1999 Chrysler 300M from North America


A quality, affordable luxury performance sport sedan


Front wheel bearing replaced at 68000 miles.

Alignment needs to be checked at recommended intervals. Front was the most frequent problem.

Factory installed Goodyear tires wore uneven causing vibration and noisy ride.

Brake rotors subject to warpage.

General Comments:

Very comfortable car to drive on trips and around town.

Very well equipped (base) and comparable to the Cadillac. Mine also has the beautiful factory chrome wheels and a trouble free electric sunroof.

Very economical and handles well.

Everything in and on the car works well after 4 years and over 70K miles.

Interior and exterior look almost new with just regular maintenance.

I am glad I purchased this car as it has proven itself to be manufactured with quality, durable materials and a styling to be comparable or better than much higher priced vehicles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd August, 2003

1st Feb 2006, 15:15

I agree with everything in the review. I have 1999 300m with 140,000 mostly trouble-free miles. That said, the problem areas are (1) front-end -- rotor warpage, chronic vibration issues, and (2) air conditioning. The car is a bit too heavy and the ride a bit soft for drivers who expect European handling. So don't expect that. The nagging front-end stuff limits my enjoyment of what is otherwise a GREAT car.

9th Jul 2007, 10:47

I agree. It's a nice, comfortable car... but I also agree with the vibration noise. As of now, I just realized that under the floormat on the drivers side, its ALWAYS wet. I think there is a leak somewhere around the windshield and its pooling up under my feet as it passes down through the firewall. I might have to replace the carpet now... oh well..

1999 Chrysler 300M 3.5 liter V6 from North America


The engineering by Chrysler is great


Drivers window motor replaced front end suspension replaced air conditioning evaporator unit replaced.

General Comments:

One of the finest cars I have ever owned. It is exceedingly fast and runs better now than when I bought it.

The gas mileage now averages 24.2 miles per gallon with mostly highway driving.

My wife says it is the most comfortable car I have ever owned [BMWs, Lincolns, Cadillacs etc] also, it has held up well and looks as good now as when I puchased it two and one half years ago!

The sunroof is amazing and I love the computer [mileage, temp., economy]

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th February, 2003

17th Mar 2005, 19:35

This really helped me decide on a 300m I just bought one today 3/17/05 a 1999 with the works 72000 mile for a great price I think 5800 thank you john.

13th Jan 2006, 10:08

That sounds more like a bad mechanic than it does a bad problem with the car.

7th Aug 2007, 11:04

The a/c system needs to be recharged in order to determine if there is a defective component (such as an evaporator). This is not the case of a "bad mechanic", just an owner who does not understand the diagnostic procedure.

7th Oct 2010, 20:37

I got mine a couple of months ago, and have put like 1200 miles on it, and I am proud to say that so far so good.. let's see how it goes, shall we.. Hoping for the best out of my car though. I love it. Chick magnet too..

p.s I am 18.

1999 Chrysler 300M from North America


Don't buy one


Interior lights sometimes work/not work.

Alignment problem.

Cooling fans quit.

Window motors malfunctioned-dealer said they knew it was defective, but only did something if brought in with the problem.

Replaced brakes frequently.

General Comments:

Had accident and wheel snapped off and entered driver compartment. I consider this an engineering defect - a painful one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th October, 2002

23rd Oct 2002, 17:35

Maybe you got a lemon, any how try going to a different dealer for service, it made all the difference to me. My 300 rocks!

25th Sep 2007, 16:50

I just bought my 300. It has 92 thousand miles on it. It's my first "nice" car. I am in love with it. I'm hoping the car holds up, due the mileage... but cars these days last a long time. So far, so good :)

1999 Chrysler 300M from North America


Ooh, I want one


The tires on the 300M when I first purchased would not stay balanced. This caused a continual pulling to the left or the right. After a year of frustration, the dealer replaced the tires with Michelin and I have not had a problem since.

There is a strong glare on the front window that occurs when driving into the sun. Purchasing good polarized sunglasses eliminates the problem.

The binding clips holding the back door panels were not holding tight. Dealer replaced with a different type of clip which eliminated the problem.

General Comments:

I never knew the enjoyment of driving a car would be this fun. The sound system, comfort, reliability, and ease of driving my 300M have been extremely satisfying.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th October, 2001

2nd Mar 2005, 04:04

I have a 1999 Chrysler 300M. It has a little over 77k miles on it but it runs excellent. I especially love the acceleration. The car wasn't new when I bought it, but one of the problems was the need of an alignment. I also need 4 new tires, I hope that will cause the strong vibrating to stop. There are also a few electrical problems such as the front passenger side window won't let down or the unlock button doesn't work, I have to use the keyless entry device. The sound system is still in excellent shape.