2004 Chevrolet Silverado Reviews - Page 3 of 4

2004 Chevrolet Silverado LS 5.3 liter V8 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 5.3 liter V8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired42000 miles
Most recent distance73000 miles

Summary:

Awesome, reliable and FAST!

Faults:

Nothing that wasn't my fault (i.e. flat tire).

General Comments:

I love the truck and will never sell it. When it's paid off it will be my hot rod. Chevy makes the best vehicles known to man.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th November, 2008

20th Jul 2009, 13:08

Exactly handed down to man by God!! I own a 1999 and it is by far the best and the most reliable. Heat won't do anything to engine, and it runs like a sports car with its amazing V8 5.3.

3rd Mar 2010, 06:10

I own a 2004 Chevy regular cab short box stepside with the 5.3 litre engine. I can't believe how much power this truck has. All I put in it is a K n N filter. I live in Winnipeg Canada; temperatures in winter reach minus 40 or colder at times, but my Chevy has had no problems in it.

I must say I sure love Chevy trucks; best truck ever.

2004 Chevrolet Silverado Z71 Ext Cab 5.3 Vortec from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 5.3 Vortec Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired17250 miles
Most recent distance49696 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

I have been driving Chevrolet Trucks, Blazers for almost 30 years, enough said

Faults:

Minor issues covered under warranty.

Replaced power steering pump due to slight leak.

General Comments:

Reliable truck. Plenty of power when needed.

I have had this truck in the mud and snow with the stock tires and had no problems at all.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th September, 2007

2004 Chevrolet Silverado Z71 5.3L Vortech from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 5.3L Vortech Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired24920 miles
Most recent distance30380 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Prix

Summary:

Silverado Z71 is a serious truck!

Faults:

I just can't think of one thing I can fault my '04 Silverado on. I start the truck and go to work every day with no fuss. I've only had the truck for a short time, but I just can't beat the reliability and the power of the 5.3 Litre Vortech.

General Comments:

In 4x4 the Z71 grips really well in snow as if on dry pavement and that's with the Bridgestone Dueler A/T tires.

When given extra throttle (mostly on accident) the tires break traction easily.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th May, 2007

2004 Chevrolet Silverado from Philippines

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Previous carToyota 4Runner

Summary:

Don't buy GM products

Faults:

No Spare parts available on the dealer, stuck brakes on my first year. Faulty alternator, aircon compressor stuck up.

General Comments:

Need to sell, but the resale value is tooooooo Low.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd November, 2006

22nd Nov 2006, 18:42

"Don't buy GM products"

- I hear you!

23rd Nov 2006, 12:58

The need for spare parts on a vehicle this new tells volumes about GM.

23rd Nov 2006, 15:58

Considering the amount of discounts available on the 2004 Silverado, the Kelly Bluebook resale value for it is a HIGHER perecentage of the purchase price than that shown for a typically priced Toyota. This review is NOT legit!!

2004 Chevrolet Silverado w/t 6.6 duramax from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 6.6 duramax Automatic
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance9100 miles
Previous carChevrolet Silverado

Summary:

Very pleased, Wire harness concerns me a lot

Faults:

Rear brake rotors replaced front rotors were machined. Heater blower wire harness burned up in passenger compartment. Filled compartment with smoke.

General Comments:

12mpg pulling 11,000lb 5th wheel trailer. 19 mpg when it is unloaded - fantastic. Strong as a ox.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th May, 2006

2004 Chevrolet Silverado W/T (work truck) 4.8 (294 cid) from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.8 (294 cid) Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance12246 miles
Previous carToyota Previa

Summary:

Time will tell if this truck is reliable

Faults:

The common intermediate steering shaft "rumble" has reared its ugly head. A redesigned shaft that is supposed to eliminate the noise will be installed via warranty in the near future.

Intermittent problem with heater/air conditioner. Selector will "stick" at times, preventing the air flow from moving, for example, from the cabin outlets to the defroster, etc.

Intermittent weirdness in the automatic transmission. From a stop the tranny will delay engaging, allowing forward or reverse movement, for several seconds. Worrisome is the noise and "feel" occurring inside the transmission before it allows the vehicle to move.

General Comments:

A long-bed 4x4 work truck model. $20,200 out the door. Manual windows and locks, vinyl interior, plain bench seat with no center console. Just a basic truck with a locker rear end, towing package and not much else.

So far, the critter goes from point A to destination B reliably, though I do have some worries about the transmission. Will be taking the beast in for warranty work this coming January 2006 when the dealer relocates to a new location much closer to my humble shanty.

Getting around 15 mpg in town by driving sensibly, and was surprised to get 20 mpg on the flat freeway going 65-70 mph.

The truck is comfortable to sit in even for long distance trips. Outside visibility is good. The driving position is fine for my 5' 10" height. The brakes work well and give good stopping control on dry or wet pavement. The ABS works as it should and testing it on icy pavement resulted in better stops than I obtained in vehicles without ABS.

On-road use only, thus limited use of 4x4 capability. Used, but a few times on snowy roads due to a lack of major snow storms. However, 4x4 does provide better "get moving" traction, especially on the local small hills. Winter tires and 300 pounds of sand over the rear axle provides decent winter road traction.

So far, no oil consumption or leakage from the engine. No other leaks to be seen from any components containing liquid.

The paint was not perfect, but the minor defects were not visible when inspecting it before buying. The white paint with a summer sun reflecting from it was blinding. Over time, under clouds, in the shade, looking closely while washing/waxing, numerous minor defects in the finish were observed. To me, not severe enough to warranty taking back to the dealer, but enough to make me reconsider buying another GMC product. If they are that lax regarding paint and finish quality, what other areas has the builder been lax in???

I have owned the truck for 16 months with no breakdowns. It starts well even on the sub-zero cold mornings. The engine warms up quickly. I have babied the truck, hoping to make it last 20 years or more. Maintenance intervals are exceeded. Watching the cooling system carefully to hopefully avoid the problems some folks have with the Dex-Cool-type coolant.

Hopefully the intermittent tranny problem will be an easy fix, that is, if the dealer can find the problem. At least I will have the problem on record if it shows up after the 3 year/30,000 mile warranty ends. Why can't GM extend this warranty? Aren't they believers in their own claims of how reliable their vehicles are?

I gave very serious thought to buying a Toyota truck, but am hoping to find work in a very rural small town where a good-old-fashioned Chevy truck is likelier to be repairable and parts easily obtained by the local mechanics.

Time will tell if I made a good decision in buying my first American vehicle in 30 years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th December, 2005

19th May 2007, 08:33

My 2004 Silverado 4x4 has numerous defects. For the past three years, taking the truck in for warranty work, I am regularly told "We cannot replicate the problem."

Three different dealers, same tired refrain.

It appears that diagnosing is a lost art or that the desire to save money by not repairing defects is at the forefront.

Truck left for days at a time... didn't help.

It appears that if a defect doesn't jump out and bite the mechanic on the nose then the words, "Cannot replicate," are so easily used.

Even the corporate representative was of no use. "Take it to the dealer for repair," was the corporate lackey's reply. "Gosh, that's worked well so far," I scarcastically replied.

I bought Chevy vice Toyota to assist the "home town team."

After my experiences trying to get defects corrected, experiencing the anti-customer attitudes at various levels of Chevy/GMC, from dealer to corporate level, I regret not having bought a Toyota.

I fear if too many people experience what I have that GMC is doomed to slide into the trash bin of history.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 17 reviews