2002 Chevrolet Monte Carlo Reviews - Page 3 of 5

2002 Chevrolet Monte Carlo ss 3.8 V6 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance68000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Calais

Summary:

Overall it's a good buy

Faults:

The monte ss is a beautiful looking car and fun to drive. I have a white 2002 monte ss. However I have had problems mostly with rotors and calipers since I bought the car new in 2002..Also recently noticed problems with the paint flaking and I also had to have the cat. converter replaced. The engine itself has been very strong and the car handles very good.

General Comments:

The car handles very good overall except on rain or snow.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th September, 2007

15th Mar 2011, 12:09

Yes I agree with the last comment about the paint flaking on my white 2002 Monte Carlo SS that was purchased new. This flaking shows no undercoat and is right down to the metal.

I paid just over $40,000 for this car and it looks like crap. Plus I also have a problem with my ABS and Trac light always coming on, not sure if this is a sensor issue or what. Should I be contacting Chev and does someone have a phone number for this paint issue especially? Obviously it's past the warranty stage but has been chipping and peeling for a couple of years.

Email address lvogt@accesscomm.ca - in Canada.

Thanks!

2002 Chevrolet Monte Carlo SS from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance41000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

Strong acceleration and handling, but not cramped

Faults:

So far, there has been a new shimmy in the steering upon hard braking, which was not helped by new rotors and pads. Suspect a suspension problem, but haven't had it looked at yet. Otherwise, no problems so far.

General Comments:

Very good on the road, especially with quality tires.

Decent mileage for it's power.

Handles well even under stress.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th December, 2006

2002 Chevrolet Monte Carlo SS 3.8L V6 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.8L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired33 miles
Most recent distance11500 miles
Previous carDodge Dakota

Summary:

Disappointing quality

Faults:

Auto headlights flickered at night.

Transmission would sometimes hang up.

Very loud squeaky brakes.

Car felt heavy, brakes never seemed big enough to be effective.

General Comments:

A very nice looking car, but the electronics left a lot to be desired.

Engine was good and strong.

Transmission has shifting issues.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th February, 2006

2002 Chevrolet Monte Carlo SS 3.4 V6 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.4 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance36000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

This car is absolutely fabulous!!

Faults:

We just recently had to have the car looked at for loss of power. The dealership had to replace the catalytic converter. Luckily, the car was still under warranty. Other than that, the car is great. We have taken it on long trips and is a joy to drive!

General Comments:

We have the top of the line model for that year. It's wonderful.

Heated seats are great in winter.

Sunroof provides terrific airflow.

Stereo sound and acoustic is just perfect with radio, CD, and tape deck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th July, 2005

13th Jul 2005, 10:46

You can't have a 2002 Monte SS with a 3.4 V6, sorry it just didn't happen. If it is a 3.4 you have an LS not an SS.

7th Feb 2006, 18:50

If he doesn't have the SS, maybe he has the fully loaded LS, that can be bought with sunroof, heated leather seats, nice aluninum wheels and the "Nascar" style spoiler on the trunk lid. It's nearly identical to the "SS".It looks just as sharp, with a smaller price tag.

Also, I would like to add that I own a '02 Monte that I purchased brand new and I still own it, and still love it!

NO problems at all! Over 38,000 miles, original tires, brakes, everything. This has been one of the best cars I ever owned. The only change I made was to install the "Nascar" style spoiler on the trunk lid.

One last point, These cars must be made with galvanized steel, or maybe a better painting process, Mine doesn't have any rust anyplace on it. It still looks just like new.

14th Jul 2006, 20:47

I wouldn't be surprised if the car in this review is actually an LS model given the listed engine is the 3.4L V6. It may be hard loaded with stuff, etc. as suggested by the previous commenter (7th Feb.). Anyway, cars loaded up the wazoo in previous decades were usually high-end models with expensive alloy wheels or wire covers, but nowadays it's been not only mid-level, but even *base* models with sunroofs. Yes, with standard wheel covers instead of alloys this time around. The most recent example I've seen was a '99 Mitsubishi Galant DE I saw sitting for sale. The DE was low-end with black trim instead of body-color (door handles, radio panel on dashboard, door armrest panels, etc.) sans cruise control but yes, this car had the sunroof as if it's an GTZ model. Seems no one cares whether the model is high-end anymore as long as it *can* be had with the goodies usually reserved for luxury models.

11th Jan 2007, 08:42

I know maybe it actually is an SS, but was accidentally listed as a 3.4 instead of a 3.8.

Average review marks: 8.3 / 10, based on 18 reviews