1996 Chrysler Sebring Coupe Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1996 Chrysler Sebring Coupe LXI V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance122000 miles
Previous carMazda 323

Summary:

Incredible!

Faults:

Nothing major! Currently it's at the dealership after a sensor shut it down. After 2 days of diagnostics, the dealer has determined it's possibly a cam or crank shaft problem. Still after so many miles the cost to repair, approx $250 is reasonable. I learned early on the computer sensors in this model will protect the engine/transmission from further damage. A previous sensor put the car into "limp mode" only allowing me to drive in 1st gear or reverse. A minor repair was all that was necessary.

Take precautions and general maintenance and you will have a trouble free vehicle.

General Comments:

A great looking car and fast!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st July, 2003

1996 Chrysler Sebring Coupe Lxi V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance73000 miles

Summary:

An OK buy

Faults:

I had to replace the engine after only having it for a week and a half because it locked up.

Needed a new flex pipe.

Cd/Radio doesn't work.

General Comments:

It's a nice looking car for a teenager.

Has good power.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th June, 2003

1996 Chrysler Sebring Coupe LXi 2.5L from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired18000 miles
Most recent distance92000 miles
Previous carChevrolet S-10

Summary:

Perfect for first time driver

Faults:

Brake system from replacing rotors to having brakes done and done again to get rid of shutter, a significant problem.

Some recalls, but all done fast and at

N/C.

Stereo system a joke, but gave me a reason to UPGRADE!!!

Same general maintenance as other cars, nothing out of the ordanary except for the brakes.

General Comments:

A good car for what it is, wish I could've afforded the Porsche???

A car I wouldn't be afraid to buy my son or daughter for their first car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th March, 2003

1996 Chrysler Sebring Coupe LX 2.5 liter SOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5 liter SOHC Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance76000 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

I love it, so would you!

Faults:

Left front shock went out at 76,000 miles.

Plastic trim around vents on top of door panel chipped on one side (very minor).

Replaced several O2 sensors at 72,000 miles.

Slight oil leakage at valve cover (where you put the oil in).

Cover over spare tire in trunk warping slightly, can't handle heavy items.

General Comments:

Beautiful car with absolutely no fading.

Interior holding up very well.

Feels like driving a little race car.

Get wonderful comments always.

Great gas mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th February, 2003

17th Apr 2004, 00:07

I love my Chrysler Sebring. It's a real head turner, the stero system is definitely of high quality. I love having my moon roof open with my stereo on while driving down the beaches and country roads. My only complaint is that both of my door handles which are made of plastic have broken off. The first to break was the driver's side (at approximately 60,000 miles) and passenger side at about 92,000 miles. Other than this I am pleased with the over all package. Oops! forgot to mention that my side panels (also plastic) would have come off had my husband not noticed, however, they were easily snapped back in place.

1996 Chrysler Sebring Coupe LXI V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carNissan 300ZX

Summary:

Reliable and safe car

Faults:

Payed $1800 for the replacement of three valves.

General Comments:

This cars safety is excellent.

Saved my sisters life when she hit a bridge head on going 95mph.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th June, 2002

1996 Chrysler Sebring Coupe LXI 1.5L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.5L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired84000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

Sebring's are very nice looking cars and are better than a lot of the other cars out there

Faults:

The only problem I've really had to deal with is the power sunroof ($900), and the front end is way too low. The front end is broken and if I got it fixed it's so low that it'd just break again. Every Sebring I've seen has a broken front end.

General Comments:

Great car! Looks really nice and has a lot of nice features! I'm in love with it besides the fact that things like the low profile tires and the sunroof are expensive to replace. Great on gas mileage!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th November, 2001

18th Jan 2003, 23:25

I am considering buying a 96' Seabring LX and I wanted to know what kind of gas mileage you got and how expensive is it to ensure. If anybody could also point out a few things to watch out for that would be nice. Any input would be greatly appreciated. Thank You.

1996 Chrysler Sebring Coupe LX 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired34 miles
Most recent distance67000 miles
Previous carRenault GTA

Summary:

Reliable, affordable, sporty and luxurious

Faults:

Mechanical:

Replaced brakes at 36,000 (normal wear).

Had to replace serpentine belt 3X. I did not understand what caused the extreme wear, but the warranty paid all three times.

Very disappointed that I had to replace a head gasket at about 43,000 miles, but the extended warranty paid for it.

Interior:

Console is wearing a bit and arm rests seem to be a bit flimsy. I am not hard at all on my interior, either.

General Comments:

Best car I have ever owned, bar none.

Although I have cited problems as delineated above, this car has been great and has never left me in a bind. An incredible car to look at drive and own!

That said, I hear that higher mileage can lead to problems, so I am trading my car today for a brand new, loaded Neon ES. The dealership gave me $4k off and 5k for mine (trade in value on Sebrings does stink). I couldn't say no to a new car for $8k.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st August, 2001

1996 Chrysler Sebring Coupe LXi 2.5 SOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 SOHC Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 miles
Most recent distance50000 miles
Previous carBuick Century

Summary:

Looks great, feels greats, makes you pay $$$ great

Faults:

Had to replace the exhaust flex pipe: $800.

Intermittent no-start condition: dealer could not figure out what's wrong, but I was charged a lot for their incompetence.

Front end mask too low. I've hit it several times, although I was very careful.

Windshield gets scratched very easy. Poor quality glass.

Electrical circuits are unreliable.

General Comments:

The car looks great, and is a real treat for long distance drives.

The engine could use more power and the mileage is not that great either.

Parts are extremely expensive and hard to find.

The seat (power) is too high for me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st February, 2001

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 12 reviews