1994 Chrysler LHS Reviews - Page 4 of 8

1994 Chrysler LHS 3.5 liter 24 valve from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.5 liter 24 valve Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired84000 miles
Most recent distance93000 miles
Previous carChrysler New Yorker

Summary:

CHRYSLER LHS, caviar, at a pizza price!

Faults:

This is the second CHRYSLER I've owned.

The only problem with my LHS was with the cooling system.

A new thermostat quickly remedied the problem.

Had to replace the powertrain control module last month.

The low washer fluid light stays on all the time, That's really annoying!!

The engine makes a loud clacking sound, which probably means a valve job is due.

(24 valves, yikes)

General Comments:

This car is the best value I've ever had!

Quick acceleration as well as superb braking power!

The air conditioning is ice cold, not bad for a ten year old car, huh?!

As soon as this car wears out, I'm definetly buying another LHS!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th August, 2004

1994 Chrysler LHS 3.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.5 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired59900 kilometres
Most recent distance104500 kilometres
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

A car with a bullet proof engine, questionable transmission, and a comfortable ride

Faults:

Transmission was replaced soon after I bought the car, it could have lasted much longer had I bought it brand new.

Air conditioning is the weakest part of this car,mine was finally fixed three years ago and it has been excellent ever since.

General Comments:

After initial repairs on transmission and air conditioning, this car has been the most reliable, most comfortable, most attractive car I have ever owned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd August, 2004

1994 Chrysler LHS 3.5L V6 gasoline from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.5L V6 gasoline Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance90380 miles
Previous carChevrolet Lumina

Summary:

Nice driving car, but has many problems

Faults:

The transmission went out at 40,000 miles. Was fixed under warranty.

The air conditioner has been fixed over 5 times.

The water pump and timing belt broke at 60,000 miles.

Started making a weird clunking noise whenever the car would go over a bump. Got that fixed around 80,000 miles.

General Comments:

This is a big car that is fun to drive. Very quiet and accelerates quickly and smoothly.

All of the seats are very comfortable and roomy. The back seat is like a sofa and has plenty of leg room.

The trunk is big enough to fit almost anything.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th February, 2004

10th Aug 2005, 04:29

I have one, and it's a piece of crap on wheels. Replaced transmission at 103k. Now 21k later it's breaking up again. Too bad the warranty covers only 20k and not 21. It's a nice looking car, but that won't make up for it's problems.

1994 Chrysler LHS 3.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.5 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired103600 miles
Most recent distance117500 miles
Previous carFord Crown Victoria

Summary:

Many problems for what could be a decent vehicle

Faults:

The ABS light was always on.

The traction control did not work.

The air conditioning was not cold.

General Comments:

I thought this car was worth more than what I purchased it for.

I bought the car for $2000 two years ago.

I sold the car at an auction this week for $500.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th November, 2003

22nd Mar 2004, 18:55

I had the same problem with traction control, but I know it works, it just seems like it doesn't because the engine is so powerful at low speeds that the car still spins out.

1994 Chrysler LHS 3.5L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.5L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired158000 miles
Most recent distance166000 miles
Previous carGMC S-15

Summary:

The life long friend that will cost you a little

Faults:

There has been a lot of things that have gone wrong with this car. The first big thing was my fault and should not be held against this car. The second was that transmission went and I had to fight the dealership to get me another. The third has happened recently where the car has over heated for no apparent reason. It only happened to be the thermostat, but they also found the rotors were warped and that the exhaust system was dangling by a thread. There is only on problem on the interior and that is that the driver seat has one bad spot that is no bigger than 1" squared.

General Comments:

For a huge car, it drives and performs like it is on rails. The 3.5L has a ton of horsepower on tap and it can burn the front tires with traction control off. During the short time which I have owned this I have had to replace the tires at least twice from excessive wear.

The interior is extremely nice for a car that is nine years old. It has more bells and whistles than my moms new Saturn Vue and it all still works beautifully. As I said before there is one bad spot on the leather, but that is it.

The ride is nice and smooth although it is really low. You do not notice till you are beside a truck or a van. I have taken this car down several country roads and have done better than my friends S-15. These cars are built to last and please you till the end.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th October, 2003

10th Jan 2005, 20:28

When the car was overheating were you getting Steam coming from the front end as if you had a leak?? The 1994 LHS I am driving has 178,000 miles on it and has steam coming out of it bad when it gets warmed up.

The other problem I am having is a supposed loss of compression. I got the car from my dad so not sure how to fix that and wondering if there is anything I can do to fix it. Any help would be good.

Thanks.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 28 reviews