1977 Chevrolet Nova Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1977 Chevrolet Nova from North America

Year of manufacture1977
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Previous carPlymouth Reliant

Summary:

She is beautiful, fast, incredibly reliable and comfortable

Faults:

The last owner messed up badly trying to fix her.

My rear right air shock is a little loose.

General Comments:

This car is the best car I have ever had to drive, ride in, or just look at.

She is extremely fast!

The interior is original and in almost perfect shape. The carpet has one hole.

She is the only car for me and I plan on keeping her forever!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th August, 2002

1977 Chevrolet Nova Concours 3.5 ltr. V-8 2 barrell from North America

Year of manufacture1977
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.5 ltr. V-8 2 barrell Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired65048 miles
Most recent distance96789 miles
Previous carToyota Tercel

Summary:

This Chevrolet will never die, nor will she ever fade away

Faults:

After just a few weeks I had to replace the universal joints in the car. Routine maintenance is a thing everyone has to do with a vehicle they own. This car is a very powerful car and I have had to replace the universal joints at least 4 times in the last 4 years. Two years ago I had to replace the starter. It gave me no warning as to when it was going out and it left me stranded. I also had the carburator replaced after the butterfly choke messed up. I had the timing chain replaced and the cam shaft replaced when it tore up on me once again about a year ago. Other than the normal wear and tear parts such as brakes, wipers, and lights these are the extent of the repairs I have had to make on the vehicle since I purchased it.

General Comments:

All in all I think this car has been one of the best cars I have ever owned. Equipped with the leather interior, chrome package, and the original rims it is still a beautiful GM product. I have had a head on collision in this car. A newer late model full sized Chevrolet truck made a turn in front of me. Needless to say that the truck was a total loss and my Concours was drivable to my home. The repairs were cheap on the car. I found the parts (hood, bumper, grille, finders, and windshield) at a nearby graveyard and done all the repair work myself. The cost of fixing my car after the collision was only about $200.00. This car has given me some trouble but considering when I purchased it everything down to the spark plugs were original. I plan to keep this car for the rest of my life and restore it to the original factory condition. I love this car and if I could ever find another four door Chevrolet Concours out there I will be sure to buy it. It is a fun car and once you get it all mechanically sound then you have a motor vehicle that is dependable and very fun to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st June, 2001

1977 Chevrolet Nova 4-door Sedan 350 from North America

Year of manufacture1977
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 350 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired109000 miles
Most recent distance109080 miles

Summary:

It is the best car I will ever own, nothing can be compared to it

Faults:

Interior is almost completely restored.

Approximately.5-1 cubic feet of weaving is missing from the drivers seat on the back of the seat.

I am currently working on restoring the original engine for later use, currently I have a 350 with a 6barrel carburetor and a 6 speed manual transmission, I have the original transmission put away for later use also.

General Comments:

The car handles excellent.

It has power steering.

Air conditioner and the heater work excellent.

Front seat is very roomy, the back seat is very comfortable but could use a little more leg space.

It is black with white flames and black-light ground effects.

It also has a double tail pipe system on it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th June, 2001

19th Jun 2005, 19:28

It's called dual exhaust.

1977 Chevrolet Nova Concours 305 V8 2 bbl from North America

Year of manufacture1977
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 305 V8 2 bbl Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired85000 miles
Most recent distance248000 miles
Previous carPlymouth Valiant

Summary:

A very good do it yourself car to learn on

Faults:

Carburettor is most common problem especially in Winter. Go through a carburettor about every 3 years. Even with the rebuilds, starting in cold weather is a challenge and can take anywhere from 2 minutes to an hour and a half, but it will start eventually without draining battery. The carburettor mechanisms tend to get stuck especially the butterfly valve so often you have to manual drop the high ideal.

Vacuum hoses tend to cause lot of problems associated with this too. Even with a gas filter the jets do get clogged.

General Comments:

Parts and labour tend to be low as well as maintenance, but the oil filter is a tough one to get at for changing, most other parts and filters are very easy to change.

The high costs for this vehicle is fuel, it gets about 16-18 miles per gallon. I have driven this car cross country and back with very few problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st October, 2000

25th Oct 2001, 13:33

"... the oil filter is a tough one to get at for changing..."

You must have headers instead of the original exhaust manifolds. The oil filter on my '77 Nova (also with a 305 V8) is very easy to get at.

24th Oct 2003, 02:32

Have a 1975 Nova with In-line 250 six cylinder. Can anybody tell me where I can find vacuum hose diagram? I looked under the hood. It is not there. Please help. Yourfriend8@Lycos.com.

1977 Chevrolet Nova Sedan 5.0L 305c.i. from North America

Year of manufacture1977
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 5.0L 305c.i. Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired29145 miles
Most recent distance48015 miles
Previous carToyota Pickup

Summary:

High performance X-body

Faults:

Nothing whatsoever, besides normal wear and tear.

General Comments:

Most reliable car I've ever owned, parts are cheap and overflowing at every outlet.

FAAAAAAAAAASSSST!

Will be a classic body style, soon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th September, 2000

1977 Chevrolet Nova Concurs SB 350 w/5.7 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1977
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission SB 350 w/5.7 liter Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance124000 miles

Summary:

A good everyday sleeper and at a great price

Faults:

Had to replace the 4bbl carb, but that is it.

General Comments:

Runs better then a fuel injected car, but it only gets 8mpg. And only paid $2,700 (but $300 for a new carb).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th May, 2000

Average review marks: 8.6 / 10, based on 9 reviews