1989 Chrysler New Yorker Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1989 Chrysler New Yorker from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired160000 miles
Most recent distance165000 miles

Summary:

I will be looking for another one if any thing bad happens to this one

Faults:

Mysterious shut down while idling at stop lights because of a bad PCV valve.

Interior door trimming came loose and needed to be glued back on because the rivets had broken.

General Comments:

This car has a great ride a comfort factor and could be compared to other American luxury cars with favor.

I am very surprised and happy with the power this 3.0 sedan delivers and on the highway, it can smoke most of the little hyped up tuner cars with ease.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th May, 2005

1989 Chrysler New Yorker from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired98000 kilometres
Most recent distance172000 kilometres
Previous carChrysler Concorde

Summary:

A nice comfortable ride, but be prepared to spend a fortune on transmission repairs

Faults:

Transmission replaced two years before I bought it. We found this out after the first time in the shop because of transmission problems.

Sensor in transmission replaced after owning for one year.

Converter in transmission replaced after two years.

Five towing charges when it would just quit shifting into gear, engine was still running, but not going anywhere.

Twice had the transmission drained and new filter and oil put in. It worked for about a month after each of those times.

Now it shifts into "limp home mode" and this time the shift cable was replaced. Two days later same problem.

Water leaks into trunk, replaced rubber.

Water leaks inside car from the windshield, had that resealed.

Passenger power window doesn't work well, goes up and down very slow.

Air conditioner doesn't work anymore and can't be fixed as it is an R12 model and not allowed to be fixed.

Trim on doors fell off, can't be fixed easily as the rivets broke.

Passenger rear door power lock quit working and could not open door. At that point had all the power locks disconnected, we prefer to do it manually, found it is safer with a small child. The power locks would automatically lock doors at 25 Kilometers and if you happened to have your arm out the window at that moment, it hurts when it gets pinched.

Many other numerous problems with this car, so far we have spent $3500 on repairs and the transmission is still not fixed.

General Comments:

I would not recommend a Chrysler product until they come up with a better transmission. After checking out several websites and service centers and talking to other car dealers, I have heard that the transmission problems are a recurring theme with Chrysler.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th October, 2004

7th Aug 2005, 23:24

True the overdrive transmissions are a pain - however try and get any other american vehicle to outperform a Chrysler - and you will fail miserably.

28th Mar 2011, 03:01

There's a ground strap on the transmission that gets corroded and will cause the "limp home mode". Clean or replace that ground and any other grounds. Also I've heard about a factory 3 wire splice that gets corroded and has the same effect. There are also speed sensors, solenoids, and the TCM, that when they get corroded or faulty, will put it into limp mode. If it is mechanical you can unscrew one of the speed sensors (the back one is usually easier to access) and check for abnormal metal filings, since it is a magnetic sensor. Hopefully that saves time and money.

1989 Chrysler New Yorker Landau 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired125000 kilometres
Most recent distance145000 kilometres

Summary:

Definitely not even close to a Cadillac

Faults:

The gas tank, pump and float all went.

The car rusted very quickly.

2 power windows broke.

Steering column broke.

Oil leaks and burns.

Radiator broke.

Climate control system never worked properly.

Cassette deck broke.

Power locks broke on some doors.

All sorts of small plastic parts inside the car started falling of or breaking.

General Comments:

This car has good pick-up and passing.

However it guzzled the gas.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th January, 2004

1989 Chrysler New Yorker Base 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired131265 kilometres
Most recent distance183452 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

This car is the biggest lemon ever

Faults:

Both axles were shot right when I got it. The water pump cracked a week later costing $1000 to replace. During the whole winter the car would not start due to a faulty computer. This also cost $1000. The shocks bottom out after I replaced them. It drinks oil like nobody's business. Even the dealer can't figure this out. It goes through 2 litres of oil a week.

General Comments:

Biggest lemon ever. The dealer who sold it to me said nothing would go wrong for a while, but he was wrong. I must admit it accelerates like a mother, but the handling sucks. It has an enormous turning circle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th June, 2002

19th Feb 2005, 17:59

Canadians certainly have high expectations for a 15-year-old, 80,000-mile vehicle purchase...

7th Jan 2006, 12:09

Don't bother replacing the valve stem seals. It costs a fortune in labor and they last a matter of months. If you want reliability and few repairs, this is not a good older car to own. I own the 89 New Yorker Landau and it is in the shop every other month, and it has been meticulously maintained and driven carefully its entire life.

20th Mar 2010, 20:35

Funny, I have one that has not been maintained well and it is only in the shop for routine oil changes.

30th Apr 2013, 19:29

Pre-90 or so 3L V6s are inevitable oil burners. Chrysler of course developed them to be as cheap as possible to manufacture, and powerful. Valve stem guides wear out, as well as the oil control rings. Mitsu variants have the same problems (Sigma is an analogous oil burner). Avoid the early 3L Chrysler products unless it's been professionally rebuilt or replaced with a '91+ engine.

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 8 reviews