2005 Chevrolet Optra Reviews - Page 5 of 8

2005 Chevrolet Optra 1.8 from Malaysia

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance61000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Proton Wira

Faults:

One issue with the car right now... wheezing noise which gets louder as the car goes faster (even on neutral or engine turned off). Checked with service center in Cheras and the guy (with 3 mechanics looking at it) said it was the front right tire bearings.. WRONG! And then he wanted to change the left after charging me over rm200.. took it to another service center and this guy says it's the gearbox and just to check it will cost me rm1200... sigh.. now I'm beginning to regret buying an Optra.

General Comments:

It's comfortable, but the after sales service has to be improved tremendously.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th December, 2007

2005 Chevrolet Optra LT 1.8 from Malaysia

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance465 miles
Previous carChevrolet Optra

Summary:

All OK except the consumption is high

General Comments:

I just recently purchased this care and was promised that it will be fitted with a "Blaupunt" 5 CD changer player, but I was given a Kentwood, 1 CD player.

There is a button to control the volume etc... from the steering, but apparently it is not working.

I have told this to the salesman and he told me to write in.

As for the rubber along the windows and on top, it is worn out. In addition, the wipers too.

The speaker near the windows are also not working.

I just pray and hope that the above will be looked into by those concern.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th May, 2007

2005 Chevrolet Optra 1.8 from Malaysia

Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Distance when acquired50 kilometres
Most recent distance41000 kilometres
Previous carProton Wira

Faults:

Alarm goes off without anything triggering it, so I can't set the alarm anymore. Manual locking is the only option.

Jerks when shifting from N to D.

General Comments:

Spacious.

Minimal cabin noise.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th March, 2007

30th Dec 2007, 22:29

The alarm going off has a simple fix... there is a device in the bonnet that must be cleaned with a solution and you are done. You can do this at any service centre.

21st Apr 2008, 01:48

Chevrolet Optra 1.8 - Overall it's good, but how to stop the alarm if it is triggered? And say if the remote control is not functioning any more?

2005 Chevrolet Optra 5 2.0 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired64 kilometres
Most recent distance15962 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Sunbird

Summary:

A good buy

General Comments:

As a whole, I am very satisfied with the Optra5. I've found it to be reliable, even when leaving it unplugged overnight at -40C.

One item of question is the automatic transmission: the residential speed limit in Canada is 50 km/h; the Optra 5 shifts into 2nd gear at about the same point - so trying to keep that speed results in choppy and almost constant up-an-down shifting. The only way I've been able to bypass this issue is by trying to keep an average speed of 52 km/h.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th March, 2007

8th Mar 2007, 17:29

Isn't this car really a Daewoo product?

2005 Chevrolet Optra SE 1.6 from Greece

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance4242 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Astra

Summary:

Great deal of money and value!

General Comments:

Nothing went wrong with the car, it is great. I chose it for my first car and I am satisfied so far. I have never faced problems like these mentioned above; the engine works perfectly and I feel the difference day by day when I am stepping on the gas as it was tight in the beginning. I think problems like these can be found in every brand, and as my friends say, "It happens!"

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th February, 2007

2005 Chevrolet Optra LS 2.0L DOHC from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.0L DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired50 kilometres
Most recent distance45000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta Wolfsburg

Summary:

Counter the 'Hype:' I'd go for another Optra!

Faults:

Shortly after buying this car, we took it on a long trip. Travelling at thoroughfare speed, against the wind, the hood shook alarmingly. We stopped to check that everything was tight and in place then continued with a prayer. We had no problem, once adjusted to this movement and have had no other related difficulty.

At about 10,000km, while we were on holidays in a city far from home, the engine light came on and the car stalled at an intersection. We were able to park it long enough to cool then drive it home. Peter Smith, our dealer in Belleville, Ontario, Canada, replaced a computer chip, under warranty and we've had no trouble with it since.

General Comments:

Our children are grown, but we frequently carry older in-laws. They find the back seat comfortable and easy to access.

Both my wife & I utilize cruise control functions located on the steering wheel, but had to be instructed on location of 'on/off' button, further back, toward steering column. Rarely use audio controls on steering wheel, as they're no more convenient that radio-mounted buttons.

Over-all economy is good, about the same as '98 Wolfsburg (5sp. standard) we owned previously...and Optra parts are much, much cheaper!

On-ramp acceleration requires a heavy foot or patience, but cruisability, once up to speed, is fine. Steering in slippery conditions is at least as predictable as the Jetta and suspension produces improved ride characteristics.

We added hood shield and body-tone painted side window awnings for convenience. In a glut of similar silhouetted vehicles, have had lots of comments on sleek lines and good looks.

Pleased with roomy trunk for such a small car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd January, 2007

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 25 reviews