1986 Chevrolet Spectrum 1.5L from North America

Summary:

A great first car!

Faults:

The carburetor had some mishaps.

Once that was fixed, its been good.

General Comments:

Great first car!

It's hard to find after market products to make it that one-of-a-kind gem, but they are out their!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th June, 2002

1986 Chevrolet Spectrum 1.4 from North America

Summary:

A good performance bargain

Faults:

Timing belt.

Muffler twice.

Rear brakes.

Shocks.

General Comments:

It still runs very well.

Doesn't eat any oil and it's very economical.

I love it, because it is part of my life and memories...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th April, 2002

11th Feb 2008, 21:10

I own one right now and the trassmission slips, but other than that it's a good little car. Looking for is really hard tho.

1986 Chevrolet Spectrum 4-door notchback 1.5 carb from North America

Summary:

A good car that I paid $300 for, and it was worth every penny

Faults:

Entire brake system replaced.

Exhaust rusted and replaced.

Driver's seat mounts broke.

Carburator rebuilt.

Fuel problem with the float in the carb.

Distributor replaced.

Problem with the choke.

General Comments:

This car is very reliable and has good fuel mileage.

$10 fills the tank.

Seat are comfortable.

Performance parts are available at www.isuzuperformance.com.

This car is my first car, and I will keep it forever.

My nickname for my car is "Super-spec".

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th February, 2002

7th Feb 2010, 23:41

Too bad I junked it for $50. Could not drive because of a rust on driver side rear trailing arm. I miss my super-spec.

8th Feb 2010, 16:43

A trailing arm can easily be replaced for a few hundred bucks. Maybe a bit for a car that you paid $300 for, but if everything else on the car was in good shape, why junk it?

1986 Chevrolet Spectrum 1.5 liter from North America

Summary:

Good car for a beginning driver

Faults:

The distributor had to be replaced a year ago.

Interior needed to be redone when I first bought the car.

General Comments:

It gets great gas mileage.

If the car is taken care of it will last, but if it falls into mal-repair, it is hard to get it back up.

Even though the car has 260,000 miles on it, it still goes very nicely.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th July, 2001

4th May 2006, 23:10

I know what you mean by an awesome runner. My Spectrum has almost 200,000 miles on it and it has absolutely no problems running!!

I will always love these cars.

1986 Chevrolet Spectrum from North America

Summary:

Chevy Spectrum = unreliability and stress!

Faults:

Constant fuel line problem since day 1 that nobody can seem to fix, which is probably why the last owner got rid of it. I've had it in the shop many, many times for that.

Carburetor rebuilt December 2000.

Problem with the choke that makes it unable to stay running most of the time.

Seats wore down pretty bad.

General Comments:

I bought it when I was 17 and I have tried to love it, but you just can't when it can never start and has constant problems!

The only good thing is the seats are really comfy.

These cars are not worth putting any money into, don't waste your time!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th June, 2001

1986 Chevrolet Spectrum 4 door notchback 1.4 carb from North America

Summary:

Frugal delight!

Faults:

Timing belt replaced.

CV axles replaced.

Carburettor rebuilt.

Must use 93 octane fuel.

Clutch replaced.

Clutch cable replaced

General Comments:

I love this car, will rebuild the engine or find another when this one dies.

The only problem is that it has some type of fuel problem. It runs rough in cold weather. No mechanic can figure out what is wrong. It is a good little car that is really economical.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th January, 2001

18th Dec 2003, 21:08

I have an '87 model which does get great fuel economy even though it has 120000 miles on it. The timing belt is a problem I'm told.

1986 Chevrolet Spectrum 4 Door Notchback 1.5 L Cyl. from North America

Summary:

A good car for low income families, yet still very nice

Faults:

This car has been reliable.

But through my experience, it is very hard to work on the engine of it.

General Comments:

This car is the best car we have ever owned, it is more comfortable to me than most luxury cars, and more reliable than any other car we had for the most part.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th September, 2000