2002 Chevrolet Monte Carlo SS V6 from North America


Beautiful looking, too many little problems for the price they cost


Warped routers every 20,000 Km. Too heavy a car for the braking system.

On star is faulty.

Ignition problems at 100,000. You put in the key and nothing happens. If you wait approx 15 minutes and try again, it will usually start.

General Comments:

Very luxurious and comfortable interior.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th June, 2005

3rd Mar 2008, 05:18

"Warped routers every 20,000 Km".

Warped rotors are caused by improper torquing of the lug nuts. Talk to whomever last played with your tires! It is definitely not the car's fault!

It's 90 ft/pounds, be sure to torque in a star pattern!

"Too heavy a car for the braking system".

No way. The four wheel discs are more than adequate to bring this car to a stop. For the car's size, it is actually very light!!

"On star is faulty".

Never had a problem with any Onstar. Worked places my regular cell phone would have no signal.

"Ignition problems at 100,000".

Battery is faulty? Wire corroded? This happens after 100,000k on any car!

2002 Chevrolet Monte Carlo LS from North America


Luxuriously fast


The only problem I have had is with the rotors warping. They have been turned 3 times and finally were replaced by the dealer. (Under warranty)

General Comments:

I love this car. It runs so well.

Corners wonderfully.

Handles great.

The interior is roomy and comfortable, Plush seats.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th July, 2003

10th Dec 2004, 02:35

I have a 2002 ls just got it 2 things have happened steering Knuckle bad $156.00 and airbag light just came on other than that fast car nice roomy inside nice smooth ride.

2002 Chevrolet Monte Carlo 3.8L 231cui from North America


Unless you need four doors, get one!


Nothing Has gone wrong. This car has worked flawlessly.

General Comments:

I've driven and owned a lot of different vehicles, but my '02 Monte SS is by far the best I've driven. It's fast, responsive, comfortable, and a ton of fun to drive with the premium sound system cranked. I never would have guessed getting this kind of driving experience out of a front wheel drive car with a V6. Speaking of which, it handles great on snow packed roads too. This car would have smoked my '76 and '82 V8 Monte. I can't say enough. Oh, and get the Black!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th April, 2003

15th Aug 2006, 15:10

I'm partial to my red 02 but would like different colored emlems.

2002 Chevrolet Monte Carlo SS 3.2 H.O. from North America


Black Beauty


The wiper motor broke the first day of ownership, but was under a recall anyway. Nothing else has gone wrong with the car.

General Comments:

I love this car!

It corners beautifully and is a real head turner!

It has a beautiful black glossy finish that you can see yourself in.

Really snarls when it accelerates also.

Very, very fast!

Only main complaint was the word Monte Carlo on the trunk and sides was black to match the car. But the letters SS were in red, so I bought new MonteCarlo signs that were red so it would stand out.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th February, 2003

21st Feb 2003, 18:17

I very much agree with this person. I very much like my Monte Carlo also!

12th Aug 2005, 09:32

I just got my SS and it is Great! Black on black is very sharp. But I agree about the black emblem on the black car. How do I get a red Monte Carlo emblem to match the SS emblem?

13th Feb 2008, 20:53

I own a 2002 Monte Carlo too, and I love everything about this car. I wouldn't need anything more than what it has.

2002 Chevrolet Monte Carlo LS 3.4L V6 180HP from North America


A yellow speedster that is reliable and good looking


Nothing has gone wrong with the engine.

The cigarette lighter didn't work when car was purchased, but was repaired soon after discovered.

Car has stalled because of water in gasoline, car only takes expensive gasoline.

Another bad part is everyone can see the car including cops, and the car is hard to hide.

General Comments:

This car is a dream, a person can drive 70 MPH in the snow and the car would not miss a beat, if the traction control is on then the driver cannot lose control of the car, if the traction control is off, the driver can do a major burn-out.

This car is good for taking long trips in because you can't feel a bump in the road and the seats are very comfortable.

This yellow speedster will go anywhere and still be styling and profiling.

I have heard so many compliments on this car, it is unreal. When a go to a store or go anywhere there are always people compliments me on how good my car looks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th January, 2003

27th Apr 2008, 18:02

This car uses regular gas, 87 octane. You do not need premium gas in it. Putting in 91 octane will risk burning out the EGR system.