1999 Chevrolet Tracker Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1999 Chevrolet Tracker from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance54780 miles
Previous carChevrolet Malibu

Summary:

It is great

Faults:

The only problem I have after 5 years of owning the vehicle is the air conditioner. I thought I needed it recharged. The mechanic said that it did not need freon, the problem was the fan was bad and would cost approximately $350 to $400 dollars.

I was wondering if there are many other owners who have had the same problem with the fan for the air conditioning stop working.

General Comments:

I love my tracker and will buy another one when this one quits running.

The only thing I would change is changing from a 4 cylinder (all that was manufactured in 1999) to a 6 cylinder.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th October, 2004

1st May 2005, 10:12

Make sure Your mechanic checks the fan switch. It is the only part that I have ever seen fail. The four cylinder motor can be "enhanced" to give you all the power that you want or need. I have two Trackers, a 93 & a 96, and am looking to buy a third one shortly. Great vehicles! Good Luck.

31st Oct 2005, 20:28

Do you know if they still make the Tracker? The Chevy dealer by my house doesn't sell Geo anymore...

30th May 2006, 18:36

Hi, I"m looking for a geo tracker an wondering what year is the best to buy for a used one.

14th Jul 2006, 18:36

The Tracker was discontinued after 2004, and it was the last vehicle of the former Geo line.

14th Aug 2006, 14:15

Anyone looking for the former Geo Tracker or other Geo vehicles should go to their nearest Suzuki dealership because that's what Geo vehicles were - rebadged Suzuki vehicles. The Tracker is now sold as the Suzuki Vitara and Grand Vitara. There's also a stretched version for big families. They're still pretty decent vehicles.

9th Mar 2007, 17:23

Well I wouldn't say that Suzuki made the Geo cars. I mean they were built side by side in shared factories and used a Suzuki design. However all of the Geo cars didn't use a Suzuki design the Metro and Tracker used suzuki design, the Prizm used toyota and the Spectrum and Storm used Isuzu designs.

1st Dec 2007, 15:00

My 1999 Tracker suspension pops, especially when turning to the right. I had new bushings put in and the mechanic went over the struts and suspension for 3 hours since this did not solve the problem. Any suggestions?

1999 Chevrolet Tracker 4x4 2.8 V4 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.8 V4 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired28 miles
Most recent distance64000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

A reliable, economic vehicle

Faults:

I had to have the brakes replaced at 50,000 miles.

The tires constantly squealed when I would turn corners regardless of how much air was in them.

General Comments:

This vehicle was a great little car and I truly enjoyed driving it.

It is roomier than I would have anticipated.

It performs rather poorly in windy conditions.

This vehicle held up great under the strain that I placed on it.

It performed really well even though I was lousy at keeping up with its regular maintenance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th August, 2004

24th Aug 2004, 21:57

The tires squealed in turns likely because the front hubs were locked. It's best to lock the hubs only on slippery (or snow covered) ground. With the hubs locked into 4WD, a Tracker is like a 4Wd farm tractor - it goes through the muck, but doesn't turn very well. On dry pavement, unlock the hubs and it becomes like a normal car again.

Also some Tracker owners don't know that the automatic transmission is a 4-speed, and they drive for years in 3rd gear because they didn't realize that it can be locked in 3rd gear for hill-climbing in the muck. Read the manual and figure out some of these 4x4 quirks, and you'll enjoy your Tracker even more. It's a small 4x4 truck, not a sports car!

1999 Chevrolet Tracker 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance105000 miles
Previous carDodge Omni

Summary:

A high maintenance vehicle

Faults:

Left rear axle bearing went bad at 38,000 miles. Replacement cost about $300.

Right rear axle bearing now needs to be replaced. The cold weather seems to adversely affect the bearing tolerances.

Manual transmission problems at 105,000 miles. Troubleshooting cost is over $500.

General Comments:

The 2.0 Liter engine does not give enough horse-power to merge into typical driving situations.

The suspension does not handle typical road conditions well.

The four-wheel drive feature has been useful and performs well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th July, 2003

1999 Chevrolet Tracker ZR2 2.5L from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.5L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired192 miles
Most recent distance61000 miles
Previous carGeo Storm

Summary:

The best compact SUV ever

Faults:

This Tracker has been great the muffler expired but besides that and routine oil changes oil changes nothing has ever gone wrong with it.

General Comments:

This thing has power I've pulled a large boat, a full size pop up camper with no problems,

Id definatley reccomend this vehicle to anyone looking.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th September, 2002

1999 Chevrolet Tracker from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Manual
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance27000 miles
Previous carGMC Safari

Summary:

Could be a fun car if the transmission problems were fixed

Faults:

Transfer case replaced in November, 2000, problems with the transmission now.

Rough shifting.

Synchronizer units going bad.

Having a hard time getting problems fixed even though car is still under warranty.

General Comments:

Very disappointed with this vehicle.

Hard to handle in wind.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st February, 2001

1999 Chevrolet Tracker from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired58 miles
Most recent distance12000 miles
Previous carFord Pontiac

Summary:

Fun in the sun!!!!!!

Faults:

Always seems the air is not blowing cold, when the roads are wet, or even slighty moist, the car will not stop without sliding forward. In fact that's how I got in a wreck! The key for the ignition is always getting stuck in the on position!

General Comments:

It's a great car for those HOT SUMMER DAYS!!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th July, 2000

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 11 reviews