1998 Chrysler Grand Voyager Reviews

1998 Chrysler Grand Voyager LE 3.3 V6 from UK and Ireland

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.3 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired128000 miles
Most recent distance128000 miles
Previous carRenault Laguna

Summary:

AMAZING

Faults:

I have only just bought the car and it started to over heat. Control module that powers the fan was broke, replace it and car is working great. The horn and the cruise control don't work, but that is due the the clockspring being faulty, this was a recall issue. Won't be long till its back at the dealer for that to be fixed.

General Comments:

This has been the first people carrier that I have owned and I must admit it won't be the last. The Voyager is such a luxury car, full leather, cruise control, tinted windows and alloys this car has the works. With a family it is great for the kids, they have their choice of where to sit, apart is best. It's a bit slow on changing gears, but it goes like stink. 3.3 v6 you would think it really is fast, but with a top speed of only 111mph (not that I have been at that speed) I was expecting it to go a lot faster. Only problem is the stereo, it's a cassette player, aaahhhh. Getting changed ASAP.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st February, 2006

1998 Chrysler Grand Voyager LE 3.3 V6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.3 V6 Automatic
Distance when acquired9 miles
Most recent distance70629 miles
Previous carToyota Supra

Summary:

Manufacture not of acceptable quality

Faults:

Catastrophic engine failure (broke engine rod at 62,280 miles)

General Comments:

Manufacturer refused liability even after I provided an expert engineers report stating cause was faulty manufacture.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st December, 2004

12th Jan 2006, 11:19

I'm in a similar position in that I have a broken big-end which has lost the piston - and I've only done 37,000 in 4 years.

Chrysler UK decline to offer any goodwill payment, as one of the scheduled services was about four months late.

I think it's appalling and will never buy another Chrysler, nor will I recommend it to any friends, relations or colleagues, many of whom have MPVs, and most of whom have Renault Espaces.

Maybe they knew something I didn't!

12th Jan 2006, 21:47

Very interesting problem. I've heard of some of these Caravans/Voyagers have automatic transmission difficulties, but have never heard of them throwing a rod. Never, ever. Which engine was this? Was the oil level checked, with the oil and filter changed every 3,000 miles? How many miles were on the engine at the time of failure? Were you driving at over 7,000 RPMs or something? I'm curious for the details because I've never heard of this problem before.

24th Oct 2012, 20:13

My Chrysler Grand Voyager has had repeated major breakdown issues... transmission, central processing unit, radiator, cooling fan relay switch, air conditioning compressor pump, horn and accessory lights faulty - warranty job, belt squealing, which the Chrysler dealership cannot resolve. Power steering pump... the list goes on and on... I will never buy another Chrysler.

1998 Chrysler Grand Voyager 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired16 miles
Most recent distance52000 miles
Previous carChrysler Toyota

Summary:

A great car for a starting family

Faults:

Engine began tapping at 38,000 miles when the car was first started in the mornings. Now that I'm over here in Kuwait, my wife tells me that the engine oil is disappearing after a month of driving. There are no leaks, and no smoke from the engine while driving. Make sure you check the oil often.

General Comments:

This is a dream machine on the road. I wish I had the money back then to buy the 3.3L or 3.8L model. I'm going to buy the new 2005 model and try it out before ending my love affair with Chrysler. Thanks Chrysler for a great automobile. It has served my family well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th May, 2004

1998 Chrysler Grand Voyager LE 3.3 V6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.3 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired118000 miles
Most recent distance201000 miles
Previous carDodge Grand Caravan

Summary:

A wolf in sheep's clothing, just watch those speed cameras!!

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

OK I have to say that I wrote a comment to someone's review a few months ago& I said I would not buy another Chrysler.

Well I have to say that since we needed a people carrier. I took every other people carrier for a drive. I must say that my last choice was a Grand Voyager and guess what I bought it.. I have to say it is THE best car I have driven.

I paid less for it than all the other car's I was considering.

OK it's big, but fun to drive.

It goes like the clappers to put it mildly.

I outrun those pesky boy racers, who try to overtake me as I approach the motorway merge lane then BOOM I'm gone, they are not expecting that!!

If you are going to buy a people carrier with some serious power and good looks then it has to be the Grand Voyager..

Make sure you get the 3.3 V6 it's amazing..

If you are prepared to pay the extra for the car, then you have to expect a little more on gas.. 18mpg not bad.

Full leather, full electrics. the works.

The kids love it as well no more sardines in the back!!

Go on spoil yourself!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th October, 2003

19th May 2004, 03:51

But on paper the 2.5 TDI is faster on acceleration, higher top speed and much more economical.

If you can live with the noise and the agricultural manual gearbox then the 2.5 TDI is the one to go for.

6th Aug 2006, 05:31

I've owned my Grand Voyager for 5 years and agree it's a great family car - plenty of space, heaps of room for luggage and plenty of power.

I also find the 3.3 litre engine very economical, getting around 30 mpg on trips (up to 40 mpg on flat touring) and around 23 mpg around the city.

One detraction are the brakes, having replaced the front disks and needed them machined twice. The pads also wear heavily if they are not run-in properly.

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 7 reviews