2001 Chrysler Intrepid Reviews - Page 2 of 2

2001 Chrysler Intrepid RT 3.5 Magnum from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.5 Magnum Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired5000 kilometres
Most recent distance220000 kilometres
Previous carChrysler Intrepid

Summary:

Would buy another one

Faults:

Only thing that went bad was the door locks have seize. they still work, but gotta be pushed down manually..

General Comments:

Overall had it for 5 years and it still runs great. got 220 000 km on it, but all highway km from Barrie to Toronto. the inside interior is in great condition. handles great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th September, 2006

1st Jan 2007, 12:28

What do you think of the 3.5 liter engine or the 3.3 liter engine?

2001 Chrysler Intrepid from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired23000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carChrysler Isuzu Rodeo

Summary:

Good body design-fooler-bad engine

Faults:

120,000 MILES it overheated. Had towed to garage. Said anti-freeze in oil. Take to dealer. Had towed to dealer. Put on machine said anti-freeze in oil. Would not work on. Said to replace engine with labor would be $7,000.00. To buy rebuilt engine would be at least $4200.00. They said with the miles on it they would not put the money into it. They would junk it.

It is now sitting in the garage and we make payments on it every month! On top of that we had to buy another vehicle. We just talked with another mechanic and he said he would not touch it. Said is worst design of engine he has ever seen. He stated even the water pump is built in the engine. WHO WOULD DO SUCH A THING??? You would have to take the engine apart even to change water pump!! I think Chrysler owes us.

General Comments:

Car was great until this happened.

We bought a brand new Isuzu Rodeo in 1992.

We just sold it last year with 298,000 miles on it.

Granted when you even did a minor repair it was very expensive.

But I would rather have the Rodeo instead of a broken down Chrysler Intrepid.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd August, 2006

15th Feb 2010, 22:35

I will be sending my beautiful, dark gray 2001 Intrepid to the junk yard because of anti-freeze flowing into the oil pan. This is the second engine, and it only has 4,500 miles, and yes, I typed that correctly, four-thousand five hundred miles on it.

The original engine was covered under warranty when I bought the car with 31,000 miles on it in 2002. Due to oil light flickering in 2006, the dealership put in a re-built engine at 39,900 miles, (my cost under warranty $100, yes $100).

The body has 43,500 miles on it now and is in great shape. I changed oil long before the 3,000 mile mark regularly. Called the Chrysler Assistance Center, told my story, called local Chrysler dealership. Played phone tag several times.

My engine is out of the 36,000/3 year warranty. I was going to take it to Chrysler to see if they would do something for me, but after reading many, many comments on the web, and talking to the over-burdened junk yards of Intrepid parts, I decided to forget talking with Chrysler. Nothing will be done anyway.

Thank God the car has been paid for over 2 years. My mechanic, the junk yard owners and Internet comments all said the 2.7 engine is a bad design. I loved that beautiful car, and now I have to say goodbye.

I am now saying goodbye to Chrysler, and will never buy another Chrysler product.

17th Feb 2010, 01:55

Basically, Chrysler has been bankrupt, near bankrupt or 2 steps away from of being bankrupt since the early seventies. Never mind the Iacocca years, the picture is the same. And a company struggling to survive has to chose cheap solutions. In the eighties they were smart enough to simply purchase a lot of technology and not to try to invent anything themselves, like the small engine strategy fitting the cars with technology from VW, Peugeot (Simca), Mitsubishi, Renault.

The problems starts when Chrysler tries to do something all to themselves. What happens is as following:

1. They make something durable, but which is technologically obsolete before it's even introduced, like their current V6/V8 line of engines. Reliable engines; but noisy, harsh, heavy, thirsty.

2. They fail catastrophically like with the Ultradrive or the LH line of engines, the 2.7L being the worst.

Daimler tried to straighten them out, but failed. Now it's Fiat that's going to get their fingers burned. The government bailed them out in the Iacocca years, but they've never really recovered. Just hanging in there making mediocre or poor cars.

24th Aug 2010, 14:28

Chrysler made an Intrepid. I have a junk one in my front yard. Bad motor.

2001 Chrysler Intrepid 2.7 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.7 Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.5 / 10
Distance when acquired105000 miles
Most recent distance115000 miles
Previous carDodge Durango

Summary:

Rides great, but small problems and I can only blame me for getting the car

Faults:

This car rides great and it did when I first purchased it.. I later notice that it was using oil, but could not find a leak and still can't.

At this time I am having trouble with the #6 plug fowling out and the use of oil and still no leaks. Is there any help. Also had to replace the transmission. I lucked up on a transmission with only 31,000. the Car runs great until the #6 plug fowls out.

Somebody is there any hope.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th May, 2006

2001 Chrysler Intrepid SE 2.7 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.7 Automatic
Distance when acquired52000 miles
Most recent distance61770 miles

Summary:

It not a good car at all

Faults:

My power-steeling went out at 54000miles.

My steeling pulley broke at 54312 miles.

My wheel on the drive-side is making noise.

.my broke is making noise when you stop.

My car is shifting funny at 67177.

General Comments:

This car shake while on the road mostly the steeling shake like crazy.

The car is starting to act like the transmission is going out. when you on the highway and pick up speed it refuse.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd May, 2005

Average review marks: 5.6 / 10, based on 8 reviews