2008

7th Sep 2008, 15:24

It's 11 years old and used.

Common sense would have said be weary, despite the miles. Did you get a car fax report on it?

7th Sep 2008, 17:56

I don't think you can blame Chevrolet or Detroit because you bought a bad USED car.

I also am wondering how oil leaks from the body of the Monte Carlo. Shouldn't you be putting the oil in the engine?

8th Sep 2008, 12:41

You could tell most of this stuff from a inspection of the car before you bought it. The reason it's slower than your friend's car is it's misfiring and loses substantial power when it does that. You've probably neglected to say that the "check engine light is always on". If a car is that bad with only 70,000 miles, why did you buy it in the first place?

9th Sep 2008, 01:48

You know what I mean...

7th Feb 2009, 08:50

I just bought a 97 Monte Carlo Z34 to replace my 98 Lumina LS that was totaled in December after being hit from behind. I bought it with 188,000 km on it. That's 116 000 miles for you Americans lol. The car drives like a DREAM. I have put probably about 2000km on it now, had it for 2 months and its just amazing. And what you are saying about not actually having that much HP, there must be something wrong with YOUR car because my car rips. I think whoever owned the car previously just never did any maintenance on it.

19th Dec 2012, 02:15

Funny... My 1996 Monte Carlo Z34 has done well over 20K without having to spend a penny on it for repairs, except the new fuel pump that came with the car and I installed it. It currently has 170,XXX miles on it and is leaking no fluids whatsoever.

By the way, I paid $500 for the car with no rust. Just repainted it myself back in May because I felt the car deserved it.

Maybe it depends on how well the previous owners took care of it.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 27 reviews