1989 Chevrolet S-10 Reviews - Page 2 of 4

1989 Chevrolet S-10 Blazer 262 4.3 from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 262 4.3 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance180000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

Very reliable and even more comfortable

Faults:

Gas tank developed a leak at 130k miles.

Alternator went out at 140k miles.

Water pump leaked at 135k miles.

Grease fitting went bad in the rear end.

Drivers seat showing its age.

Passenger side door leaks every time it rains.

Engine has began to burn oil.

General Comments:

I am very pleased with this little truck. It is a two door two wheel drive model. With the 4.3, 700R4 trans, and 3.08 gears I get on average 25 miles per gallon. On the highway cruising at 65 I see as much as 30 miles per gallon. When I bought the truck the engine only had around 30k miles, after six years it is still ultra reliable, and very strong. The bucket seats are very comfortable although the drivers side is showing considerable wear. The carpet and every other seat still look brand new. I bought the truck to put a Chevrolet small block in, but the 262 (4.3) has been so reliable I can't bring myself to pull it. I have noticed that it has started using about a quart of oil every 3000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th May, 2006

1989 Chevrolet S-10 2.4 4 cylinder from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.4 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired89000 miles
Most recent distance247000 miles
Previous carBuick Cutlass

Summary:

One tough, dependable little truck!

Faults:

After we first purchased the truck used, we spent roughly $1000 on repairs. It needed a new fuel injector, full tune up, fuel pump and a new Electronic Control Module. Since then all that has been done is one tune-up, a fuel filter, air filter a few times, brakes once and of course tires once or twice. And this is over a 6 year period and over 150,00 miles of driving.

General Comments:

This truck is indestructible. I have literally driven it in to the ground putting over 120 miles on it daily and it still wants more!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd March, 2006

1989 Chevrolet S-10 4.3 V6 from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.3 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired23 miles
Most recent distance147000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

This is one reliable truck

Faults:

Paint peeled, twice.

Heater went out after 13 years.

Battery lasted nine years.

Normal wear and tear.

General Comments:

This is a nice, small truck that I can rely on to start and take me to work daily. The 4.3 V-6 has plenty of power, even after 140,000 miles I can put 28 bales of hay in the back and go.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th November, 2005

1989 Chevrolet S-10 2.5L Gasoline from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.5L Gasoline Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired270351 miles
Most recent distance284538 miles
Previous carGMC S-10

Summary:

It's a trusty rusty truck

Faults:

The fuel pump went out about 280000 miles, have not fixed it yet, but it still runs and starts. No other problems.

General Comments:

Very fast acceleration. It gets shakey around 90 mph.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th March, 2005

1989 Chevrolet S-10 Basic Model 2.5 Liter Manual from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.5 Liter Manual Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired114695 miles
Most recent distance116222 miles

Summary:

Takes a licking, but keeps on kicking.

Faults:

Original exhaust fell off two months after I purchased it.

Both rear tail lights were replaced.

The Thermostat was replaced.

The headlight switch was replaced.

The left blinker stays on, but does not blink until you turn it on.

Replaced the battery.

Clutch went out 115,000 miles.

General Comments:

Good gas mileage if you don't run it hard.

This truck has had its problems, but I would buy another in a heartbeat.

Very comfortable small truck, handles a 6 foot 3 330 pound man good!

I put Pioneer 52 watt by 4 CD/MP3/CDR/CRW deck in it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th February, 2005

1989 Chevrolet S-10 tahoe 4.3 V6 from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.3 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired135000 miles
Most recent distance148000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

I will never own anything else

Faults:

The water pump went out around 140000 miles.

The alternator went out around 142000 miles.

The passenger side manifold has a broke bolt and leaks.

The bed is rusted out and is being held up by a 2X4 block of wood.

General Comments:

This truck has more power then the back tires can handle.

It handles great for a older truck.

I pull a 4300 pound trailer with it and have only one problem...stoping.

I drive this truck like I hate it and it holds up very well.

The air conditioning even works.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd October, 2004

1989 Chevrolet S-10 Blazer Tahoe 4.3 TBI from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.3 TBI Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired126000 miles
Most recent distance251000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Solid, reliable performer!!!

Faults:

Nothing major has gone in the years I have owned this wonderful truck! Just the usual for S-10 Blazers.

Oil Pressure sending unit ($15)

Lower ball joints ($150)

Transfer case vacuum switch ($15)

Oil filter hoses ($75)

Tires ($600)

General Comments:

In the 4 years I have owned this vehicle it has been a pleasure to drive and very reliable. I have put a lot of miles on it and it it runs excellent.

The 4x4 is very good in the snow and after putting on some good aggressive tires it is capable of anything.

I do routine maintenance on this truck and it shows in its performance. Also parts are easy to fix and availability is never an issue.

The interior has held up very good over the years and is still stylish. The seats are more comfortable than my lazy-boy chair and are just starting to show signs of wear.

The body is starting to rust a little, but I will take care of that before it goes any farther.

I highly recommend this truck to anyone who is looking for a reliable 4x4. I do prefer the square body style and would buy another one without hesitation.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th August, 2004

14th Sep 2004, 10:22

I must also concur with the individual who is selling the blazer. I also own one and it is a superb vehicle. The only problem I have with this vehicle, is the fact that the motor is stuffed into a tiny hole. I recently rebuilt the motor out of mine and that is the only real problem that I have with the vehicle, very small spaces. However just the average Joe can enjoy this vehicle, along with it's 4x4 capabilities.

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 19 reviews