1997 Chrysler Neon Reviews - Page 4 of 4

1997 Chrysler Neon LE 2.0i 16v from Finland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0i 16v Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired59000 kilometres
Most recent distance0 kilometres
Previous carMazda 323

Summary:

Chrysler Neon is still young, but already a classic

Faults:

No problems at all, the car is as reliable as a trained dog.

Some adjustments had to be done (as in every car).

In my opinion people who are whining about the Neon, shouldn't probably own a car in a first place :-/

General Comments:

I don't see why some people are whining about the Neon. You take care of the car and the car takes care of you, simple as that. Neons do not need big reparations if you can handle them right, - but if you mess with them, it's no wonder they break, like any car does.

The Neon is not a noisy car as many people claim; the magic is in the tires, buy proper tires, and the car is silent. Again, use your brains and the car works fine for you. Chrysler makes good quality and uses materials which last.

Design inside and out is cool, and the overall feel is reliable, sporty and elegant. There is enough space and the back seats can be taken down if necessary.

The automatic gear box works as a clock, silent with a help of a powerful engine.

Power steering and handling feels reliable and good.

Everything you need is in a logical place and is marked properly for everyday use.

This car is competing in the same series as the Toyota Avensis, Opel Vectra, Volkswagen Passat, Honda Accord, Nissan Primera and Mitsubishi Charisma... and think about that list for a while, and then say Neon doesn't cut it, - it does.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th April, 2001

19th Apr 2001, 17:06

Something amiss here - people complaining about Neons or Chryslers are almost always be from America/Canada; Chrysler appears to have average reliability in the UK (Lex Report) and Germany (Chrysler on the whole). I'm in New Zealand - no bad news spreading here either. Hang on -- are Chryslers for export outside Nth America assembled in a different plant with different components???

1997 Chrysler Neon SE from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.6 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance92000 miles

Summary:

HUGE disappointment, not worth the trouble

Faults:

The second day I had the car the air went out, which they fixed at no cost.

I have replaced tires at least once each year, all four a year.

Interior is falling apart.

Presently I have an electrical problem that three different mechanics can not find.

I have replaced three new batteries just within the past two months. There is a draw somewhere, but they can't find it, therefore there is no problem?

This car is a joke!

General Comments:

I will never ever make the mistake of owning a Chrysler product again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd August, 2000

26th Aug 2001, 05:18

Why don't you buy a car battery charger instead and recharge your battery? It costs less than a new one every time.

19th Sep 2002, 16:32

Let me see. You have done nearly 90,000 miles in 3 years & you complain about having to replace tyres once a year? I think 30,000 miles out of a set of tyres is pretty good.

3rd May 2008, 03:23

Don't judge Chrysler on one vehicle. Chrysler has built many other very reliable, hardworking and classic styled vehicles!

8th Sep 2010, 11:34

To the above comment: They may have built some good cars 30 years ago but not recently. All that they build nowadays are gas guzzling, unreliable pieces of crap!

1997 Chrysler Neon SE 2.0 gasoline from Mexico

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 gasoline Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.3 / 10
Distance when acquired55000 kilometres
Most recent distance67000 kilometres
Previous carMazda 626

Summary:

Only good if it's free

Faults:

The ventilation system blows out hot air no matter where the heater dial is set, haven't had it fixed yet.

General Comments:

I was given the Neon as a company car; if I had actually invested any of my own money in it I'd be very disappointed. The car only has a 2 litre engine but it drinks petrol, which, combined with a small tank gives a very short range.

It is extremely noisy at anything over 50 mph which will drive you crazy after a long trip of two or three hours. The ride is awful - you feel every bump and are catapulted towards the roof at every speed bump even if you take them at granny speed.

The auto transmission has only three speeds and when thinking about changing gear is very indecisive - my girlfriend buys clothes faster. Even if you lightly press the gas pedal going up a hill, the car will hesitate, shift down to second with accompanying raucous engine noise and jerk you forward.

All this is totally unacceptable for a nineties car. The company I work at has now stopped buying Chrysler and started buying Jettas. I hope mine gets replaced soon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd July, 2000

1997 Chrysler Neon SE 2.0 from Finland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance73000 kilometres
Previous carRenault 19

Faults:

Rattles from various places.

Brakes are noisy (tried to fix once by the local dealer, helped for only about 3000 kilometers).

Gear selection (will be fixed by the dealer without extra cost).

Central locking (motor in the passenger door broke, fixed without extra cost).

General Comments:

Not very comfortable, not very solid. Nice to drive but 4 speed auto would be nice.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th February, 2000

1997 Chrysler Neon LX 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
Engine and transmission 2.0
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10

Faults:

Front brake disks required replacement.

Indicator stalk replaced twice.

General Comments:

Generally a good car - excellent value for money, a lot of goodies for the price.

It's a pity that the car is only made as a saloon only (no hatchback) and that when the Chrysler boffins tuned the suspension for European tastes they made the ride too hard. I have driven the American version which was just right.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th June, 1999

Average review marks: 6.0 / 10, based on 12 reviews