2003 Chevrolet Silverado Reviews - Page 3 of 6

2003 Chevrolet Silverado LS Z71 5.3 litre from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 5.3 litre Don't Know
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

Best vehicle money can buy whether you are into four wheeling, street racing, or a daily driver

Faults:

The only thing that has gone wrong with this truck is the front passenger wheel bearing needed replaced. which is from normal wear and tear.

General Comments:

This is the best vehicle I could have ever owned.

Very Fast.

Comfortable interior and easy driving.

4x4 works great on these trucks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th June, 2007

2003 Chevrolet Silverado LS Z71 V8 5.3L from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission V8 5.3L Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carFord Truck

Summary:

Knows its way back to the dealership

Faults:

Metal on metal rubbing problem when in reverse and wheel turned to right since day one. Dealer replaces everything in front end and steering. Did not solve problem and it still is happening. I was told they don't know what to do next. Windshield replaced as it came out of repair shop broken. Radio shorted out at 500 miles was replaced. 1200 miles had to have passenger side electric window motor replaced. 25000 driver side electrical seat needed motor replaced. 37000 miles windshield wipers don't shut off-not under warranty-replacement of switch $432.00. 41,000 both headlights burn out-replaced $$. 46,000 brakes replaced. 57,000 heater blower/fan not shutting off-not under warranty-haven't saved enough to get it fixed yet! Struggling farm family who really needs a working dependable truck! It is 37 miles one way for me to the dealership.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th February, 2007

9th Feb 2007, 19:24

I have one suggestion for you...Hilux!

Why do you Americans put up with these huge monstrosities, when a Japanese truck will do the same job?

9th Feb 2007, 21:04

Isn't the Hilux popular in Europe? And isn't that the one that has the horribly slow and underpowered diesel? Sorry, but that just won't work in America. The Chevy Silverado is 10x better.

10th Feb 2007, 14:12

Ha ha ha ha ha!! Oh, brother! I hardly know where to start on that comment! A Japanese truck will do the same job --- how about "No".

5th Jan 2008, 21:39

Also, real men don't drive Japanese Trucks. They also don't drive dressed up Denali's! Guys, your giving to little credit to the wrong truck. Look at GM's GMC Sierra Denali, or ANY japanese truck out there.

12th Jan 2009, 19:33

I don't mean to troll, but if the original poster is looking for a dependable farm truck, maybe a Ford might fit the bill better than a Chevrolet.

21st Feb 2010, 10:11

To the above comment that Japanese trucks do the same... actually they don't do the same; I figured that one out the hard way, pulling a 13k lb. tractor up a hill. It got stuck at the top, and started rolling backwards.. it was an Isuzu, one of the best Japanese work trucks.. so I replaced it with a 2003 Chevy Silverado, and never been happier. Does better than my Ford, way better. And my Dodge with the Cummins gives it a run for its money, though it's a close match.

2003 Chevrolet Silverado LS 4.8 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.8 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance37000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Silverado

Summary:

OK

General Comments:

My Chevy LS extended cab 4x4 with Z71 package experienced several of the comments posted on this site. I had the rear differential issue and GM used a "grease pack" of something in the differential to help the problem. The 4 wheel light came on and GM repaired. I also had a noisy steering column that was repaired by injecting grease into it as I understood the service writer. Why don't service departments allow the owner of a vehicle to speak directly to the mechanic? I also have issues with the wind noise. GM told me it is the mirror and I should get used to it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th March, 2006

14th Jun 2006, 12:09

I do have a wind noise issue on my 2003 Silverado. Mine is coming from the passenger side view mirror. The way I have to position it makes the top ride lip of the mirror come closest to the edge of the plastic mirror covering, I think just causing some "air catching" resulting in wind noise.

9th Dec 2007, 10:05

At around 4000 kms, I had a wind noise coming from the right side of my truck as well. The dealer never repaired it as they could not find the problem. Being a technician myself, I decided the hell with the warranty, some things you have to repair yourself. After many trips down the highway, I found that the trim along the right side of the windshield at certain speeds would actually lift off the windshield. I had removed the trim and applied double sided 3M trim adhesive, and reinstalled the trim piece. Never heard the noise again.

After 70000 kms, the drivers side trim requires the same thing done. The noise I had was like someone tapping on the glass almost, but at a frequency rate quite fast. I first thought it was the mirror too, not!!

Other than that I am working on the braking problem on the back end, Still in the testing stage!!

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 21 reviews