2000 Chrysler Cirrus Reviews

2000 Chrysler Cirrus LX from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance165000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen GTI

Summary:

Loved this car until it burned to the ground

Faults:

Caught on fire yesterday less than 1 minute after I got my 3 year old son out of the car. By the time the fire department arrived, the entire car was gutted... as well as the siding on the side of my home.

General Comments:

Minus the fire, I had been very impressed with this car. Never had any major issues that I recall and it worked well for the duration. There was a recall for the power steering hose, which I did take to a dealer, however the fire concern is enough to not buy this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd July, 2009

2000 Chrysler Cirrus LXi 2.5 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.5 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 kilometres
Most recent distance222438 kilometres
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Poor choice when compared to other options available

Faults:

- Tie rod (inner & outer) on both sides constantly

- Oil pan rusted and leaking

- Trunk release cable slips and doesn't work intermittently

- Spindle on passenger side lost tread and had to be replaced because of only two bolts

- Transmission leak

- Trunk is damp - water leaks into it when raining.

General Comments:

All in all this car has generally been good to me; however, the cost of repairs over time have made this car an over priced ride.

Decent if looking for a sporty sedan, but there are much better options than this.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th January, 2009

2000 Chrysler Cirrus LXi 2.5 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.5 Don't Know
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance81400 miles
Previous carChrysler Cirrus

Summary:

Good

Faults:

I have a 2000 Chrysler Cirrus LXi. The main problem over the past month is non-start.

Vehicle is cranking fast, but won't turn over. The service mechanic has replaced all the spark plugs, ignition wires, and the battery. The latest replacement was for a crank sensor.

Total so far =$1,300 Canadian plus four towing costs!

Will they try to replace the distributor next for additional cost and will that solve my problem?

John - Brampton, Ontario.

General Comments:

I have not had a major problem with this vehicle in 8 years except for now - good car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th December, 2008

15th Oct 2011, 15:19

This problem is probably CAM position sensor and rotor.

2000 Chrysler Cirrus LXi V6 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 miles
Most recent distance171000 miles

Summary:

If it's good car at 170K, I wonder what it's like new

Faults:

Everything is great, but I had to bring it into the shop 2 times. It had something to do with the sensors. Don't know which one, but I remember it wouldn't start. Almost as if the battery was dead. Then again, @ 150K I guess you could expect something like this to happen. I'm going to drive it 'til it dies.

Other flaws are minor like the AC knob is iffy. I have to take it out, and then press it for it to work.

And also, the front part of the hood seems to rust. I noticed the rust issue on my dad's concord. Maybe it's a Chrysler thing.

General Comments:

Overall, the car is great. Having it at 170K miles and still driving smoothly, I can't complain. Since I got it at 150K, I wonder what it was like before that.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th October, 2008

2000 Chrysler Cirrus lxi 2.5 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.0 / 10
Distance when acquired19 miles
Most recent distance48000 miles
Previous carChrysler Cirrus

Summary:

I suggest you stay away from this car!

Faults:

My motor went at 48000 miles.

One year prior to this engine light came on and I had it service.

Brakes all around evey six months.

Cup holders, knobs on dash fall off.

Leather wear is terrible.

Seat belts not so good.

General Comments:

This car has cost me so much money, and I believed taking this vehicle to the dealer would keep this car in good shape for years to come. Until this day I was driving home from work and this cracking noise was so loud I pulled over and it was all over. I was told my motor was no good and quote from a chrysler's specialists at headquarters named Jamie "after all, Eileen, your car is six years old"

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th August, 2006

15th Aug 2006, 12:20

Yeah, 'cause ALL motors go bad at 6 yrs old.

What exactly went wrong with the engine?

15th Aug 2006, 14:58

"One year pior to this engine lite came on and I had it service."

Would that mean that you had the engine service only once in a year?

15th Aug 2006, 21:22

You must have had the 2.7 V6 this is a common problem with this motor. Don't feel like you're the only one both Honda and VW have problems with there 2.7 V6's also.

31st Aug 2006, 15:28

Brakes all round every six months? How many miles are you putting on this thing in six months? And what is wrong? You might just have a greedy mechanic! I love my cirrus Lx 4 cylinder. You might have gotten a lemon!

16th Dec 2006, 20:14

Hi I have the 2.4 litre 4 cylinder engine on my 2000 Chrysler cirrus and you seem to be having transmission problems with it leaking, all starting before winter (might be a coincidence). I have replaced the transmission solenoid once last winter and it looks like the same thing again!: (I love the car with everything else and I am a very easy driver, I just can't understand why! Does anyone else have this problem or am I just lucky?!

21st Mar 2007, 20:35

Check the transmission lines. In the winter the expand and contract with the hot/cold temperatures. A simple tightening will fix this. Had the same problem, didn't know what it was until I just thought of the lines. Best of luck.

20th Jun 2007, 11:12

I recently just bought my Cirrus 2000,and so far so good for the exception of the right rear brake, lots of issues already. Just bought new brake shoes, wheel cylinder, along with a new rotor. Now I have white smoke coming from the same wheel. I wonder what that is... oh well, car will probably be going back.

3rd Sep 2008, 09:27

I have a 2000 Cirrus, and at 132,000 km the motor went, oil pump got weak, can't keep the brakes on it. I put the 2.5 V6 in it and the starter motor went, and then in 6000 km with the new motor in the car, my struts, ball joints and most of my front end got bad! I'm buying imports from now on.

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 11 reviews