1999 Chevrolet Monte Carlo LS V6 from North America


Excellent, Reliable, good buy!!!


Brakes went at 115,000 miles, but the dealer was at fault for that.

Battery Cable and Bearings along with the brakes.

Alternator at 125,000 - again dealer reconnected battery cable incorrectly.

Today found Dead battery cell caused from Alternator, leak in tran pan, oil pan (ran over curb) intake valve going, tires (normal wear and tear) 50,000 miles in one year.

Switch to Auto window (drivers side) Manufacturer.

General Comments:

I love this car. It has stood and passed my tests. I would buy the same one if I could. Have checked out Rendezvouz and am so glad I did my research. I loved the way it test drove, but the reviews on the internet have persuaded me not to buy!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th October, 2006

30th Mar 2007, 08:59

Can somebody tell me the size of the gas tank on a 1999 Monte Carlo LS? Can you also tell me how many miles you can go on one tank? Thanks.

30th Aug 2008, 19:16

Monte Carlo LS has a 16 gallon tank.

1999 Chevrolet Monte Carlo LS 3.1 from North America


This is the nicest looking, but is terrible to own


My head gasket blew at 40,000 miles

Replaced all fuel injectors at 45,000 miles and have to it again at 89,000 miles and I have always put premium gas in the car.

Many problems with breaks and break lines.

Sometimes the car won't start and no one can figure out why.

Lights and blinkers have to be replaced, they malfunctioned.

The alternator needed to be replaced along with the battery.

The cars computer box needed to be replaced.

General Comments:

For it's performance it gets great gas mileage.

It handles very well.

And it's fun to zip around in.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th September, 2005

1999 Chevrolet Monte Carlo Z34 3.8 series ll (3.8 V6) from North America


A very reliable machine with excellent power


I have not had any mechanical problems with this car since I have had it. Just the brake pads/rotors. The usual stuff.

General Comments:

Sounds good with the Dynomax ultra flows... just had them put on a week ago and it sounds mean.

I would recommend this vehicle to anyone.

Awsome power... I beat a 1996 Mustang GT in a drag race!!!

I hope this bad boy keeps on running well into the 150,000 mark.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th March, 2005

1999 Chevrolet Monte Carlo LS 3.1 V6 from North America


American muscle car reborn... Almost


The car had a bad ball joint when I bought it with 44,000 miles.

$100 to fix the ball joint.

My car dropped a lifter and blow the motor up at only 56,000 miles.

Warranty covered the damage.

While they were replacing my motor they also said, that I needed a new transmission.

Also, covered by warranty.

General Comments:

The car was fast and handled great. Though the speed limiter was annoying.

The interior was nice, all the controls were within easy reach of the driver. But, it only had one cup holder. I think that a car made to have 5 people in it would come with more.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th December, 2004

1999 Chevrolet Monte Carlo LS 3.1 from North America


A stylish, fun, interesting looking car for those that want the muscle car mystique on a budget


The center console has issues, mostly with the lighter "vanishing" into the nether-regions, floor carpet seems to be wearing rather quicky, the trunk seems to "stick" when opened from remote or the oddly placed drivers side under dash location, factory CD player, in one word, blows (will be replaced soon).

General Comments:

Let's be honest, it's a sweet looking car. Sure, it's a two door Lumina, but there are so few of them out there that people can't believe that it's actually a Monte Carlo. The car has power, as well as that appeal that people will ask you about it. I totally cannot complain, as I had a Cavalier who's engine blew up at 77,000 miles, and the payment I have on this machine is $100 less a month. If I'm going to gripe, OK, the dashboard is cheesy. A grocery getter type of dash. In my opinion, a Cavalier looking dash would have been more fitting to this beast. The only car that I have owned that that would give my old 1993 Dodge Duster a run for it's money. Have to say, I like it.

One question... was a manual transmission offered?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th May, 2004

13th Jul 2006, 17:54

<<was a manual transmission offered?>>

The 1990-94 Lumina, 3.4L 2-door only I think (the particular model with the license plate in b/t the taillights instead of down in the bumper, that is), could be had with manual, but I don't believe manual was ever offered on the 1995-99 Montes.