1996 Chevrolet S-10 Reviews - Page 4 of 4

1996 Chevrolet S-10 LS 2.2L 4 Cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.2L 4 Cylinder Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired66343 miles
Most recent distance67376 miles

Summary:

A good project for beginners

Faults:

Passenger side mirror fell off.

Dents in the tailgate.

Scratches on front air dam.

Small hole on driver's side seat.

Emergency flashers button broke, and had to replace the whole steering column.

Had to replace clutch.

General Comments:

Good stereo.

Alloy wheels.

Bucket seats.

No center console.

High performance for a 4 cylinder.

Working on fully customizing it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th October, 2002

17th Nov 2002, 01:56

I have on comment. It sounds to me like your p/u truck has been treated pretty rough, because scratches on the body and holes in the seats doesn't really have anything to do with the make of the vehicle. All of that depends on how well the vehicle is treated!

NOV 18th 2002

2:56.

1996 Chevrolet S-10 LS 4.3 L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 4.3 L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance87000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Beetle

Summary:

Great price, great truck

Faults:

Minor problems with the braking system.

Rear window replaced twice for leaks.

Headliner replaced because of the rear window leaking.

Replaced the driver's window motor and switch.

Stock battery only lasted one year.

General Comments:

Great on and off road.

Handles exceptionally well in snow.

Many after-market accessories available to make the truck look one of a kind.

Acceleration: 0-60 no problem.

Too much power for a teenager!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th August, 2001

1996 Chevrolet S-10 2.2 Liter from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1997
Engine and transmission 2.2 Liter Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.2 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance173000 miles
Previous carChevrolet S-10

Summary:

The S-10... King of Lemons

Faults:

Around 20k miles the window seal leaked water into the door causing an electric motor on the passenger side to short.

Around 38K miles the u-joints were replaced.

Around 40k the turn signaler blows fuses when used. I tell dealer about the problem... charged $55 to replace a fuse, not solve the wiring problem.

Around 70k miles all shocks needed to be replaced.

Around 90k miles the fuel pump goes out leaving me stranded on the highway.

Around 90k the u-joints were replaced.

Around 120k miles the 5 speed tranny was replaced.

Around 125k miles the clutch was replaced along with the fuel pump which stranded me on the highway again.

Around 126k miles the fuel sending unit went bad. Third fuel pump installed.

Around 145k miles the u-joints were replaced.

Shocks are destroyed again. Too cheap to replace them.

Around 166k miles the head gasket was replaced.

Around 169k miles, loosing around 10 psi oil pressure as I drive. Suspect the main bearings are going bad.

173,000 miles, oil pressure keeps going down, @ 40psi now, not 60 psi, which was the norm. Changed from 10w-30 to 10w-50. Problem fixed... lets hope the snow doesn't catch up to me this year!

General Comments:

I will never...eeeevvver, buy another S-10 or Chevy for this matter for my entire life. GM seem to be in the parts business, not the automobile business. I learned early on that its best to do the work yourself and save money by not paying the +55 dollars an hour they charge to work on your vehicle. I went to three dealerships to have a service done on my truck, and all three botched something... forgot why my truck was there to have a service done, another said I needed parts ordered which they did while the parts dept. in their dealership were saving them under my name and could not release them to the mechanic to perform work, and a dealership that charged me $55 to replace a fuse I knew to be blown, and not replace the turn signaler.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th July, 2001

15th Jul 2001, 04:16

It's a high mileage car! > "What do you expect?".

26th Aug 2001, 11:11

If it's so bad, how come you've had it so long?

Your first problem was at 20,000 miles, now you still own it with more than 125,000 miles. Why haven't you got rid of it?

26th Sep 2001, 00:43

I agree with you totally, I have one of my own and have spent $5000 in repairs. U-joints, cooling fan, tranmission, torque converter, A/C, head gaskets, and so on... The worst vehicle I have ever owned, not to mention this had all happened in the course of 37,000 miles! Shame on Chevy for making such an unreliable vehicle.

1996 Chevrolet S-10 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission V6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance35000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Galant

Summary:

An excellent buy, and a great truck

Faults:

I have not had the truck very long, but I am very pleased with it's performance.

I bought my truck used and it runs like new. Overall I do not have any complaints.

General Comments:

This is a great truck and I highly recommend it to anyone. If you're in the market for a compact truck that packs a little punch, this is your truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd May, 2001

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 18 reviews