1996 Chrysler Sebring Coupe Reviews

1996 Chrysler Sebring Coupe LXI 2.5 V6 from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired122000 miles
Most recent distance140000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

A great sporty, fast, dependable car that I love to drive.

Faults:

I have had to replace the tie-rods on the drivers side.

The plugs are in a bad spot on the car.

The rotors need to be turned or replaced.

The sun roof cables need to be replaced, but you can't just buy the cables anywhere.

Power locks quit working at 130000.

General Comments:

This is a really nice sporty car that turns heads everywhere I go, with or without my after market parts on.

The car has been a very dependable car even with the miles on it.

It has a lot of power, surprisingly for having a 2.5 V6. I can smoke almost everything I drag against (Mustang, Cavalier, Camaro, etc) and the only aftermarket engine parts I have are 10mm plug wires, but it still gets 25mpg City and 30+ on the Hwy.

It handles great at any speed, and can handle a 30mph curve at 70mph.

The interior is nice, with the leather seats and wood grain trim, and sounds great with a system in it.

As with any car, you could get a lemon, but with my experience with this one, I would recommend this car to everyone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st November, 2008

24th Dec 2009, 23:41

I agree with this report, the car has incredible styling; everyone who has seen mine agrees. It is a joy to drive; at 110 mph it remains as smooth and quiet as it does at highway speed.

1996 Chrysler Sebring Coupe LXI V6 from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture2005
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired85 miles
Most recent distance246000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

246,000 miles... need I say more?

Faults:

In 246,000 miles I went through.

3 Batteries.

3 brake jobs.

At 246,000 miles there was a terrible water leak that was not worth fixing.

General Comments:

Incredibly reliable car. The only repairs were general maintenance.

Fun car to drive as well as nice looking.

28 miles per gallon on the hwy.

Good room for the driver. I'm 6'4" tall. I tilted the seat back slightly.

Moon roof was my favorite option.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th August, 2005

18th Mar 2006, 17:33

This has to be an incorrect posting or someone has done a heck of a lot of driving in a short amount of time!

19th Mar 2006, 10:05

This has to be fake. if its the 2.7 litter engine then we know its fake.

25th Mar 2006, 14:48

The car is a 1996. It says so in the facts.

16th Jun 2009, 16:19

I believe it! I've seen people that do a lot of highway travel put on a lot of miles. As long as you maintain them, they work great! Coupes didn't come with the 2.7, as far as I know.

1996 Chrysler Sebring Coupe LXI 2.5 litre V6 OHC from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.5 litre V6 OHC Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired93000 miles
Most recent distance121000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

Very quick with lots of potential

Faults:

The thermostat went bad at 120,000 miles, and still gives a little trouble.

Seats are reasonably worn with seams split.

Front end is too low.

Air conditioning interior light flickers on and off, from time to time.

Shakes a little when I hit high speeds.

General Comments:

The car is very, very, very quick with a lot of get up and go power.

However, the turn radius could use some adjusting.

Nice audio potential.

This car has unlimited exterior fix up potential, and is very sleek.

AndysAutoSport.com has everything you need to make this car look wonderful.

Great gas mileage while city driving.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th January, 2004

25th Jul 2006, 14:51

If you Sebring is shaking at high speeds and front end is to low you most likely need new struts and shocks... I had that problem and now my sebring is fine.

1996 Chrysler Sebring Coupe lxi V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.3 / 10
Distance when acquired99000 miles
Most recent distance134000 miles

Summary:

A total nightmare!

Faults:

Where do I begin? First of all I would never recommend this car to my worst enemy...well..maybe!

1. My engine light stays on, no on knows what the problem is. Its been checked 4 times at $60 a pop.

2. I needed 02 sensors which ended up costing me around 600$

3. I need a new transmission, new tie- rods, new wheel bearings.

4. A new engine and last, but definitely not the least a new computer.

Needless to say this vehicle has been a nightmare. By the way, none of these items listed above were NOT covered under the warranty.

General Comments:

The car is pretty, that's the only good thing I can say about it. But everything that looks good isn't good for you!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st July, 2003

26th Aug 2003, 11:30

It all depends on how you take care of your car.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 12 reviews