2003 Chevrolet S-10 Crew Cab from North America - Comments

15th Sep 2004, 04:49

I had a 4.3 liter and it was a great motor, i highly suggest getting one.

8th Dec 2004, 07:42

The 4.3 Vortec V6 in my Blazer is a quiet motor. It runs very smooth. My brother has the same motor in a fullsize Chev Pickup and has over 250K on the motor and it runs excellent. I would recommend the 4.3 Vortec V6.

30th Apr 2005, 19:35

I have a 2003 S-10 with the 4.3. This engine has been awesome. I pull a 4000lb boat with no problem. I'm not sure where the complaints are coming from??

25th Jun 2005, 10:58

The 4.3 Vortec engine in my 1988 Astro Van a gasket and cracked the block because antifreeze leaked in at 72,000 miles. I replaced it with a Jasper engine and sold it after 42,000 more miles. The original engine ran OK until the gasket problem.

23rd Sep 2005, 23:10

Rattles, squeaks and noises on a 2003 Chevrolet? Stop your wining, it's a truck! Maybe you should drive a Volkswagen wearing a set of pink ear muffs. Try riding in an older model truck, like a 1947 1.5Ton Chevrolet Dump with an 80Hp 235ci in line six.

25th Oct 2005, 10:34

The first 15000mi on this truck, before you owned it, could have been where you acquired these problems. Don't complain about a vehicle's problems if previous owners abused or neglected it.

26th Jul 2006, 20:56

I agree that the 4.3 is a piece of junk! Very noisy and terrible mileage! I had to sue GM to get my truck returned and now I own a Toyota. I will never buy another truck from an American company.

27th Jul 2006, 16:28

The 4.3 V6 is one of GM's better engines. The longer it exists in the market the more efficient it becomes. Now why they chopped a cylinder off to invent the 3.5 inline 5 is complete mystery to me. A decrease in power and no change in fuel economy was the result.

18th Aug 2006, 11:03

I just recently bought a 94 s10 with a newer vortec v6 in it. The engine sounded completely sound when I got the truck, But I just recently started having problem after problem, cooling problems, I just had it completely break down... The engine only has 104K miles. And me (a 16 year old) is constantly putting money into it.

18th Nov 2006, 17:06

I bought a 03 zr5 S10 pick up and it is a huge piece of junk! It is laterally vibrating itself to pieces. It is because of the horrible quality of American built cars that has forced me to buy a Nissan.

GM does not stand behind their products and their warranty coverage is a joke. What is the use of a warranty if GM keeps telling its customers that the "noises" are normal or don’t pose longevity concern so they won’t fix them.

If anyone wants an example of why Asian companies are kicking our butts in the car market and why no one in American wants American cars, just look at the postings on this web site about how poor the quality of American made cars are especially GM products.

I have had my Nissan for 3 years now and not one time have I had to take it back for warranty service.

13th Feb 2007, 12:04

I bought a 2003 S 10 Crew Cab 3 months ago with 31,000 miles on it. I just had to get the intake manifold gasket replaced (sucking antifreeze). I had the same problem with the '96 Blazer (same engine) I traded in. You would think that after 7 years (!) that GM would have gotten the gasket problem fixed!!! My next truck is going to be a Toyota (sorry American workers). I've tried to be loyal, but I'm tired of getting junk.

13th Feb 2007, 12:44

Why are you sorry to American workers? Toyota trucks employ Americans at all levels of manufacturing.

1st Jun 2007, 09:26

OK, first of all I have a 1998 blazer with 119K on it. Quiet as hell. Second these 4.3's are just about bulletproof, they run great and last forever. But ya quit your winning you baby, it's a truck. its not gonna ride or sound like a cadillac. the only thing I've seen is the oil cooler lines leak after like 125K. but if you treat them well that engine will last you forever and shouldn't make any noise.

25th Aug 2007, 20:25

You know, there's a reason those japanese trucks have 100,000 mile warranties, remember that. The 4.3 will eat any 6 cylinder on the market today.

13th Jan 2008, 08:09

You can read right thru some of the complaints. I have a 2003 S10 extended cab 4X4 and could not be happier. 60000 miles and has been flawless. 4.3 is a power house for 6 banger.

16th Feb 2008, 09:47

I think the 4.3 is awesome; a benchmark motor. I work in construction, and tradesman with vans cried when they stopped the Astro. I have owned an S-10 myself; never a problem.

Also one thing no one has mentioned is the super bullet proof automatic transmission that came in these trucks. I don't think any one can touch GM when it comes to transmissions. THe 2500 3500 come with Allison nuff said!!!

31st Jul 2008, 19:28

Buy a Cadillac. The 4.3 is one of the most solid bulletproof motors on the planet... Bottom line. NOISE!!! It's a truck man come on. I think that motor has stayed generally the same for almost 20 years, that's gotta count for something.

3rd Feb 2009, 18:18

I also have a 03 Chevy S10 4x4 crew cab. Tight now it has 110,000kms, the truck has never been hard used, always taken care of, but I have had nothing but trouble.

Wheel bearings, ball joints, rear end seals, catalytic converters, and much more.

Now it is parked, maybe for good. I put it in the garage for rough idling and blowing black smoke out of the exhaust. They can't seem to pin point the problem.

I always was a Chevy man, but I know this is the last one for me. If anyone has had this problem, could you please e mail me at ab.lam@hotmail.com.

I have tried everything to get it fixed.

18th Aug 2009, 20:16

I purchased a 03 Chev S10 4X4 crew cab in 2006. It had 44,500 kms on it. It ran quietly and I was very pleased with it. I did regular oil changes on it. It now has 82,000 kms on it and the engine seized!! Has anyone else had this experience with their S10?

6th Feb 2010, 12:43

I bought a 01 S10 Crew Cab... after a short time of having it, my 4x4 went out, and my intake gasket is going out. The fact that the ones in the newer 4.3's are plastic is a joke.

My motor started ticking, and would get louder when accelerating. I will never have another Chevy because it's not just the 4.3. The Duramax is worse. They have a huge injector problem. I had to put a new engine in my dad's 03, and my buddy's blew up.

My next truck will be a Toyota, the frame rusts before the engine or tranny go.

To the people reading this, don't buy a 4.3.

13th Apr 2010, 00:38

1. Let's start with the loud transmission and loud clunky noise in between gears.

2. Loud wind noises from door hinges because of sagging doors and leaks in the rain.

3. 3rd door hand hinge broke, and was advised by dealer it was a repeated issue.

4. The neck on the fuel tank doesn't always want to accept gas.

5. Rubber seal on the gas cap easily breaks, letting in too much air, and causing the check engine light to go on.

6. Hot air on the floor from outside air when vents and heat off.

7. Spare tire fell off while driving in a parking lot.

8. FAN CLUTCH! Fan became detached from the bark that is pressed against pulley.. Fan fell off while driving home from school.

I have only had my truck for 3 years, and it has 75k, and I bought the truck at 50k...

The truck started out to be a good truck when I didn't drive it that often, but now it has so many unexpected issues I'm extremely disappointed in Chevy.. the 2.2 liter is embarrassing.. I honestly feel that Suzuki makes way better cars...

I had a 2000 Suzuki Esteem 1.8 liter and pushed it to 175 thousand miles before I decided to sell it... the car is still running stronger than ever.