2005 Chevrolet Optra 1.6A from Malaysia


Smooth running, but bad aftersales & service


Engine suddenly stops while driving. When taken to Chevrolet service centre, couldn't rectify the problem.

General Comments:

Very bad after sales & service. Don't know if this mechanics has knowledge of rectifying the problem. I don't think so they are trained too. They keep guessing things! What a shame! Then why sell or market Chevrolet!

No need for service centres when they just can't rectify problems!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st October, 2010

2005 Chevrolet Optra LS 2.0L twin cam from North America


Imported engine, slammed onto an American chassis. No integration between them


EGR valve coolant gasket blown at 50,900K. Replaced under warranty.

Oil pump spline seal blew at 80,000 K, replaced under warranty. Also required new timing belt due to oil damage.

Factory recall for electrical issues behind dash causing melted harness.

Door handle on drivers door broke, plastic snapped off.

Now we have gasoline odor in the coolant reservoir.

HEAD GASKET! $1000 to fix!!!

General Comments:

This car is poorly designed, has very expensive parts aftermarket.

Nothing but powertrain issues, you can't even check the transmission fluid levels (sealed unit as the dealer calls it!!)

Coolant gaskets are blowing all over the engine, there is NO aftermarket repair manual.

Checked into fuel filter pricing - PUMP/FILTER is one unit! Replacement cost = $700 (for the whole in-tank fuel pump)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd March, 2010

16th Mar 2010, 22:55

I feel your pain. I will never buy an Optra again! My head gaskets are gone now too and they are telling me there is a 50/50 chance my cylinder head is shot as well. I've had nothing but issues with it since I got it 4 years ago.

11th Oct 2010, 19:37

I also agree. Had the DRL recall fixed at the dealer and they stopped working again. Now no interior lights work either.

Had the transmission changed under warranty, door lock solenoid has to be changed, and now I have the head gasket to do. Luckily I am able to do certain things on the vehicle myself, but still a poorly designed car for our seasons. Unfortunately, GM has lost yet another client.

10th Feb 2012, 21:00

It's basically a Korean car sold here as a Chevy...

2005 Chevrolet Optra LS DOHC 16v from Saudi Arabia


It will last if you maintain it properly. Can compete with Civic, Ford Taurus and Toyota Corolla


The car's air conditioning broke down at 27,000 miles. Good to know it was still under warranty, and had it replaced brand new.

General Comments:

I have lived with it for 4 years. I have maintained it from the dealer itself with my scheduled maintenance booklet up until the warranty coverage, and it's still running well.

However, the 4 shock absorbers had to be replaced after 75,000 miles, which I have purchased brand new.

Dashboard is useless for a wife, who always brings her pack of tissues and paraphernalia. Other than that, the interior compartment is usable. Very roomy and comfortable with kids.

I travel on freeway daily, rushing not less than 140,000 kph on a fast lane, and I don't experience any hassles., smooth like a wind. Brake system is magnificent coz I had experience a sudden stop running at the top speed of 120,000 kph... whew.. close to death..

Spare parts are always available at a good reasonable price.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd December, 2009

2005 Chevrolet Optra 5 from North America


Could be a lot better


Gas consumption is bad.

My front struts both seized.

Engine has a rattle sound.

Front rotors keep warping every couple of weeks.

General Comments:

This car drives nice and handles nice, but is very hard on the brakes. This car should not be used for commuting, and also it's bad on gas.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th November, 2008

2005 Chevrolet Optra 1.6 from Malaysia


Do not buy it


- 1st year I got the car I only serviced and repaired at Chevrolet service center. They charge expensive and never solved any of the problems, even if the car was still under warranty.

- One plastic part was came of at the tip of dashboard 1st week I got the brand new car. Seems to be fixable since it's still in warranty period. Unfortunately the dealer fail to fix it.

- Lots of wiring problems since I got it first hand in May 2005.

- Alarm went crazy after 30,000km.

- All reading lights not working after 5000km. Change the bulb few times but it's not working permanently after a year I own the car.

- Front light bulb has to be change frequent after 3,000km. The standard bulb I replace at service center is too expensive. At last I replaced a with cheaper Bosch bulb from cheap car spare part shop myself, and never had problem on the front bulb issue ever since.

- Manufacturer should give dry cell battery as standard instead normal battery.

- At 60,000km the car had engine oil leakage.

- Extremely expensive spare parts, timing belt, baring, brake pad, every single part is expensive to replace. My advice, do not go to the dealer or service center if you want to buy parts but get it yourself from spare part shop and fix it at some other workshop. The Chevrolet service center will only bring worst damage to your car.

- Bad after sales service by dealer. Seems they don't know anything about the car. They just don't care.

- Low 2nd hand value.

General Comments:

This is a comfy car. I love riding it. It feels like an expensive car when cruising. A spacious car too.

If not due to bad after sales service, expensive spare parts and unreliability of its parts, this car would have been great experience for me. Petrol consumption is high. I wish I can get rid of this car as soon as possible, it's a total loss, but cannot do much because 2nd hand value is so bad. I should get a Toyota or Honda instead.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th April, 2008

17th Dec 2008, 22:16

Just to let you know I have a Honda Accord 2002 with only 125,000 km, I have spent soo much money repairing this car in the lat year you would not believe!

I now bought a second hand Chevrolet Optra 2005 for a wholesale price with only 44,000 km certified by GM.

This Honda Accord would slip vigorously forward and backward, I would press on the accelerator and it would not accelerate at all, but the rpm would be increasing. Same when driving at 70 km, it would downshift for no reason to 30 km in two seconds, talk about scary! It turned out that the coil of something had to be changed, wasn't letting gas reach the engine or something, all I know it costeme $1000 with parts and labour.

Now my alternator had to be changed for $600 and guess what, my transmission is going in the next year max, another $2000!

So I am sorry to say but my $28,000 best Japanese car on the market was totally a waste of money especially for that mileage and I am original owner, and took care of my car!

So whoever wants to dish American cars and say Japanese are better, honestly it all works out to the same in the end. I paid soo much to buy the nice and 'amazing car' and spent a lot in repairs at a mileage soo low!