1989 Chrysler Fifth Avenue 5.2 from North America

Summary:

Old square wind catcher, but more reliable than a Casio watch

Faults:

Many, many miles of trouble free driving.

General Comments:

Well, I do not know where to start. I picked up this antiquated Chrysler for 300 bucks last fall, because my 02 Impala died a quick death when the oil level went a little low.

I do a lot of driving to and from work, and was badly in need to get something as a stop gap, till I picked up something reliable, and preferably no more than 5 years old, and relatively cheap.

Well I'll be damned; this Fifth Ave is the most reliable car I have ever driven, and that includes Japanese and German also. I have not got round to changing the oil and filter yet, which I know is badly needed, but it doesn't use any, no matter how hard I drive this thing.

Sure, it is a bit of a hog on gas, especially around town, but out on the open road, it is more economical than the 3800 Impala, and a damn sight quieter.

My advice to anyone looking for an old school, cheap and reliable, A to Z ride; find one like this, and you will be onto a winner.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd September, 2012

23rd Sep 2012, 10:22

You haven't got around to changing the oil yet... Well alrighty then.

23rd Sep 2012, 11:05

19,000 miles without an oil change? No wonder your '02 Impala gave up the ghost!

23rd Sep 2012, 18:14

You haven't gotten around to changing the oil in a year, and you drive your car a lot for work?? Didn't you learn your lesson with your last car?

1989 Chrysler Fifth Avenue from North America

Summary:

I have driven more than 1 million miles, and have owned many cars; this is one of my favourites

Faults:

I have replaced the engine control module twice and the carburetor once. I have also replaced the pre-cats and main catalytic converter, and the oxygen sensor.

Handling isn't the best, but I have had other M-body cars that handled better. This one needs new shock absorbers.

There is a noise in the differential that sounds like bearing noise.

The headliner has detached from the roof and sags, and needs to be replaced.

General Comments:

A beautiful, elegant, quiet comfortable car. It's the second Fifth Avenue I have owned. I hope to keep this one for years to come. Front seat comfort is the best, like sitting on a cloud. The rear seat is a little short from the seat back to the front of the cushion.

Other than the catalytic converters, this car still has the original stainless steel exhaust.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th May, 2011

24th May 2011, 06:15

I had a Fifth Avenue years ago, and it was a reliable car; more reliable than the Chevys and Fords I had owned before it. Since then I have driven imports, Japanese and German, and OK they were a little more economical, but the problems of electronics and cost of parts would make an onion cry.

I know it sounds ironic, but I am on the lookout for a Fifth Avenue once again; preferably a one owner, pampered, time warp example, because with all the cars I have driven in the past 25 years, nothing comes close to the classy styling of the Chryslers of that genre, and also they were not all that bad on fuel if you drove them humanely.

25th May 2011, 08:48

Nothing is a reliable as an unstressed V8, especially the 318. It is not the fastest, but has regular oil and Purolator filter changes. Believe me, Purolator filters are the best, and Chryslers will run forever, especially the 318 5.2L.

1989 Chrysler Fifth Avenue from North America

Summary:

This is a great road car, but is not for short trips about town.

Faults:

I had to replace the starter in 2005.

Replaced the fuel pump in 2006.

Headliner was sagging when I purchased it.

Paint began to peel of the top in 2004.

General Comments:

This car is very reliable.

The passenger compartment is quite tight with more than 4 passengers.

Although it might be considered a granny car, I like the old school style and the chrome trim which is lacking in new cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th April, 2006

23rd Mar 2009, 11:13

My husband and I are looking at a 1988 Fifth, one owner, elderly lady, well maintained, covered parking, great condition, interior immaculate, 4 Dr, not sure of the engine size, white/blue across the middle/blue interior. He wants us to purpose, I'm concerned about gas mileage. Have you heard of a part you could put on the vehicle that would save gas?