2005 Chrysler PT Cruiser Touring Edition from North America


No more Chryslers for me


Bought new in 2005:

- At <18k miles (8/1/08), NEW stock radio.

- At <19k miles (8/29/08), NEW oil sending unit (dealt with since 12/22/06 <9k miles; they just never could figure it out).

- At 43k miles (7/19/13), NEW timing belt & tensioner, water pump, engine gasket pkg, oil pan & head resurfacing.

- At 44k miles (9/25/13), another NEW oil sending unit.

- Still needing to replace the case plug, as it's been leaking since the 9/25/13 work was done (another $200).

- A couple of the door locks have been finicky for awhile now, it's just not been on the priority list.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st April, 2014

2005 Chrysler PT Cruiser Base 2.4 from North America


Love it - would buy another


Sure, the mileage is not the best, and it takes a few more feet to turn it around, but I knew that when I bought it. I read the reviews. Suggest others do the same before they buy any car. Less restating the obvious that way.

As for me, the PT meets my needs for a decent people hauler with a lot of versatility. Mine cost me $14500.00 out the door for a year end model. Ugly or not, there isn't much that can touch it for that money that will haul as much, except perhaps a Scion xB

General Comments:

So far (touch wood) I have had zero problems with the PT. It is a base model with zero options, and other than putting on a set of new tires, oil changes, and new filters, this car has seen zero shop time.

This is also the third PT I have owned. Both previous Cruisers were '01's. One was a touring model and the other was a loaded limited edition. Both were stick shift, and each gave me over a hundred thousand miles without a worry. I see others have not been so lucky.

I like my PT, and would buy another if and when this one poops out. I don't expect that any time soon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th March, 2010

2005 Chrysler PT Cruiser from North America


Horrible car, but cute


My turbo had to be replaced after 50,000 miles.

My transmission had to be rebuilt after 80,000 miles.

The engine feels like it's about to fall out, because the car makes noises.

General Comments:

The seats are uncomfortable.

The engine is too loud.

Too many repairs required at high mileage.

After so many miles, the car sucks.

It is not made for driving long distances.

It is cute, but mechanically it's horrible.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd May, 2009

2nd May 2009, 10:38

It is a turbo and you still give it a zero in performance.

What would you give one with the base engine, a negative 10?

28th Apr 2010, 22:09

I recently got my PT 2005, has 250,000 miles on it, I now know that it's impossible to race... 24 MPG like my 2001 Chevrolet Tracker did, but it still a comfortable car to ride, a lot of inside space.

I have the car for a month now and already replaced the battery, the motor from the A/C, brakes; I have already spent like 300 dollars. But still happy with my PT so far...

2005 Chrysler PT Cruiser Touring 2.4L from North America


Cheap trash


After only 37,000 miles, the front-wheel bearings are shot (a fix by the dealer estimated at $1,200.)

I also have, according to an independent shop, a leaking head gasket. The leak should be covered by warranty, but with so many things going wrong, and the resale value so low, I'm "donating" the car for a tax deduction.

General Comments:

I was very irritated with the low clearance; I was continually scraping bottom when going into driveways.

Very poor mileage -- 16MPG.

And the window controls were placed such that rear-seat passengers were always inadvertently opening windows with their feet.

I will say that the interior was very comfortable, and the transmission was very responsive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th April, 2009

4th May 2009, 05:16

1200 for replacing the bearings is horrendous. Buy them yourself (an average price would be 40 a piece) and if you are not a do it yourself person, any honest mechanic would charge you a maximum of three hours labor, so you do the math.


4th May 2009, 22:55

Did you actually test drive this car at all? Pretty much all of those annoyances would have been noticed during a test drive...

And $1200 for bearings?? That dealer is trying to mess with you.