1998 Chevrolet Tracker 2 dr 4 X 4 1.6 16v 4 cylinder from North America


A reliable, fun, small,4 X 4 truck that I would not hesitate to take anywhere.


Auto hub on driver side went out was replaced under warranty.

Radio didn't work when purchased, repaired by dealer.

Battery died, replaced under warranty.

Clips that hold bar rear window attaches to replaced by dealer 2 X under warranty. After warranty fabricated metal replacements no breakage since.

Brakes redone at 50,000 miles.

Seat belt latch on passenger side broke at about 5,000 miles replaced under warranty.

Top replaced at 55,000 miles due to rear window being stolen and couldn't buy just a replacement rear window. Was not covered by insurance, but entire new top from Bestop less than $300.00.

Timing belt replaced at 60,000 miles cost $45.00 for part.

New tires about 50,000 miles.

Other than routine maintenance nothing else has gone wrong or had to be fixed.

General Comments:

Vehicle has been very reliable. Most problems occurred when vehicle was new and were corrected under warranty.

The Tracker is just a re-badged Suzuki Sidekick, I liked the vehicle well enough that it influenced me to purchase a 2002 Suzuki XL7 which I also love.

The vehicle has very quick steering and you have to be careful about trying to corner or change lanes like a sports car, it is after all, a 4 X 4, with a high center of gravity. Once you make those adjustments it is very fun to drive.

I have joined an Arizona Suzuki 4 X 4 club and am going to begin to modify my tracker into a more serious off road vehicle. Suzuki's are as good or better than Heep's off road and a heck of a lot cheaper.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st March, 2005

15th Nov 2009, 21:39

In 2005 I sold this vehicle to my son, who had his truck stolen. I liked it well enough to turn around and buy a 90 Tracker 2 door hardtop, which I have been fixing up and going off road with. He still has the Tracker and it now has more than 120,000 miles on it. He's had to replace the battery, starter and have the speedometer fixed along with a new speedo cable. Other than tires and brake pads and having the AC recharged, he's had no repairs, and it's still running strong.

1998 Chevrolet Tracker 2 door 4X4 soft top 1.6 from North America


A fun to drive, trustworthy, four wheel drive car


Mechanically I have had no trouble. I was rear-ended by a larger vehicle, but received very minor damage to bumper, gas tank cover and small tear in spare tire cover.

General Comments:

This vehicle is fun to drive.

It sifts smoothly, but as expected is slower to accelerate than bigger motors with automatic transmissions.

Handles well in 4 wheel drive on wet pavement or in snow.

Really like the larger windows (as compared to Jeep). Also like the full doors.

I wish there were more accessories for the Tracker. Would love to have running boards! Anyone have any idea if or where I could find running boards?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th August, 2003

16th Jan 2006, 13:45

Calmini (calmini.com) makes several parts for Suzukis and trackers. They have a frame guard that fits under the door panel portion to prevent this area from getting crushed by rocks when off-roading.

1998 Chevrolet Tracker from North America


Not a bargain four wheel drive for city use.


Front wheel hub had to be replaced.

The vinyl top ripped.

The back window latch on the vinyl top broke three times.

The back seat latch that secured the seat had to be replaced.

Drivers' seat broken, no longer able to position the seat.

General Comments:

The truck is not good on the highway in high winds, rain or snow as it tends to be too light and feels like it will tip over.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th August, 2003

20th Aug 2005, 19:58

Mechanically I'd say it's quite sound except for the hub. Interior and soft top is cheap what do you expect? try the hard top$

1998 Chevrolet Tracker 1.6 from North America


A totally adequate little 4x4


Brakes needed relining at about 55000km, and front axle u-joint flex covers needed replacing at about 80000.

General Comments:

This is an entirely decent, rugged, little 4x4. It can make hiway speeds, yet it can manage endless off-road stump-jumping. The ride isn't as smooth as my Honda Civic, but, on the other hand, it isn't fazed by ditches or potholes. It's a whole lot more civilized than the Suzuki Samurai. Some off-roaders tell me that Suzuki front axles are stronger, but mine are still OK. It even has air-conditioning.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st January, 2003

1998 Chevrolet Tracker 4 door 2.0 from North America


Best product for the money that Chevrolet has ever produced



General Comments:

This was one of the most dependable vehicles that I have ever owned.

One solid vehicle, and four wheel drive excels. We took a trip up the Tennessee mountains during a heavy snow. A very expensive SUV was in front of us, going up a very steep mountain. When they could go no further and all four tires were spinning on their vehicle, we went right around them without spinning a tire.

This vehicle was demolished as a car crossed the center line and struck my wife almost head on. Both vehicles were demolished, however my wife came out without any serious injuries. Talk about a well built vehicle!

We now own a 2000 Tracker, four door, four wheel drive, and love it. Also I have a 1992 two door four wheel drive which I have owned for around four years. Great vehicle!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th September, 2001

16th Jan 2006, 13:43

Amen. they are great little trucks!

3rd Mar 2007, 23:43

I would agree. I thoroughly enjoy my 2004 Tracker, and it's been working great through this winter in Colorado.

1998 Chevrolet Tracker 1.6 from North America


After 37,000 miles the Tracker has proven to be superior value and very trouble free.

General Comments:

Convertible top is clumsy and too awkward to remove and put back up as often as one would like.

A roll bar would be nice.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th November, 1999