1998 Chevrolet Tracker 2 door 4X4 soft top 1.6 from North America

Summary:

A fun to drive, trustworthy, four wheel drive car

Faults:

Mechanically I have had no trouble. I was rear-ended by a larger vehicle, but received very minor damage to bumper, gas tank cover and small tear in spare tire cover.

General Comments:

This vehicle is fun to drive.

It sifts smoothly, but as expected is slower to accelerate than bigger motors with automatic transmissions.

Handles well in 4 wheel drive on wet pavement or in snow.

Really like the larger windows (as compared to Jeep). Also like the full doors.

I wish there were more accessories for the Tracker. Would love to have running boards! Anyone have any idea if or where I could find running boards?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th August, 2003

16th Jan 2006, 13:45

Calmini (calmini.com) makes several parts for Suzukis and trackers. They have a frame guard that fits under the door panel portion to prevent this area from getting crushed by rocks when off-roading.

1998 Chevrolet Tracker from North America

Summary:

Not a bargain four wheel drive for city use.

Faults:

Front wheel hub had to be replaced.

The vinyl top ripped.

The back window latch on the vinyl top broke three times.

The back seat latch that secured the seat had to be replaced.

Drivers' seat broken, no longer able to position the seat.

General Comments:

The truck is not good on the highway in high winds, rain or snow as it tends to be too light and feels like it will tip over.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th August, 2003

20th Aug 2005, 19:58

Mechanically I'd say it's quite sound except for the hub. Interior and soft top is cheap what do you expect? try the hard top$

1998 Chevrolet Tracker 1.6 from North America

Summary:

A totally adequate little 4x4

Faults:

Brakes needed relining at about 55000km, and front axle u-joint flex covers needed replacing at about 80000.

General Comments:

This is an entirely decent, rugged, little 4x4. It can make hiway speeds, yet it can manage endless off-road stump-jumping. The ride isn't as smooth as my Honda Civic, but, on the other hand, it isn't fazed by ditches or potholes. It's a whole lot more civilized than the Suzuki Samurai. Some off-roaders tell me that Suzuki front axles are stronger, but mine are still OK. It even has air-conditioning.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st January, 2003

1998 Chevrolet Tracker 4 door 2.0 from North America

Summary:

Best product for the money that Chevrolet has ever produced

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

This was one of the most dependable vehicles that I have ever owned.

One solid vehicle, and four wheel drive excels. We took a trip up the Tennessee mountains during a heavy snow. A very expensive SUV was in front of us, going up a very steep mountain. When they could go no further and all four tires were spinning on their vehicle, we went right around them without spinning a tire.

This vehicle was demolished as a car crossed the center line and struck my wife almost head on. Both vehicles were demolished, however my wife came out without any serious injuries. Talk about a well built vehicle!

We now own a 2000 Tracker, four door, four wheel drive, and love it. Also I have a 1992 two door four wheel drive which I have owned for around four years. Great vehicle!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th September, 2001

16th Jan 2006, 13:43

Amen. they are great little trucks!

3rd Mar 2007, 23:43

I would agree. I thoroughly enjoy my 2004 Tracker, and it's been working great through this winter in Colorado.

1998 Chevrolet Tracker 1.6 from North America

Faults:

After 37,000 miles the Tracker has proven to be superior value and very trouble free.

General Comments:

Convertible top is clumsy and too awkward to remove and put back up as often as one would like.

A roll bar would be nice.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th November, 1999