1996 Chrysler Cirrus Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1996 Chrysler Cirrus from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
0.0 / 10
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

I haven't made an opinion on this car yet

Faults:

The water pump is making sounds. I am told it needs replaced.

The transmission has been replaced on this particular car.

The brakes and tires have been replaced as well, which I feel is a common use replacement.

General Comments:

This car looks really nice, and comfortable.

My husband bought it used from an individual. I am kind of nervous about the car, because it has already had problems by the previous owner.

The previous owner told us that the water pump needed replacement, but that was the only thing he mentioned wrong with it. I am hoping that is all it is. I would hate to have to replace it again.

My main concern is that I don't want to have to do any maintenance on the vehicle. I want to be able to get in it and drive. I don't want any worries or headaches.

I like the looks of this car, and it looks like the previous owners took care of its appearance. It seems spacious as well. That is something I look for with four children.

I have not yet drove the car, so I am unsure how well I like it at this point. If anyone has any advice about this car it would be greatly appreciated.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd February, 2005

4th Feb 2005, 08:07

Uh, this is supposed to be a REVIEW of the car.

A review means you have actually driven it and are able to say something about it.

You wanted a car that you can get in and drive without any worries or headaches, so you bought a nine year old car whose previous owner was already having problems with it.

So, this is a non-review of a car that already has problems in which you are seeking advice even though you have already bought it?

5th Feb 2005, 00:08

What engine does yours have? If its the 4 cylinder, start putting aside money for head gasket replacement. It's an inevitable occurance. They seem to have a 70-100k mile lifespan.. other than that it should peform just fine. If you have the V6 though it won't be an issue.

1996 Chrysler Cirrus LX from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance210000 miles
Previous carChrysler Cirrus

Summary:

Reliable, fun to drive car

Faults:

Brake pads replaced.

Only major thing for me was the air conditioning stopped working, but my mechanic fixed it for 400 and I never had the problem again.

Timing belt replaced.

Battery replaced.

Fluid changes (coolant, oil, transmission fluid, etc)

General Comments:

This car has been very reliable for me, I use the car on the highway a lot and it never left me stranded. It has plenty of power for me and the leather interior is nice and comfortable. I think the key was keeping up with the daily maintenance and having a good mechanic. Enjoy!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th October, 2004

1996 Chrysler Cirrus LXi 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired22000 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles

Summary:

Will most likely not buy another one

Faults:

As so many Cirrus owners, my first problem was the air condition unit.

The electronic dashboard went out and not considerate a warranty issue buy Chrysler. The 'Check Engine' light and the engine dieing at every stop were next.

Now the freeze plugs on the engine block started to leak. Not all plugs are easy accessible and the repair would cost over $900.

It is not considerate a warranty by Chrysler either which will make me think twice about the product.

The car runs fantastic. However, repairs seem to be expensive and issues beyond the general warranty not covered.

General Comments:

A great, comfortable car.

Expensive to up keep.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th February, 2004

1996 Chrysler Cirrus LXI 2.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired46801 miles
Most recent distance48045 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

It's a great car!

Faults:

I've had my car for less than a month and the air conditioning went out within the first week.

General Comments:

While I've owned my cirrus for a short time I absolutely love it! Once the dealer fixes the air conditioning I'll love it even more!

The car is roomy and comfortable.

It handles like a dream.

My only complaint, besides the air conditioning, is there isn't an arm rest. I often find myself leaning on the edge of the passenger seat.

I'm also concerned about my power driver seat breaking, it tends to slip.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th August, 2003

1996 Chrysler Cirrus LX V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance0 miles
Previous carChevrolet Malibu

Summary:

Excellent choice for a sporty family vehicle

Faults:

I have only had to replace the brakes.

General Comments:

I love this car. It has a lot of power for a little car - it really flies. I have no problem passing people if I need to. I have even beaten quite a few cars with larger engines in races. I think it has to do with having a V6 in a small car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th May, 2003

1996 Chrysler Cirrus LX 2.5 L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired19850 miles
Most recent distance20375 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

Great car!

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong yet! I have had this car for 6 months.

General Comments:

This car has a lot of power. The size of the interior is very large compared to the exterior size of the car. The car has very nice seats, and is overall comfortable, but I wish Chrysler would have put an armrest in the middle of the car. It sometimes gets uncomfortable driving for a long time without one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd July, 2001

10th Jul 2005, 16:59

You can purchase a center armrest for about $50.00 from the Chrysler dealer.

1996 Chrysler Cirrus LX 2.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired23000 miles
Most recent distance51000 miles

Summary:

A high quality automobile

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with it yet.

Interior still looks great.

General Comments:

The car has some massive giddy up.

Also, a huge and impressive back seat is a one-up on the competition.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th June, 2001

1996 Chrysler Cirrus LX 2.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carPontiac Bonneville

Summary:

This Cirrus flies - it will do 125 if you give it good gas

Faults:

Tranny blew at 120,000.

General Comments:

Great car, I really love it. Nothing untypically wrong with the car. Has more than enough power, will burn out for 20 yards and will beat 99% of the cars in its class!

It's like riding on a "cloud". And the suspension is great - I made a 90* turn yesterday with all weather tires going 55 - the car handles great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th May, 2001

28th Jan 2002, 09:57

"...more than enough power, will burn out for 20 yards..."

I guess we know what happened to the transmission, eh Mario!

11th Jun 2009, 09:58

I wonder why? Heavy foot.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 14 reviews