1990 Chrysler LeBaron Reviews - Page 4 of 4

1990 Chrysler LeBaron Coupe 3.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 miles
Most recent distance115000 miles
Previous carBuick Regal

Summary:

Quality for the price

Faults:

A fusible link burnt out, causing the car not to start. Other than that, just the obvious repairables.. ie brakes, tires.

General Comments:

This has been a good car. The peeling paint is the only think that I don't like. The engine seems to still be going strong. Hopefully it keeps up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 2002

1990 Chrysler LeBaron Sport Coupe 3.0L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.0L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 miles
Most recent distance89000 miles

Summary:

A fast, high performance, reliable machine

Faults:

Only regular maintenance items!

Muffler.

Brakes.

Tires.

General Comments:

This car has been great. A very fast car, and still in style. It has been cheap to run, and very reliable. Plus, it is a 1990 and more luxurious than most 2001's.

Has a digital dash, 3 trip computers, calculates miles per gallon, trip time, all the cool stuff.

Why aren't they putting great gizmo's like that in car's today?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd May, 2001

8th Feb 2002, 13:22

Isn't yours burning oil out of the exhaust yet?

10th Feb 2002, 15:59

I have had a LeBaron sports coupe for 3 years. Lately I have had problems with it. I put a transmission in and now my lights that flip open the motor have burned out. I don't know if it is just wear and tear on my car. Otherwise, it's a decent car.

1990 Chrysler LeBaron Premium 3.0 liter V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.0 liter V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired83000 miles
Most recent distance87000 miles
Previous carChrysler Newport

Summary:

Fun in the sun

Faults:

Gasket.

Spark plugs.

That's about it.

General Comments:

I just got my LeBaron from my dad in January.

It's a great car.

Mine is white with a white top and a blue interior.

Unfortunately it got hail damaged pretty bad a couple of weeks ago.

I'll keep you posted.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th April, 2001

4th Jun 2001, 14:06

The LeBaron just got a new convertible top, does anyone know were I could find a trunk for a 1990 Chrysler LeBaron?

1990 Chrysler LeBaron Premium 3.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired63000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles

Summary:

Great car for the price

Faults:

The LeBaron is a very stable car, not having too much go wrong with it. The engine does burn oil and the paint is peeling, which are familiar with all LeBarons.

I did replace two radiators and had 2 new sets of motor mounts installed in a period of six months... but that was all my fault.

You wouldn't expect the LeBaron to be able to perform, but that 3.0 pushes 141HP and can beat many low priced cars in its class.

General Comments:

I've had the car for a year now and have put probably $4000 into it for repairs. Not because the car breaks a lot, but because I push the hell out of it.

It had been given a 0-60 time of 8.8 seconds or more. I've gotten it there in 7 and sometimes a bit less without any performance upgrades.

It's a great car, and even though it's quite beat up I still love it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th December, 2000

20th Apr 2001, 22:27

I agree with you, is yours a coupe or a a convertible, mine is a convertible.

20th Jun 2004, 07:04

I have had a Chrysler Le baron Convertible for over 10 years now. I bought it used. The car originally came from Florida. I live in New York State. The car now has over 200,000 miles on it. I have had a few problems with it such as replacing the transmission and a new top, but over all it has been an excellent car. I intend to be driving it for many more years. The body is in excellent condition and the motor continues to purr along. As long as the engine is properly maintain I feel it will continue to give good service.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 14 reviews