2000 Chevrolet Monte Carlo SS V6 from North America


This car was an excellent vehicle for the price. We will keep this puppy for years to come!


Forward air dam broke off twice.

Check Engine light at 32000 miles. Dealer said it was a recall issue and that the computer needed to be re-programmed. Funny how they never contacted me.

Front brake rotors warped at 32000 miles. I had to have both front rotors turned to even them out. Note: this is NOT covered under warranty!

Check Engine light at 35000 miles. Dealer said it was the fuel system and upon getting the car back, they said it was that the fuel cap was not seated.

Intermediate steering arm clicking at 35000 miles. Lube kit installed at dealer. Took care of it.

Check Engine light at 36020 miles. Called the dealer, they said it may be a leak somewhere in the fuel system.

The center console seems to be 'painted' black. After only having the car a couple of months, the black 'paint' started peeling off around the opening of the console.

General Comments:

The car handles extremely well in corners when it is dry.

Good, comfortable, low center of gravity for 'in control' feel when cornering or changing lanes.

Interior (leather) is very luxurious, makes me feel like I am in a very expensive car. (oh wait, I am)

Not really too expensive. Good quality.

Excellent braking system.

Use 3rd gear for highway driving, better response in traffic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th September, 2002

27th Apr 2008, 18:15

I love my Monte. I've had to turn rotors, too. I replaced mine at 65,000, had them turned twice before that. The thing is after going to a shop, make sure you torque the wheel nuts to 90ft/lbs yourself. If you don't they warp.

You can buy new rotors for a Monte for less than $20 a piece. Hardly even worth turning them.

2000 Chevrolet Monte Carlo LS 3.4 V6 from North America


Very powerful, economical, stylish, great!!


Absolutely nothing has gone wrong with this car in over 11 thousand miles.

Standard oil changes at 1000 miles, and then ever 3000.

General Comments:

This is a tremendous car. The styling is unmatched by any other manufacturer. The curved trunk is my favorite part.

There is tons of rear seat room, even though the car is only a 2 door.

The trunk is spacious and can fit plenty when hauling tons of junk.

The car rides great at high speed, and you still have plenty of power left at 80 miles per hour.

The transmission is geared perfectly. Normally, I like manual transmissions, but this one will shift better than you ever could. It holds the power gear that you need, and gives your the torque you want coming off the turns.

Highly recommended car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th June, 2002

6th Jul 2002, 01:33

I fully agree. I have a 2000 Galaxy Silver one. Very beautiful the way the sun bounces off the paint in the sun. I have 37000 in it and love it.

13th May 2006, 00:45

I also have a silver SS and I love it. I have 2 kids and have plenty of room in the rear sear it has a very big back seat for a 2 door car. I don't guess I have even been in a 4 door car that has as much room in the back seat.

2000 Chevrolet Monte Carlo ss V6 from North America


Car likes to be in shop more than on roads


Terrible faulty transmission. Dealer serviced it 4 times without actually fixing the problem.

General Comments:

Poor quality gimmick of a car. SS is just a badge, the car does not live up to it in any sort of way.

A cavalier in disguise.


Not nearly as good as the original and the original one sucked too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th May, 2002

11th May 2003, 21:39

Steve's right on man I've got a 1997 Monte and it's junk as well, trans. went out 2 months after I got it, GM said they fixed it, but it still slips JUNK Need I say more?

2000 Chevrolet Monte Carlo SS 3.8 Liter V6 from North America


A rocket for the money, almost more fun than previous Camaro


No real problems until 30,000 reached.

Then repetitive misfiring of engine, especially at idle resulted in dealer replacing 3 plugs and wires. Plugs are platinum tipped and supposed to last 100,000 KM.

This reoccured within 5000K with same three cylinders being affected.

Most annoying problem is recurring engine light: saying check engine.

Then fuel injector on number 1 cylinder replaced once at 38000 and replaced again approx 9000 KM later. A 2nd cylinder/injector was affected and later replaced.

Fuel economy not as good as when new, but still averages 18-19MPG.

Drivers side door power window mechanism failed and replaced.

Cigarette lighter blew fuses and was replaced.

All above was covered under warranty. If you plan to keep this model past factory warranty I recommend extending it.

General Comments:

All maintenance was performed at proper intervals.

Always used synthetic oil. Seems to run smoother.

Add K & N performance air filter/cleaner. Gives noticeable improvement in performance.

Performance is very good for V-6. Car beats many other models, even though curb weight is relatively high.

On-board computer adapts well to Premium pump gas and Octane boost. This eliminates a flat spot in performance in rev range during 2nd gear acceleration.

Speed tricks: (most discovered by accident).

Turn traction control off for maximum speed when starting from line quickly in dry weather. Turn back on for wet starts.

Speed Shifting: Put gear selector in 1, under full acceleration, computer will upshift automatically to protect engine into gear 2 just before redline. This is noticably quicker than shifting up transmission by hand.

Using 3rd gear for most highway cruising, will provide better acceleration and pickup than waiting for transmission to downshift from D if you need to pass.

Using 2nd gear for street/city cruising will provide responsive acceleration when required, again without waiting for down-shifting to occur.

Ultimately the car could really use a manual transmission as an option.

Exceeding speed limiter: the engine is physically limited by the computer at 105 MPH, this can be avoided as follows:

Accelerate in 3rd gear until speed/rev limiter is just about to kick in... then move shift selector to D, (timing is crucial), the car will briefly be between gears at speed limiter and will then enter 4th gear (D) correctly and continue to pull away very strongly.

Caution do this on a clear road and avoid exceeding the tire rating (or upgrade the tires to Z rated). Also do not apply brakes too quickly: car will dive or may pull to one side at this speed.

As you can tell I love exploring the performance side of this car... and find it a great car for day to day driving as well as more spirited driving when the mood suits.

Car is a looker, perhaps because not too many are around, and unusual styling in rear section, people seem to always be trying to figure out what it is.

The ride is extremely smooth, yet corners well when required.

I would recommend the car as long as you are prepared to purchase an extended warranty or baby it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th May, 2002

2nd Feb 2009, 20:52

I do agree on the fun part. I've owned mine since 04 with 30,000 miles on it. The car is a 2000 Monte Carlo SS with the 3.8 V6 and has now 130,000 miles on it. Still runs great and keeps up with the Mustangs GTs all the way, and makes my best friend mad.

Did install a cold air intake system, which improved my MPG by 10; now getting 38 MPG at 55 MPH WOW.

I did find out my governer stops at 125 mph, which shocked me.

Did change the transmission fluid at 120,000 miles and regular oil changes every 3000 miles/ 3 months.

The only problems I had with it was the Trac light.

The plugs up front got ripped off due to snow or something, 6 times I had to take it in.

Now so far so good, and no transmission problems at all.

23rd Jul 2010, 17:53

I bought a 2001 Monte Carlo SS, in 2004 I think. I did buy it with an extended warranty. I am glad I did.

I had issues with a window switch drivers side. Also traction control sensor on the passenger side. Also something to do with power steering, which I ended up getting a four wheel alignment. I ended up replacing the tires maybe 2 years after I bought it. Shopping now; will probably need it again next year.

I did end up replacing the driver's window motor myself a few months back.

A couple of months ago the traction control started acting up again. I mentioned it to my service man and kind of left it at that as my warranty is up. 100000 miles now. Ran out at 81000. I talked to someone that said all you have to do is unclip the wires on the traction sensors and it will reset. I liked that idea, so I borrowed my friends ramps and tried it. I was surprised, I should say happily, that it did work!

Long story short, I love my Monte and plan on keeping it. Love the interior, have bought a new stereo, no plans to change, makeover perhaps, but not change..