1994 Chrysler Town and Country Reviews

1994 Chrysler Town and Country 3.8L V6 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.8L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired131650 miles

Summary:

High maintenance and scary braking performance

Faults:

Classic 94 T&C 132K miles.

Hoses are brittle.

Just changed the radiator.

BRAKES ARE ABSOLUTELY HORRIBLE; there should have been a recall on the whole system. I only get brakes with my foot at the floor already. I changed the master cylinder today, it only made the problem worse. Does anyone else have this problem? I'm predicting it might be the ABS box or bad vacuum to the booster, but it's hard to figure this problem out. But that engine is amazingly strong.

General Comments:

I have that same ABS light issue, but the recent comments informed me of the recall, so I'll call around and confirm.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th April, 2009

5th Apr 2009, 13:21

Sounds like you have air in the brake system.

5th Apr 2009, 20:10

Get rid of this deathtrap before it kills you!

1994 Chrysler Town and Country 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired14500 miles
Most recent distance126000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

This van is solid, comfortable and reliable

Faults:

The electronic transmission died at 15,000 miles, shortly after we purchased the van. The dealer replaced it with a new one, no charge. The seal around the rear window deteriorated and had to be replaced twice which cost about $100 each time. The rear hatch was replaced after a safety recall, and since then the key-less lock device only unlocks the hatch intermittently. Other than that, the van has been trouble-free.

General Comments:

This is a true "sleeper car" in that it's quick, comfortable, and attracts little to no attention on the road. The insurance is inexpensive and maintenance costs are very reasonable. I've had the belts and hoses replaced, and the brakes replaced. The owner's manual's suggested maintenance schedule is reasonable and easy to follow. Nothing beats this vehicle when you want to take 6 of your friends to the beach in comfort. I drove this van up through the mountains of New England and had no problem maintaining speed, even with a full passenger load. The 3.8L V6 has great torque, but it is thirsty too. My gas mileage has never gone above 20 mpg and in the summer, city driving averages about 13 mpg. I should note that the on-board computer, mounted in the overhead console, is accurate and a feature I'll look for in all my future vehicles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th August, 2004

1994 Chrysler Town and Country 3.8 L V-6 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.8 L V-6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired28000 miles
Most recent distance91000 miles
Previous carDodge Caravan

Summary:

Low quality, high price

Faults:

At 85,000 miles the transmission was rebuilt for $2,000 (has never shifted smoothly since).

Fog light lens fell out.

Body panelling had to be put back on the vehicle at about 65,000 miles.

General Comments:

$35,000 is too much to spend on this vehicle ($15,000 at most).

Interior is all plastic and always rattles.

Good Infinity Sound System is ruined by the rattling interior.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th March, 2001

13th Aug 2002, 19:56

I too have a 1994 Town and Country. I had the same problems with the tranny and incredibly my fog light lens fell out also!!! Great Comments.

26th Aug 2002, 23:07

I own a 1994 Chrysler Town and Country. Beside the transmission problem (I have it replaced twice; first under extended warranty at 45K and then replace another transmission at 100K), everything else seems run smoothly and I have logged 150K miles after I bought it anew. The engine is still running great! Fog light lens also fell off, but got it repaired in a body shop ($100 a piece).

1994 Chrysler Town and Country 3.8l from North America

Year of manufacture1994
Engine and transmission 3.8l
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10

Faults:

Transmission needed rebuild at 60,000 miles.

Rear brake drums needed replacement at 60,000 miles and were $140 per drum due to the unusual size.

General Comments:

Mostly highway driven, good family vehicle. Absolutely, positively, buy the extended warranty. This is the 2nd Chrysler minivan we bought new that needed a complete transmission rebuild within 60,000 miles. Good engine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th June, 1999

30th Apr 2001, 02:08

What is it about these Chrysler transmissions? My '93 Dodge Spirit transmission went at 30,000 km, my uncle's caravan went at 50,000km and my friend's transmission on her New Yorker went at approximately 45,000km and now her father bought a 300M and it's transmission is sounding like it's following the same route as all others at 5000km. And it's not like we abuse the cars and thank GOD that the transmissions go before the warranty expires. I feel sorry for those whose transmissions go after the warranty expires.

When they're brand new the transmission shifts beautifully and you hardly hear a sound, but once it gets worked in you will begin to hear a "click-click-clicking" sound when it down-shifts gears and it only gets louder and rougher till it needs rebuilding. Listen for it when one pulls up beside you at the traffic light.

Is it possible that they cannot even get the transmission in their "flag-ship" right?

17th Jul 2001, 22:58

I have a 1996 Chrysler Town and Country LX. I have about 90,000 highway miles on it. The transmission is making the clicking noise you all described earlier, and I feel it downshift harshly if you are just coasting at a speed less than 20, right after slowing down from a higher speed... Town and Country IS supposed to be the flagship... What is going on with this transmission? I bought the extended warranty, but I think it is time to buy a new one, because mine will run out at 97,000, and at the rate I am driving, I will be there in about 4-5 months.

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 4 reviews