1996 Chrysler Town and Country Reviews - Page 6 of 6

1996 Chrysler Town and Country LX 3.8L from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.8L Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance128000 miles
Previous carDodge Caravan

Summary:

A Luxury piece of GARBAGE!

Faults:

Belt Tensioner - twice 65,000 and 97,000

Battery discharged and corroded cable harness 108,000

Starter went bad at 110,000

Transmission has failed twice, once at 77,000 miles, and again at 128,000.

General Comments:

I inherited this vehicle when my mother passed and I vowed to keep the maintenance in check on this vehicle. However, I cannot continue to pour money into this machine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th January, 2003

29th Aug 2003, 18:03

Been there with my 96 also, bought it for a good price and now I know why. Dealer would not repair tranny only replace so another shop worked on it and 1 year later its not shifting again.

1996 Chrysler Town and Country LXI 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance51000 miles
Previous carEagle Talon

Summary:

What a big mistake!

Faults:

Stranded over 20 times!! Towed 4 times! Van will not start, wait 20 minutes, try again, it starts! Never found cause of problem.

Door locks replaced six times, cost $145 each time.

Clock spring replaced $275.

Speakers rattle.

Always needs new brakes.

Cup holders break easy.

General Comments:

This is the worst Mini-Van on the market. I have spoken too many owners of the same type of van, all report problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th July, 2002

5th Jun 2007, 19:18

Clock spring is covered under a mfg RECALL they WILL replace it if there is "a problem" but not just because there is a recall.

I just found out there are 4 known recalls and the dealer is fixing 3 of those tomorrow. Mine is not the clock spring at this time.

1996 Chrysler Town and Country LXi 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Passat

Summary:

Garbage

Faults:

Problems too numerous to count.

Fan belt and tensioner went twice -- left us stranded both times.

Lots of recall notices.

Windshield wipers are nuts -- come on sporatically.

Clock spring went out twice -- that's nice -- no horn -- this was a safety issue, should have been a recall -- cost $450 to fix both times.

Leather seats are garbage -- very poor quality interior products --

Water pump went out.

General Comments:

Chrysler should be sued for releasing a car in this condition to the public, then charging for many of the repairs.

Chrysler is sloppy -- engineering must have been bad.

I would not buy another.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st May, 2002

10th Aug 2002, 21:00

My '96 Lxi had the same troubles in the last 6 years of ownership, windshield wipers door locks, missing in engine, window motors, belt tensioner broke twice. Last year, new engine and transmission. We recently had the service dept. print out our record - all 18 pages with at least 3 problems per page. This week we will still be buying a new Lxi. Nice ride compared to the competition.

1996 Chrysler Town and Country from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired55000 miles
Most recent distance92000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Totally unreliable piece of junk

Faults:

Replaced the multi-function switch at 80,000 miles.

Replaced the computer at 80,000 miles.

(total cost of about $1,200)

Transmission has failed at 92,000 miles.

Leaky water pump at 92,000 miles.

General Comments:

Please avoid this car at all costs. I deeply regret getting involved with this one. It has cost me $5,000 since I bought it, and it is sucking money at an alarming rate to just keep it running.

The transmission recently ran out in traffic, my wife and kid were on it. No way would I trust Chrysler ever again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th May, 2002

27th Nov 2002, 18:23

I ran mine from 126,000 miles to 178,000 miles with very few problems. Replaced one water pump, and decided I should replace the serpentine belt at that time too to be safe.

Handled like a boat, but was otherwise comfortable and roomy. Chrysler makes a very reliable minivan.

Average review marks: 5.1 / 10, based on 20 reviews