2001 Chevrolet S-10 LS ZR2 4.3L from North America


This is a very poorly engineered vehicle


The E-Brake has never functioned properly since purchase.

Generator replaced.

Battery replaced.

Hood latches replaced.

Ball joints replaced at 12,000 miles.

Third door handle replaced.

Exhaust system replaced.

Rotors replaced (Not at dealer).

Ball joints (upper & lower) replaced at 39,000 miles.

Front hub replaced 39,000 miles.

Distributor cap and rotor replaced.

Oxygen sensor replaced.

Electrical problem with taillights.

I'm sure I'm forgetting a few others.

General Comments:

Thank god for a warranty and extended warranties.

One problem after another.

Waiting for "common" GM problems to arise like the seat levers and possible fuel injection troubles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th November, 2004

24th Sep 2005, 21:13

I have the 2000 S-10 LS ZR-2 and have had almost the same problems. Clutch and master cylinder replaced at 60K, alternator, a/c, intake manifold gasket, air doesn't move between floor and defrost when selected, 3rd door handle replaced 3 times, driver's side seat recline lever, (and now the passenger side), driver's side window motor, lights on the radio (station presets 1,2,4,5), upper and lower control arm bushings, and I also now have another popping noise coming from up front somewhere.

I really like this truck, but am absolutely fed up with this and that going wrong all the time. Chevy needs to get their act together before they lose all their business to Ford.

21st May 2009, 16:07

I have a 2001 S-10 LS ZR2, and I have encountered a lot of the same problems.

Control arms replaced, seat levers broke, 3rd door handle broke and just recently the fuel pump. Other than all those things, the truck runs fine and the four wheel drive works really great.

7th Sep 2009, 00:27

00 zr2, I have a clanking noise from the front end.

3rd door doesn't work, broke the handle because I didn't know the upper and lower latches had failed.

The little bar thing that the upper latch on the door grabs on to broke in half randomly. But really other than that it's a nice truck.

But I replaced all of the ball joints, so if anybody has the clanking noise up front and knows what it is, let me know. I have heard that a lot of Zr2 owners have this.

2001 Chevrolet S-10 4.7 from North America




The transmission. I have movement in all gears except reverse. There is a whirring sound coming from the transmission. I checked the fluid level was low, but corrected that. Still no reverse. Uses a lot of gas also.

General Comments:

A good roomy vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st October, 2004

2001 Chevrolet S-10 LS Extended Cab 4WD 4.3L from North America


Great truck for your buck


So far the only thing that has gone wrong is the donut spacer between the manifold and the catalytic converter leaks.

General Comments:

A great truck. I have hauled 2200 lbs. in the bed. Its rated for 1345 lbs. I have towed many cars, pulled out stumps and pulled at least 20 cars and trucks (full size too) out of the snow. Great for off roading although it has a low ground clearance. Only got stuck once, in two feet of wet snow while off roading. It handles better then you would think for a truck. And has good power. Everyone's your friend because they need something moved. I've helped countless people move all kinds of stuff. Good looks in and out.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th September, 2004

2001 Chevrolet S-10 LS Extendend Cab Vortec 3.4L V6 from North America


The little truck comes in handy, was a good value, but doesn't hold it's value


I drove my brand new truck home from the dealer in the rain. The next morning the floor of the cab was soaked because of rain leaking through the door seal. The dealer attempted to fix this problem three times (three separate soakings). On the third time they stopped the leaking by applying black foam tape to the door frame.

The battery died at 15,000 miles and was replaced by the dealer.

General Comments:

Except for the water leaking into the cab right after I purchased the truck, it's been fairly reliable. I don't put much mileage on it though.

My only complaint is the poor handling. The tires squeal some when going around corners (even slowly). It could be the alignment, but it's done this since I purchased it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th August, 2004

23rd Oct 2005, 18:32

I have a 1999 S-10 Ext. Cab and until I bought new tires, I continually had the squealing. It's just the cheap tires they throw on them at the factory.

16th Mar 2007, 01:21

I agree, I bought new tires and the problem stopped, I do have a twisted seat belt I can't seem to fix and the third rear door rattles at times. Not a bad truck by far!