25th Mar 2010, 21:17

I have a 2004 Silverado and tow my center console boat with no issues. A small pickup like the Ridgeline with a light car frame would not hold up.

26th Mar 2010, 15:26

Oh don't start this. We don't need another review that's loaded with comments about how the Ridgeline can't tow this or can't hold that.

For the umpteenth time people, the Honda Ridgeline was designed as a LIGHT DUTY truck. It can tow up to 5,000 pounds, which isn't bad for a light duty truck. It was meant to be more SUV-like than truck-like. And also, the Ridgeline has fully boxed front and rear frame supports. Not meant for heavy loads, but they are not a "light car frame" either.

By the way, I have seen many Ridgelines around my hometown, some being used for small businesses. The most I have ever seen a Ridgeline tow was a fully loaded, 2 axle horse trailer. It was driving in front of me on my way home from work one day. It was easily keeping up with traffic and did not seem to struggle at all, despite the fact that it was probably overloaded.

26th Mar 2010, 17:20

I've seen people towing trailers behind 30-year-old Pintos. That does not make them a TRUCK. The Honda Ridgeline is NOT a truck, it is a Pilot SUV with the roof removed behind the back seat.

26th Mar 2010, 22:05

Why not buy a small hatchback and tie the lid down; same deal, carry a bag of mulch home.

27th Mar 2010, 13:28

I had transmission issues with new Honda/Acuras. In turn our Silverado has been better mechanically. Also far superior warranty and less issues.

27th Mar 2010, 18:25

Once again, the Ridgeline wasn't designed to do any kind of heavy duty work. One commentor summed it up perfectly: "It is a Pilot SUV with the roof removed behind the backseat." What a good way to put it! Thank you!

The Ridgeline is the perfect alternative for somebody who needs room for their family, but also needs to carry larger and heavier things than a Pilot can.

That being said, the Ridgeline is a pretty decent vehicle. It has a fully-boxed frame and a V6 engine that produces good low to mid-range torque (for a V6). It's only real problem I would say is the transversely mounted engine, durability could be improved by a traditionally mounted engine. However, like I said before, the Ridgeline is only built for light loads.

If you need a truck that can haul heavy loads and move large items, then the Ridgeline isn't for you. If it doesn't work for you, don't complain about it, just don't buy it.

27th Mar 2010, 21:25

The Toyota Tacoma, Ford Ranger, and Chevy Colorado are light duty trucks, with maximum tow capacities of 6500 lbs for the V6 Tacoma, 5760 lbs for the V6 Ranger, and 2,400 lbs for all available Colorado engines. The V6 Honda Ridgeline can tow 5000 lbs.

Let's do some math! The Toyota Tacoma can tow only 1500 lbs more than the Ridgeline, the Ford Ranger can tow only 760 lbs more than the Ridgeline, and the Chevy Colorado tows up 2400 pounds, which is 2600 lbs LESS than the Ridgeline.

The Honda Ridgeline may be slightly larger than the other trucks I've listed, but since it has a tow capacity that's in the same ballpark, it's basically a light duty truck.

Now, let's apply the logic used by some of the above commentors. The Toyota Tacoma, Ford Ranger, and Chevy Colorado, like the Honda Ridgeline, are NOT TRUCKS.

I hope this information makes people think about what they are saying.

29th Mar 2010, 08:39

I do not now, nor have I ever owned a Honda product. However I must say that it seems to me that the people who bash the Ridgeline are only doing so to make them feel better about whatever they are driving.

That being said, back in the 1970's my dad owned one of those little Datsun (Nissan) pick up trucks. It wasn't a full-size pick-up, nor did it pretend to be. But it did the job it was intended to do, and did it quite well.

The Ridgeline also does the job it was intended to do quite well. It wouldn't be my first choice of vehicle, because I do not need an open bed. However many people do, and it works well for them. Not everybody needs or wants an F 150 or Silverado.

29th Mar 2010, 16:05

"29th Mar 2010, 08:39.

I do not now, nor have I ever owned a Honda product. "

Then how do you know whether the Ridgeline does its job or not?

30th Mar 2010, 10:48


Because I was in the Automotive business from 1974 until 2007, and still keep up to date with all automobile models available on the US market (both imported and domestic).

I do not think you want to question my knowledge in the field of automobiles. (Before you accuse me of having worked for Honda - No, I have never been an employee of Honda Motor Company or any Honda dealership)

30th Mar 2010, 11:39

Then that means you have an opinion, like everyone else. And your opinion carries no greater weight than anybody else's, because a lot of people "keep up to date" with models and have familiarity with the industry.

30th Mar 2010, 19:26

Since this is a full size truck review and I have a late model Silverado (and an opinion from owning them), my take on the subject is what its purpose is. If you are going to pay insurance and feel the need for a truck, get a full size truck with a full size frame, even if it's a Six. I got tired of borrowing friend's full size trucks, even though I owned a small one before. It was either make 2 trips where 1 trip would have been better (more time consuming burning more gas) or passing by opportunities that are available with a full size truck.

I go to home centers (saved a lot doing lots of projects on my own) picking up antiques and going to auctions, towing my boat, more room for passengers that I felt always compromised with a small truck.

I also felt if I were to pay any insurance, it's sensible to have a full size stronger truck with even a six, but preferably a V8.

On the highway I have 25 MPG on cruise, and pick up things in one trip. Trying to do an all in one vehicle has not worked for me. I would rather have a car with a piece of rope, get the little loads mulch etc and tie down the trunk.

My truck has paid for itself moving myself, family members, carrying great buys I have found vs. borrowing or not being able to borrow full sizes. I guess you could rent a truck and own small, but I have found the practical utility of a full size well worth owning one.

I also have not had issues with my Silverado, but I do overmaintain it. I changed the intake, exhaust system and am now using Mobil 1 in mine. It's a great overall truck; non compromised on many applications.

6th Apr 2010, 23:12

The Chevy might be an inconvenience, but a Toyota can kill your son and his son.

7th Apr 2010, 18:18

"The Chevy might be an inconvenience, but a Toyota can kill your son and his son."

So can a Chevy. Just ask the 1.7 million Chevy owners who had to have there cars recalled due to powersteering failure.