2000 Chevrolet Venture Reviews

2000 Chevrolet Venture 3.4 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 3.4 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.5 / 10
Distance when acquired64000 miles
Most recent distance121000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Vanagon

Summary:

For the money, you can't beat it

Faults:

The fuel gauge that everyone says fluctuates and gives false readings is the sending unit in the tank. It's a simple matter of the contacts on the rheostat wear, and won't make contact like they have to on the circuit board. Unfortunately this problem requires the tank to be dropped; removal and replacement of the complete fuel pump/ sending unit module that comes as an integrated replacement, as do most vehicles now. It's a tough job, but not impossible. Mine was driving me crazy, so I replaced it with a new updated aftermarket unit that is clearly better than the OEM unit, and cost 1/3 of the standard GM junk that was installed at the factory. Got it on EBAY.

General Comments:

Great van. Good MPG. Comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th July, 2010

2000 Chevrolet Venture 3.4 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 3.4 Don't Know
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.5 / 10
Distance when acquired92000 miles
Most recent distance114000 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Faults:

Have owned my 2000 Venture for just over a year. 92000 miles when I bought it.

Intake gasket replaced $800.

O2 sensor bad, mass air flow sensor problem, cleaned sensor, seems to be fine now.

Water pump problem.

Had the shifting problem, put Lucas transmission repair fluid in and haven't had a problem for 20,000 miles.

Air bag light on, gas gauge goes crazy, drivers side window comes out of track when rolling up, security light comes on randomly.

Basically the worst vehicle for maintenance costs I have ever owned. The vehicle does get good gas mileage and has some nice get up and go, but that doesn't override the bad. Just over 114,000 miles now.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th March, 2010

2000 Chevrolet Venture LS 3.4 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.4 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Most recent distance71000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Delta 88

Summary:

It's a Chevy, what do you expect!

Faults:

My transmission went bad at 44,000 miles.

My electronic door lock stopped working on the passenger side, 56,000 miles.

Electronic fuel pump stopped working, 33,000 miles.

Bad rack 'n' pinion and ball joint (S), 61,000 miles.

The electronic side mirror control problem, 7,500 miles.

Trouble with exterior fan 51,000 miles.

Sliding door is VERY difficult to open.

General Comments:

I was told this Chevy is ever well designed, but GM pays for poor quality material and workmanship. Two separate GM mechanics said the same thing and an AMCO tech agreed. So, in the end, we get what we pay for.

Maybe the 2009 GM's will be a better quality vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th November, 2009

2000 Chevrolet Venture from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Previous carDodge Caravan

Faults:

Love this van. We bought it used and have had it for 3 months.

However now we are experiencing long shifting and hard shifting. Don't know why.. Any info would be great..

koko.moore@yahoo.com

Please respond.

General Comments:

Other than that, it is great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th March, 2009

2000 Chevrolet Venture 3.4 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.4 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.4 / 10
Distance when acquired29000 kilometres
Most recent distance160000 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Grand Prix

Summary:

Horrible

Faults:

You name it, it has broken:

Head gasket, intake manifold gasket, water pump, steering rods, brake cylinders, wiper mechanism, rear hatch handle, sliding door, power windows, A/C... I don't have all day to list them all...

General Comments:

GM should gold plate this car and mount it in a pedestal somewhere. It would be a great monument to the unemployed North American auto worker. This vehicle is a shining example of why the Japanese have taken this industry. But don't believe me, believe the experts:

http://www.iihs.org/ratings/rating.aspx?id=67

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th September, 2008

2000 Chevrolet Venture from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired3000 miles
Most recent distance139000 miles
Previous carDodge Caravan

Summary:

Avoid this model

Faults:

Very surprised to see others with same problems. My air bag light comes on and off, I am here today looking because my "service engine soon" light came on. Second time this year. Last time, spent $900. My blinkers will stop working and when they are out, my cruise control will stop working. Fix the blinker, and cruise works?

General Comments:

Lots of wierd intermittent electrical problems. This coupled with a fairly uncomfortable drivers chair, and I will be going back to a Caravan.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th August, 2008

2000 Chevrolet Venture Warner Bros. Edition from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.6 / 10
Distance when acquired23000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Venture

Summary:

By far the worst vehicle I have every owned!!

Faults:

Transmission rebuilt at 42000, Intake manifold gasket replaced, Power door motor went out, Fuel sensor went bad, Rear power windows work, occasionally, 100,000 mile plugs, wires and harness replaced at 60,000, Ditto at 96,000, The engine has an occasional miss, after $4000 in repairs, the dealer gave up and said they could not find it. There are so many more problems, I haven't the time to list them all.

General Comments:

When the van is running correctly, we loved the way it drove and we loved all the features. The van spent more time in the shop than on the road. Very, Very poor product, is it any wonder GM loses money?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th February, 2008

13th Feb 2008, 14:08

Was it a 1999 or 2000?

Anyway, I noticed it has 130,000 miles and that is quite an achievement. I couldn't stand my 1999 Venture anymore in 2004 and traded it in at around 60,000 miles.

Average review marks: 5.3 / 10, based on 21 reviews