2005 Chrysler PT Cruiser Touring from North America

Summary:

A good car for in town driving

Faults:

Nothing so far, have only owned 6 months.

General Comments:

I bought a 2005 PT Cruiser used with 10,000 miles. So far I have been pleased with it.

I am thrilled with the leg room, as both my husband and I are almost 6 ft.

I have room for two car seats in back for the grandkids, so I don’t use it to carry more than one adult.

Not too impressed with radio.

Like other reviewers, gas mileage is not great.

I find the recessed gauges hard to read.

Limited rear view makes me use two outside mirrors more.

All in all, it's fun to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd April, 2007

2005 Chrysler PT Cruiser base 2.4 from North America

Summary:

A sweet car for the money

Faults:

With only 3,000 miles on the vehicle it's tuff to give an accurate assessment. But so far, I love the car you never get tired of it.

General Comments:

It's my baby.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th December, 2006

2005 Chrysler PT Cruiser Touring Edition 2.4 from North America

Summary:

I will buy another one when this one is used up

Faults:

There is nothing wrong with this car. So far so good.

General Comments:

I absolutely love my little car!! I have a disabled son who wasn't even close to being able to get into our Durango without a LOT of help. Now he gets in and out, no problem.

I am thrilled with the gas mileage too. We go to St. Louis Children's a lot and had to fill the Durango twice. Now, we get there and back with almost half a tank to spare.

I'm not the only one who likes these cars either. Ever since we got ours, all we see are Cruisers!! One day I counted 35. We live in a semi-small town, so that's a lot for us.

The only thing I have changed is the radio. It wasn't as good as the Durango's factory one. Now, everything is perfect.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd November, 2006

2005 Chrysler PT Cruiser Base 2.4L from North America

Summary:

Imagine if a V-8 fit under the hood!

Faults:

I had a software problem that caused the car to randomly die and then refuse to start. I was called in for the recall and the dealor told me they fixed it. The problem didn't arise until after I had the recall "fixed". When I had the problem investigated I was told I was still running the factory software. OK so my dealer lied to me about a recall.

Every fluid seems to be seeping too. Valve cover, power steering box, oil pan, trans, but I have yet to see any drips on the driveway.

General Comments:

I was impressed when my wife drove the car over a good sized curb and it did no damage to anything except the tire. The hubcaps are flexable, and they build good quality cheap wheels now apparently.

I like how I can reach the oil filter on this car. real easy and no mess either!

I am real nervous that the fuel is delivered on the front side of the engine. Although I have not heard of it yet, a good hit on the front may cause the car to burst into flames.

In my opinion the gearing is too tall for the engine. If you need to go, and go fast, you have to flirt with red-line to get any reasonable amount of torque from the engine.

I know it's not a sports car, but is, indipendant rear suspension out of the question? It drives like a bus.

I bottom out on the driveway every time I enter. I'll have it worn down eventually.

I must admit though it was the first car ever that has been comfortable enough to drive from Detroit to Springfield, MO without cruise control. I can only make it about an hour in my other car.

I was very impressed when I was able to squeeze 550 miles out of a tank of gas just by following trucks on a road trip. That's almost 40 miles a gallon. I have never come close again though. I usually get about 25.

I went to Oklahoma on a trip in July when it was about 105 last year. I was sad that the AC struggled to keep the car under 80. It kept shutting off and on intermittently. I assume because of engine temp.

It's fun, cute on the outside, not the best on the inside. But I guess it's worth what I paid for it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th March, 2006

24th Mar 2006, 19:41

If you actually got 40MPG, it must have been downhill at a 45 degree angle. I can't break 20MPG around town. My old Impala got better mileage than my 06 PT Cruiser.

27th Mar 2006, 10:28

I only got 40MPG because I never left the backside of a truck the whole way. The wind resistance on the nose was greatly reduced. The engine/trans setup is very efficient for fuel mileage, unfortunately the car has huge wind resistance. When you eliminate a large percentage of the wind resistance by drafting a truck going 70 because the truck cuts a truck size hole in the wind, your gas mileage shoots up. Not to mention never leaving 5th gear. It can basically be considered a fluke, the conditions that I achieved the mileage with are not everyday encounters, unless you drive on the freeway everywhere you go and never come out from behind an 18 wheeler.

22nd Apr 2006, 18:21

Well...If you had claimed 30 mpg, I just might have forced myself to believe it, but 40? No way. Not unless you had a tow chain hooked to that 18 wheeler! Sure glad the truck driver was a tolerant soul... you could have had some serious hospital bills!

28th Aug 2006, 11:57

I am interested in the comment from the person who had a software problem and the car kept dying. That is my problem. Has there been a recall on that?

Thanks,

DP

Georgia.