2001 Chrysler Neon Reviews

2001 Chrysler Neon LX from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Automatic

Faults:

Almost everything you can think of has gone wrong with this vehicle, starting from just a few months after purchasing it brand new.

The brakes squeaking horribly from the very start, and everything else related to the brakes.

Tie rods, control arm assembly and bushings, not once, but twice repaired.

Tires replaced, battery replaced, 02 sensor replaced early on, transmission problems, wheel bearings, air condition condenser and front audio speakers blown.

This vehicle has been a pain and never drove smoothly after the first day. Bumpy and vibrating ride, and going up a hill would have been easier on a bicycle as far as power goes.

What a joke this car turned out to be.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th October, 2010

2001 Chrysler Neon LE 2.0L from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.0L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 kilometres
Most recent distance95000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Cheap, comfortable car, and reliable if well taken car of

Faults:

Reverse light switch replaced on warranty.

Starter replaced on warranty.

Cam seal and timing belt replaced on warranty.

Replaced spark plugs and wires.

Replaced all rear shocks.

Replaced both belts.

Replaced alternator.

Replaced front and rear brakes.

Front CV joint makes ticking noises.

Trunk latch jammed close.

Trunk leaks water.

General Comments:

Very comfortable car for long drives, but it costs a lot on gas on the highway thanks to its 3 speed automatic, but in the city it had great gas mileage. Had a very good stereo with a 6 disc CD changer. Handled the road very well and comfortably.

I did have a lot of problems with the car, but I negelected to do the maintenance, I drove it hard and I parked on the grass for 8 months in the summer (the reason why my alternator seized and broke all the belts). So I can't complain on its reliability.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd November, 2009

2001 Chrysler Neon SE 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired55000 miles
Most recent distance67000 miles
Previous carHyundai Atoz

Summary:

Well priced car, no BMW 3-series, but good for the price

Faults:

Nothing Yet.

General Comments:

Better standard equipment than most in class.

Comfortable interior, with great driving position. Materials and Plastics quality poor.

Ride and Handling trade-off just about right.

Engine surprisingly economical, averaging 38-45mpg (uk gallons) ; actually more economical than my 1.0 litre Hyundai atoz I drove before. Seems to use a lot of oil though. Good Performance above 3500rpm, but no much low end. Gearbox has nice action, but ratios could be spaced better. Engine is unrefined, and noisy above 2500rpm/on the motorway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd January, 2007

2001 Chrysler Neon LE 2.2 Litre from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.2 Litre Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance330000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Prelude

Summary:

Very pleased. Good value for money

Faults:

Tires wear quickly. Switched to P195 60 R15. Not the recommended size, but work fine.

Aside from excessive tire wear, nothing out of the ordinary. Replaced front pads and rotars twice. Replaced rear pads once. Had timing belt changed at 160,000 kms, and just had rad replaced.

Front end is a little loose right now though and probably in need of work!

General Comments:

I change the oil monthly and have never had an engine problem. It just keeps going and going.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st March, 2006

5th Mar 2006, 20:13

I'm a big advocate of regular oil and filter changes. My first thought was "Wow, he changes oil every month?!" But then I saw that in just a few years you've rolled up 330,000 kms. No wonder! Keep it going, and good luck.

5th Jun 2006, 02:11

I bought a Chrysler Neon in 2002. I have never had to do any serious repairs on the car and find this very good seeing as the car I had before this one was totally reliant on repairs. This is a perfect car and I am really considering driving it as long as I am alive, it is just too much hassle buying a new car. So I really agree with this review.

2001 Chrysler Neon LX 2.0 from South Africa

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 kilometres
Most recent distance62000 kilometres

Summary:

Good Value

Faults:

Haven't replaced a part yet.

Fuel consumption terribly high.

Sluggish on inclines long distance.

General Comments:

A lot of value for the price however fuel consumption gets me down. Only getting 400km from a full tank.

Transmission seems to be very erratic especially on inclines (long distance) often having to kick down, with engine revving too high.

Otherwise a fantastic car.

Any ideas out there?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th November, 2005

2001 Chrysler Neon LE 2.0 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired67000 kilometres
Most recent distance106000 kilometres
Previous carPlymouth Sundance

Summary:

Decent car has potential

Faults:

Transmission started to get sluggish just didn't feel right 80,000 kilometers.

Water leak around tail lights into trunk and rear passenger floor.

General Comments:

Not a bad car, didn't like the height of the rear tray, bad visibility.

Not very good traction in the snow, light front end.

Didn't like the front wheel hop when accelerating.

Good gas mileage and spacious interior.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st February, 2005

2001 Chrysler Neon LX 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired13000 kilometres
Most recent distance60000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

Cheap and not the best quality

Faults:

Distibuter and plugs were changed at about 40,000 km.

Front Suspension bushings were making noise and changed out at about 25,000 km.

Rear passenger upper strut mount was changed at about 55,000 km because it was making noise.

It should have an over drive. It seemed like the engine rev's too high at high speeds.

Fuel economy wasn't as good as I was told by the sales person.

General Comments:

Very cheap car for getting around town. Not a good car if you plan to do commuting to work longer distances like I do.

I replaced this car with a Volkswagen Golf. I am enjoying the Golf much better than the Neon.

It seemed that the quality in the Neon wasn't there.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st August, 2004

6th Oct 2004, 16:04

If I were you, I would have went for the upgraded Auto tranny for a few hundred bucks more.. it's a 4 speed auto/ with O/d.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 7 reviews