Chevrolet Uplander Reviews - Page 2 of 4

2005 Chevrolet Uplander LT 3.5 V6 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 3.5 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance48000 miles

Summary:

Bulky van, trying to look like an SUV

Faults:

Automatic door doesn't work properly at times.

Entertainment system works poorly.

Random beeping noises occur, linked to automatic door.

General Comments:

This van is a fluke from Chevrolet, one of the reasons there are any traditional minivans being made from GM anymore.

Horrible visibility when backing up.

Seats are a big pain when removing them from the van.

Rear light cracked just from closing hatch, poorly built

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th April, 2010

2005 Chevrolet Uplander LS 3.5L V6 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.5L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired125000 kilometres
Most recent distance166000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Gets the job done, but an average vehicle

Faults:

Rear wiper motor no longer works.

Front driver's side wheel bearing along with brakes and rotors replaced.

CD player works some of the time.

Radio tends to not work when vehicle shut off and restarted. Maybe an electric short somewhere.

Persistent stalling problem on ignition. Starts fine but stalls afterwards, as if the fuel pump is faulty. Have to pump the gas to keep the engine from shutting off when this happens, like with a carburetor. Seems to be a common problem with these vans.

General Comments:

Ride is very comfortable. handling surprisingly good for a vehicle this size, among the best I've experienced in this class.

Fuel economy not that good, however. Could do with a 5 speed transmission as the 4 speed feels unrefined at times.

Front seats very good. Those in the back sorry excuse for seats however, very poor design with skinny armrests.

Poorly equipped interior compared to others in the class. Little storage areas and fit and finish below average.

In my opinion, has the most 'presence' of any minivan with its SUV look, but is mechanically not very refined. What can I say, typical GM product.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th August, 2009

8th Aug 2009, 19:45

You went from a Honda to a Chevy? If you needed a minivan, why didn't you buy an Odyssey?

26th Feb 2010, 01:20

I wrote the original review. Since then, rubber stripping along bottom of the passenger side sliding door has come loose, along with that on the pillar behind the front passenger seat, interfering with the door as it closes. Locking mechanism on passenger side sliding door now fails to engage at times. Will have to take to the dealer. Stalling problem still exists, however. Had it checked out by the dealer, but the vehicle started fine then. Dealer gave a few diagnostic suggestions, but I had no more money to spend at that point.

I like the van, but it appears to be a poorly made product. Can't see myself buying anything made by GM in the future. Did not buy an Odyssey as they are priced like luxury vehicles. Will likely try Hyundai; priced within my reach, and the quality seems much improved.

18th Apr 2010, 01:28

I have no idea what IAC means; would be grateful if the writer could clarify.

Oh, by the way, I wrote the original review. A few days ago the vehicle would not move when put in 'Drive'; I had to drive home in 2nd gear, and still no third or 4th gear. Sitting in my driveway as I'm currently using a 1993 Mazda 626 V6 bought cheaply a few months ago. The car drives fine, will likely sell the Uplander; it was a mistake buying it in the first place.

19th Apr 2010, 12:06

IAC = Idle Air Control.

21st Apr 2010, 17:13

Thanks to the IAC reviewer, but as you can see I may have no need to do that.

2008 Chevrolet Uplander Base model 3.9 from North America

Model year2008
Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.9 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.2 / 10
Distance when acquired11000 miles
Most recent distance22000 miles
Previous carNissan Altima

Summary:

Worst vehicle I have ever had to deal with

Faults:

Heater blower motor, wiper motor, right turn signal wiring harness, ignition coil, spark plug wires, head gasket, whatever they find today.

General Comments:

This is a company car issued to me. This van has broken down four times since December. Every time the dealer tells me I caused the problems by driving the car to the dealer (5 miles) with the SES light on. I'm actually sitting at the dealer again as I write this review. This is my first and last Chevy; if this is what they are selling, no wonder they are going under!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th March, 2009

12th Jun 2009, 13:18

There must be an electrical issue/short that's causing all those problems.. with the exception of the head gasket. Never heard of a head gasket going out in 1 year... must of been the one in a million installed before quitting time on Friday afternoon.

15th Mar 2010, 17:28

My friend bought one brand new in '09 and it has been back to the shop half a dozen times for warranty work in the first 6 months of ownership.

It needed a new mass airflow sensor, brake problems, bad battery, weird electrical glitches that come and go, Chevrolet badge falling apart on front grille, and the best one was a marker light in the bumper that went within a few weeks of ownership; they apparently have to remove the front bumper cover to change a light bulb!

I owned a Pontiac a few years ago, and they want $500 each for front wheel bearings that only last 50,000 km. These things are made to break down and be extremely high maintenance, this is not only my opinion, just look at Consumer Reports from any year for Chevrolet/GMC/Cadillac/Hummer/Pontiac/Saturn/etc...

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 12 reviews