2000 Chrysler Cirrus Reviews - Page 3 of 3

2000 Chrysler Cirrus LX 4 CYLINDER from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4 CYLINDER Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 kilometres
Most recent distance50000 kilometres
Previous carSaturn SL

Summary:

Affordable sporty sedan

Faults:

Squeaky noise when steering wheel was turned, this ended up being the rack and pinion.

Clunk when going over speed bump, this ended up being front driver sway bar.

Noisy power steering, this was a simple adjustment of the belt.

Brakes squeak at low speeds, especially in the wet weather, the dealer said this is typical of asbestos brakes.

General Comments:

When I first test drove this car I instantly loved it. It has had a few problems with the steering and suspension system, the dealership was very good about fixing these problems under warranty, although I wonder why such items would wear out in such a short time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st May, 2002

8th Nov 2005, 15:24

I have a 2000 Chrysler Cirrus with squeaky, noisy brakes. I have had these replaced numerous times both under warranty and outside of warranty; both by a Chrysler dealer and an independent brake dealer. I still have squeaky, noisy brakes.

Going back to an original comment made by the dealer AFTER I purchased, 'this is a common Chrysler problem, but it doesn't affect the performance of the brakes'. If I had known this was a common problem I would not have purchased the car. As it is, I most certainly will not purchase another Chrysler product if I can help it.

Susan.

19th Oct 2007, 12:10

I have driven my brakes down to the minimum and they NEVER squeaked. I replaced them with new white box (low end) brake pads, rotors and shoes and (it is) still squeak free. Sorry to hear about your problems, but I'm not sure what is going wrong with your car!

2000 Chrysler Cirrus LX 2.4 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.4 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance19000 miles
Previous carDodge Spirit

Summary:

This car is going to outlive us!

Faults:

I had some small problems with the brakes, but the dealer fixed them promptly.

General Comments:

This car was built bulletproof! It has a great powertrain system and is built with no corners turned.

The car SCREAMS when you press the gas.

The brakes are excellent.

The layout, design and electronics are awesome.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th October, 2001

10th Jun 2006, 12:29

I agree! I have never had any problems with my car! even with my 4 cylinder it rockets off when you wave your foot over the gas pedal. I drive my cirrus pretty hard and it takes it! best car I will ever own and I'm not getting rid of it until its dead... which is going to be a long time!!!

12th Sep 2006, 23:02

I absolutely LOVE this car. I own a 2000 Chrysler Cirrus LXi bought in Sept. of '99, and as of Sept. '06, it now has 171,650 miles on it and has given me so little trouble it is hardly worth even mentioning. I still can see a lot more mileage in this car, and as another person here said, I'll drive it until it's dead!

13th Sep 2006, 10:41

I wonder if the car in the original review fell apart at 50,000 miles?

24th Feb 2007, 18:04

Hahahahaa pretty sure it did.

17th May 2010, 12:38

We have a 2000 Chrysler Cirrus, and the car runs great with almost 130.000 miles, but we have put over a $1000 plus into the brakes, and keep having problems with them, and I'm almost wondering if the car is worth the brake problem.

18th May 2010, 11:59

Junk junk junk rot boxes, and nothing but headaches.

21st Feb 2011, 11:09

I also have a 2000 Chrysler Cirrus with 150,000 miles and still running! Best car I have ever owned and kicks butt!

I am a loyal Chrysler fan!

22nd Feb 2011, 09:30

I've got a '99 Chrysler Cirrus LXi with only 83,000 miles. Has been very reliable so far, so I'm glad to see that it will be lasting me many more years to come!

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 11 reviews