2006 Chevrolet Silverado Reviews - Page 2 of 2

2006 Chevrolet Silverado 2500HD LT3 6.6L turbo diesel from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 6.6L turbo diesel Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired56 miles
Most recent distance27000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Silverado

Summary:

Best engine/transmission combo out there for moderate to heavy towing, Allison tranny is bombproof

Faults:

Nothing yet, truck is still relatively new.

General Comments:

Pulls like a freight train

Decent mileage for a truck that weighs over 7000lbs empty

17mpg in town / 19.5-20mpg highway

Allison 6 speed transmission and the technology that goes with it is incredible.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th September, 2008

28th Feb 2011, 14:27

Update Feb 2011:

Truck has approx 74k miles on it, and no major issues except for both front wheel/hub bearing assemblies had to be replaced in Nov 2010 at about 70k miles. One would think that an HD 3/4ton truck would not wear the hub bearings out that quickly, but from online forums/discussions, it does not appear to be all that unusual.

Truck developed a very strange vibration/hop in the front end at 55-60mph on various road surfaces. Ended up being the "slop" in the bearings. Of course they are "sealed" units with ABS speed sensors in them, so it's not a simple grease/repack. Not happy, and it set me back about a grand for parts and labor at my local mom/pop shop. Dealer wanted closer to $1300-1400.

Also, air bag front impact sensor went out this month and had to be replaced and the system "reset". Of course you cannot do that yourself, so an $85 part that I could buy from GMpartsdirect.com and plug/play myself to replace it, ends up costing nearly $350 by the time the shop can diagnose the problem, get the part, install the new part, and check/reset the system. I guess airbag and ABS, etc cannot be read/cleared by OBDII scan tool that any auto parts store will let you use.

All in all, very happy still. I do all fluids, filters, grease, etc. myself, and the truck has no issues except for the above.

8th Aug 2012, 16:36

Update Aug 8, 2012:

Around 95k on this truck now.

Do all general maintenance myself and used oil analysis (UOA's) about every 2nd-3rd oil change. Engine is in great shape and running strong.

Shocks replaced at about 85k or so, probably should have been a bit sooner as one rear was leaking oil.

Still very happy, and plan on driving til she drops dead. Hopefully will be 300K + or more is my goal.

2006 Chevrolet Silverado 2500HD LT3 6.6L Duramax diesel from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 6.6L Duramax diesel Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired56 miles
Most recent distance21000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Silverado

Summary:

I needed more power/towing capacity from my 1500 Silverado, I absolutely made the right choice

Faults:

Nothing yet.

General Comments:

Great power and torque. 6spd Allison transmission with grade braking and tow/haul makes towing in mountains a breeze.

Duramax diesel is extremely quiet compared to other diesel pickup trucks, both new and old.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th June, 2008

2006 Chevrolet Silverado LT 6.0 from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 6.0 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.6 / 10
Distance when acquired34 miles
Most recent distance38000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Silverado

Summary:

This vehicle is the reason why my son will drive a Toyota, and his son will do the same

Faults:

Transmission trouble from day one.

Wheel bearings failed at 15000 miles.

Completely broke down and stranded me 4 hours from my home at 34000 miles.

Also own a 2006 Honda Ridgeline, have brought in one time for service, cosmetic. I thought the hood was installed a little crooked and they kindly straightened it out no problem.

Outstanding service with Honda.

General Comments:

A lemon. GM will not settle with me. I now have to get a lawyer if I have any hopes of salvaging what I can out of this money pit. The dealers have been nothing but sneaky and underhanded in dealing with me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th April, 2008

25th Mar 2010, 12:55

I have had the same transmission problems with my 2006 Chevy Silverado Crew Cab. Transmission went out at 60,000 miles. Replaced it with another one at my mechanic's shop. The new one had a 100,000 mile warranty, which was a good thing as it had to be replaced at 82,000 miles. I do not pull trailers or carry heavy loads with this truck.

So far the third transmission seems to work OK, and I have had no problems with it as of yet. Other than that, it's a very comfortable truck.

2006 Chevrolet Silverado LT1 Crew Cab 5.3 from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 5.3 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance42300 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

Well worth the experience, a great all around truck

Faults:

I had the steering shimmy most people have reported, however after the second trip to the dealer for a repair on this, they actually had a replacement from GM that has worked. I have put at least 20,000 on it since the last repair without any problems.

Small leak in the front diff at 6000, was a small seal. No problems since.

General Comments:

This is by far the most comfortable truck I have owned. It is fast and responsive.

I have done some upgrades to the truck such as an air intake system, dual exhaust, upgraded the tires to BF Goodrich all terrain t/a's (they are indestructible). I tow a boat and I have more than enough power.

This is by far the best truck I have owned. The four wheel drive is easy to use with the push button 4x4 option.

Gas mileage isn't too bad; with a 5.3 V8 I average 14.5-15 city, around 20mpg highway, and 13mpg towing my boat. Just hurts at the pump with gas hovering around $3.10 a gallon; average fill-up is around $70 bucks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th March, 2008

2006 Chevrolet Silverado LT1 5.3 from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 5.3 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance15000 miles
Previous carMazda B4000

Summary:

Very comfortable clean lines and mechanical response

Faults:

I also drive a 2006 Silverado Company truck as well as my own. Both developed a "clunk" in the suspension as if a tire was loose or brake issues. Come to find out it is an admitted engineering issue as noted by my dealer and it supposedly is safe, but result of a clearance area in the drive system resulting in minor banging of metals over minor bumps etc. This did not sound encouraging to me. I asked what could be done and Dealer packed the steering suspension system with grease and advised while under warranty it would be maintained, but there after I was on my own. GM is not fixing this and when I asked if 2007 models would be the same, the answer was, " we do not know, but not likely no corrective engineering is planned". This one item stinks!!!

General Comments:

Love the truck. Roomy and comfortable.

Wish the 1500 crew cab bed was a little bigger.

Fuel did not meet the comments of friends who also drive very similar GM models. I can't get, but 15 to 16 mpg town, but this is as much as I got with several past much smaller trucks. Potential to average 18 mpg city/open road, is real for overall driving.

I admit I was previous anti GM products in attitude. After test driving numerous options, Chevy was hands down for sensible comfort and feel. Chevy has always had her followers, but newer trucks may really give Ford and imports some real challenges.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd January, 2007

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 9 reviews